Beverly Hills Cop II - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beverly Hills Cop II Reviews

Page 1 of 149
August 13, 2017
Ok sequel starring the same people as the first movie but this is the story is more cheesy and unoriginal.
½ June 2, 2017
good sequel but the first film was a class above
April 6, 2017
Standard Hollywood movie sequel. I like it. But it is really dumb sometimes. Thank God the producers never stay on one scene for too long.
½ February 3, 2017
Not as good as the original, but I like it since Eddie Murphy was still funny and it had good action.
½ October 11, 2016
Just as good as the first solid
September 18, 2016
Beverly Hills Cop 2 was and still is one of my favorite action/comedy movies of the 80's. It had so many stars in it and the whole movie keeps the whole fast paced tempo from beginning to end. A true classic
September 10, 2016
This is part of the family of sequels whose only purpose is to repeat the successful beats of the first film. Luckily, the original BHC is funny, and so is this one. Murphy is effortlessly hilarious (conning construction crew), the action scenes are knowingly over-the-top, and Gilbert Gottfried has a wonderful little cameo. Okay, so its lack of originality, copycat characters and narrow plot make it barely a movie...but it's still fun enough for a lazy Saturday afternoon.
½ September 10, 2016
Eddie Murphy returns as Axel Foley in Beverly Hills Cop II. A criminal syndicate has shot the old police chief and Taggart (John Ashton) and Rosewood (Judge Reinhold) have too much red tape on thier hands to deal with the case. This leads to Foley returning to California to determine who shot his old friend. The two discover a crooked team of criminals that rob jewels, racetracks and use mysterious high caliber ammo. Beverly Hills Cop II is as forced a sequel as they come. Although Murphy looks comfortable in his role, the story is convoluted and I was ready for this to end.
½ September 9, 2016
Axel Foley returns in this fun and fast paced sequel.
½ August 31, 2016
Story's nothing compared to the first, the movie's nothing but laughs. And with that, I had fun. No story here, just comedy. You can act like a cry baby, or just accept that when it comes to sequels, the first one always reigns supreme.
July 15, 2016
Going back and fourth on what to review this movie as. On one hand its wasted on rosewood and haggard, which you learn a lot about them and you don't care about any of it. The villain are really forgettable with a silly plot. Eddie is the only saving grace to the movie. Which helps because he is the main character, so you see a lot of him.
July 2, 2016
The gunfire in this film is awesome!
½ June 19, 2016
A decent sequel but more of an action than a comedy
½ May 30, 2016
Le 1 doit Ítre meilleur, il faudrait que je lui donne une chance au premier d'ailleurs pour comparer.
½ May 19, 2016
As Sgt.Taggart says 'We need to talk..." BVHC-2 is a well-crafted sequel with committed and comedic performances by its returning leads and newcomers especially Eddie Murphy. It also contains high-caliber action scenes, funny writing and slick direction by Tony Scott make this film one of those sequels that works! And works well!
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2016
Better than the First but only just, Thanks to the much better and much more action, The story wasn't as good and the humour just came off silly more than anything, Apart from the action which wasn't nothing great but it made the movie watchable than the first for me there isn't much to remember or like about this movie.
February 16, 2016
Will have to agree with a few existing reviews by Robert Ebert and Daniel Mumby. It's quite disappointing I'll personally say, adding with it ends up dragging around an hour in.
December 29, 2015
It was good! It had good action and it was funny. Again though like the first one there is a lot of coaste language. Also when they shoot the guns it looks and sounds fake.
October 14, 2015
This is my favorite of the series. Its darker, funnier, and has more action. Eddie is in great form. As does the whole cast.
½ October 9, 2015
Nothing like a buddy cop flick with no discernable antagonist.
Page 1 of 149