Basic Instinct - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Basic Instinct Reviews

Page 1 of 156
May 12, 2017
There is a lot of sex in this movie!
½ April 9, 2017
A suspended detective who falls in love with a mysterious blonde woman, while a nice brown loves him. Has to fight his past dark mistakes and sins in the sunny San Francisco. And this is not the Vertigo.
April 9, 2017
Basic Instinct continues to keep you on the edge of your seat. Thrilling and suspenseful, plus Sharon Stone is incredibly sensual. Michael Douglas is great in the lead as well.
March 12, 2017
Yes its trashy, filthy, and silly. Its easily the best B movie shlock ever made. The acting in this movie is so over the top, but fun to watch. Just like a train wreck like one critic said. It reminds me of the film noirs of the 40's. Blasphemy!
February 26, 2017
Basic Instinct is campy, schlock-cinema. I was embarrassed throughout the entire film. It's a film set in 1992, written like a cheap knockoff of an Edward G. Robinson 40's film noir, laced with f-bombs. If a throwback was the point, maybe they should've done a much better job. All this film had going for it, and precisely why it was a popular in the 90's was Sharon Stone's sex appeal. She's a beautiful woman, yes. She crossed her legs... OOOOOH HOW SCANDALOUS. Were people really this amused back then?
½ February 11, 2017
believe it or not, but this is the first time i've seen this movie; the only thing i knew about it was the iconic scene everyone talks about, and i'm not sure i really cared for it. didn't seem nearly as riskay as it's reputation holds it to be -- but it is 2017, not 1992. a lot can change in 25 years.
February 2, 2017
Of the better 90s thrillers that came out. Very well done and suspenseful. Very violent and sexual. Ending was predicable though. Worth a watch.
January 19, 2017
As a Douglas super-fan I am a little biased but this was great.
December 23, 2016
A hard core sexy movie.
December 22, 2016
An entertaining suspenseful movie with a few nice twists. Sharon Stone really carries this film.
November 30, 2016
People don't give this movie enough credit. Michael Douglas is a king, strong supporting cast, oh yea and Sharon Stone's beaver.
November 27, 2016
I really enjoyed this film in Blu Ray. This is the first time I have ever actually seen this after it being recommended. Gets you gripped. Great performances from Douglas and Stone. Worth having in your collection. Will watch the second soon and give this a re watch soon
September 26, 2016
A brilliant film, and people who think it's dumb are dumb
September 24, 2016
Joe Ezsterhas was such a gloriously shitty writer
½ September 12, 2016
Sharon is sexy, started off very engaging, kinda slipped through. Nice ass, suppose she set everyone up
August 16, 2016
What softcore porn looks like on a Hollywood budget.
August 12, 2016
A sexy thriller that stands the test of time.
July 25, 2016
Sharon Stone is naked in this movie quite alot and she looks good.
Super Reviewer
July 3, 2016
Took me till 2016 to finally see this. Not as shocking or sleazy as expected. Aside from the scene everyone talks about.
Actually a bit dull. Sliver was better tacky 90's viewing.
June 30, 2016
Excellent example of Modern Noir and Femme Fatale!
Page 1 of 156