Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
88% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
85% Mad Men: Season 7
100% Orphan Black: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

The Birdcage Reviews

Page 1 of 173
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
A pretty funny film. A must see!
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

December 10, 2008
There have been some exaggerations of the gay lifestyle, but I've never felt they were as in your face as the performances of Lane and Williams in The Birdcage. Equally atrocious was the anti-gay Hackman, and the uber gay Hank Azaria. It felt a bit forced, like an awkward family gathering.
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

September 8, 2010
gay
Cassandra M

Super Reviewer

August 9, 2010
I love La Cage Aux Falles, this film is good for a remake and I'm disappointed to see that some people can't appreciate the brilliance in this film! Robin Williams is on top form, with 'you're taking your toothbrush to the grave, how Egyptian' brilliantly improvised. Weiss is convincing in her role, as usual. Hackman is great, as usual, and Nathan Lane is overly feminate, as usual. Wonderfully cast and with a great script, it will please anyone with a sense of humour. I pity anyone who can't enjoy it, for whatever reason- homophobia, lack of intelligence, arrogance, narrow mindedness etc. I'll admit that originals are often better, but that doesn't stop this from being a film to be enjoyed. I recommend it to anyone looking for a good laugh, happy watching
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2009
Not a bad remake but I would recommend the original French film over this.
Alice S

Super Reviewer

August 25, 2009
A nuanced tackling of issues wrapped in an irreverently hilarious shell. I would've liked Val to redeem himself a little more throughout and not just at the end though.
FilmFanatik
FilmFanatik

Super Reviewer

April 22, 2007
An absolutely brilliant comedy from beginning to end.
Drew S

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2007
This is a pretty damn funny movie, but a little dangerous in that it courts all sorts of gay stereotypes without even attempting to break the mold. I think viewers who are LGBT-savvy will probably laugh more at it than with it for its relative ignorance - Nathan Lane plays gay so over-the-top that the returns diminish very quickly and the whole thing starts to get sort of awkward.

My diversity in film teacher made some interesting observations about how safe The Birdcage is for a large portion of the movie-going public. It compartmentalizes the gays and the straights, no homosexual affection is really depicted short of handholding and quick kisses, and it offers up a Guess Who's Coming to Dinner-style ending where the relief of tensions seems superficial at best. Not much is learned here by either party. And the son is a real douche.

Anyway, I guess this is a funny comedy if you can bring yourself to look at this one tiny, often-lampooned aspect of gay life for an hour and a half.
Chiefilms
Chiefilms

Super Reviewer

March 4, 2008
Robin Williams and Nathan Lane not acting??
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

November 17, 2006
A really entertaining movie!!! Robbie Williams and Nathan Lane plays a great gay couple.... They make me always want to laugh when I saw their act... No wonder this movie is very success...
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

February 18, 2007
This is so funny with all gay people and I believe this comedy film has a number of high points, particularly in the performances of Robin Williams, Nathan Lane, and Gene Hackman. To be honest, I'm not interested in gay and I was starring on Calista Flockhart, one of my favourite actresses.
Dean L

Super Reviewer

July 18, 2007
Absolutely hysterical. Robin Williams at his comedic best with Nathan Lane playing...Nathan Lane (smirk)...love him. Add Gene Hackman, Dianne Wiest, Calista Flockhart to the list and stir them up with a SUPERB performance by Hank Azaria and you get true movie magic.
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

July 14, 2007
Excellent adaptation of the French movie. Robin is brilliant.
Lafe F

Super Reviewer

July 5, 2007
How gay is too gay? Nathan Lane and Robin Williams play a happy gay couple living in Key West Florida with a cutesy houseboy. When it comes time for important houseguests, they must quickly un-gay the house with hilarious results. Nathan Lane puts on a great funny performance as Robin Williams' wife! The Senator and his wife, who are visiting, don't know what hit them! Things take a splendid comic turn near the end, when Gene Hackman must escape the scene. It's a treat which shows that being gay isn't just about sex.
Jason S

Super Reviewer

January 31, 2007
Funny.
sainttom93
sainttom93

Super Reviewer

January 14, 2007
Not as good as the original, La Cage au Folles --
garyX
garyX

Super Reviewer

January 6, 2007
The words "french" and "comedy" put together always inspire dread. Add the words "Hollywood" and "remake" and you have a recipe for total disaster.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

November 9, 2006
This was a funny film.
James A

Super Reviewer

A pretty funny movie.
RJ Smoove
RJ Smoove

Super Reviewer

February 17, 2010
Not bad at all. I think The Birdcage is a pretty good movie. Robin Williams is pretty chill throughout (not the Robin Williams I love), but he still does a pretty good job as Armond Goldman, a gay drag club owner. Gene Hackman is rather amusing as Senator Keeley. The standouts are definitely Hank Azaria as Agador and Nathan Lane as Armond's husband Albert. Hank Azaria made me laugh almost every time he spoke. He alone is reason enough to watch the movie again. And Nathan Lane, oh my God. The guy is hilarious. After seeing him in this movie, I finally understand what his brief cameo in Austin Powers in Goldmemeber was based on. It's agreat little movie, alot of fun. But not necessarily something I would want to watch again and again.
Page 1 of 173
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile