Basic Instinct - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Basic Instinct Reviews

Page 1 of 156
December 23, 2016
A hard core sexy movie.
December 22, 2016
An entertaining suspenseful movie with a few nice twists. Sharon Stone really carries this film.
November 30, 2016
People don't give this movie enough credit. Michael Douglas is a king, strong supporting cast, oh yea and Sharon Stone's beaver.
November 27, 2016
I really enjoyed this film in Blu Ray. This is the first time I have ever actually seen this after it being recommended. Gets you gripped. Great performances from Douglas and Stone. Worth having in your collection. Will watch the second soon and give this a re watch soon
September 26, 2016
A brilliant film, and people who think it's dumb are dumb
September 24, 2016
Joe Ezsterhas was such a gloriously shitty writer
½ September 12, 2016
Sharon is sexy, started off very engaging, kinda slipped through. Nice ass, suppose she set everyone up
August 16, 2016
What softcore porn looks like on a Hollywood budget.
August 12, 2016
A sexy thriller that stands the test of time.
July 25, 2016
Sharon Stone is naked in this movie quite alot and she looks good.
Super Reviewer
July 3, 2016
Took me till 2016 to finally see this. Not as shocking or sleazy as expected. Aside from the scene everyone talks about.
Actually a bit dull. Sliver was better tacky 90's viewing.
June 30, 2016
Excellent example of Modern Noir and Femme Fatale!
½ June 27, 2016
Detective looking for a killer finds his suspect to be a sexpot. This thriller is predictable and famous for one great leg shot.
½ June 13, 2016
This film has held up really well. It's probably a film I heard a lot more about in infamy before I ever sat down and watched it.

There's a great film noir feel about it and the writing and story line provide far more than the box art would have you believe. It's a classic Hollywood crime thriller story. Douglas provides a solid role but Sharon Stone, both in beauty and acting ability, is the standout star of this film.
½ April 16, 2016
This movie is sexy, crime, and thriller. Sharon Stone did some gutsy and daring acting in this movie! But the plot was cheesy, corny, and boring. I gave this 3 stars because of Michael Douglas and Sharon Stones performances. Without them, the rating would probably go down to 1 1/2 stars.
April 11, 2016
Oddly gave this one a re-watch off cable recently, even though we have a Blu-ray copy waiting on the To-Watch Pile to be opened. The movie is obviously pretty watchable for all the sleaze and flesh onscreen, but at a certain point it almost loses its teeth because the sex scenes go on for a bit too long and it's no longer simply titillating, but more of a tad gratuitous.

Worth a look to see what all the controversy was about, but it's nowhere near as sophisticated as I recalled it being from a couple initial viewing in my youth.

Rental?
March 10, 2016
A stylish facade and Sharon Stone's wonderfully femme fatale performance make Basic Instinct an entertaining and titillating flick even with its blunt dialogue and "guilty pleasure" vibe.
February 23, 2016
Sharon Stone was good looking in this film.
February 16, 2016
Love this film, look and soundtrack are amazing, true noir
½ February 8, 2016
Ok this movie is not good, but i can see why is was so popular at the time. However the script is really sleazy and Micheal Douglas character treats women quite horribly and i'm pretty sure i witnessed a rape. He's also gives a really bad performance, but besides what a hot mess the movie and he was i think Sharon Stone is actually quite good in it. She gives this confident and cool performance and no one can recited a terrible line like Ms. Stone (watch CAT-WOMAN know). The score is also quite good and the cinematography is great, the movie is nice to look at. Overall i had fun watching it but its quite a bad movie.
Page 1 of 156