The Cannonball Run - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Cannonball Run Reviews

Page 1 of 53
August 12, 2017
Enjoyable dumb ensemble road race movie.
July 14, 2017
Probally an underrated great comedy of the early 1980s. Want to watch a film with some great comedy and not have to think like in today's comedies, I highly recommend this film. Probally one of my all time favorite comedies.
May 23, 2017
Awesomely funny! Burt Reynolds, Dom DeLuise and Roger Moore at their best.
April 10, 2017
Movie about a car race across America. But not really. Its really just a bunch of short scenes with cameos from old old actors like Sammy Davis and Frank Sinatra. Burt Reynolds plays the lead but plays it poorly. Never liked this movie.
March 24, 2017
To a top critic. First of all, this movie does not take in what one would call a redneck never never land. It's slightly off-the-wall, but can't someone have a good laugh. If you look at what the critics say the hundred greatest films are, barely any of the top 10 have any humor whatsoever. The exceptions are Gone With The Wind and Singin' in the Rain.
March 11, 2017
I named my dog Burt Reynolds
May 17, 2016
The Cannonball Run is a flat tire of a movie. I was excited about seeing this movie. I love burnt rubber, fast cars, alpha males chasing the race and women all rolled into one. Brunt Reynolds the car movie king, with a big budget and big name actors should make for a great movie! Regrettable no script! The Cannonball Run is based off the Cannonball, and the Gumball Rally's cross country illegal race story-line. Sadly The Cannonball Run misses the indie movie feel of cheap humor, cheesy stunts, and of course the exploitative script! Bigger is not always better. All flash and no performance!
½ April 21, 2016
Review:
I know that this movie is really old and that everyone has seen it before, so I won't type a long review about the film. This has to have the best, genuine, outtakes that I have seen, and every time that I watch them, they crack me up. The movie itself looks really dated and some of the jokes are pretty awful but the chemistry between Reynolds and DeLuise is brilliant and you can see that J.J. McClure (Burt Reynolds) wants to burst out laughing most of the time. Sammy Davis Jr. and Dean Martin, also were funny throughout the film but the race itself was completely over the top and unrealistic. Personally, I still enjoyed the movie, and it was good to see Burt Reynolds when he was on top form and I really can't see anyone topping Reynolds and DeLuise, if they remake this all time classic. Enjoyable!

Round-Up:
The opening credits of this film, reminded me of the old Kung Fu movies, with the big Golden Harvest and Fortune Star logos, and judging by the big scale and the huge cast in the film, they really done a good job. It seemed like the director just let the actors ad-lib through most of the film, which is what made it original and really funny in parts. Anyway, the movie was directed by Hal Needham, whose first project was Smokey and the Bandit in 1977, so it's not surprising that he teamed up with Burt Reynolds again. He also directed Hooper, which also starred Burt Reynolds, Cactus Jack with a young Arnold Schwarzenegger, another Smokey and the Bandit, Stroker Ace, Cannonball Run II, Rad and Bodyslam. He's obviously a master at the old comedy movies especially when working with Reynolds but he decided to turn to TV in the latter part of his career with the series Bandit. This is definitely one of those films that you can watch time and time again, even though some of the jokes are more silly than funny but it's worth having in your collection.

Budget: $17million
Worldwide Gross: $72million

I recommend this movie to people who are into their sport/action/comedies starring Burt Reynolds, Roger Moore, Farrah Fawcett, Dom DeLuise, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Jackie Chan, Peter Fonda and Adrienne Barbeau. 5/10
April 4, 2016
Sometimes a person just wants to relax their eyeballs on a bunch of ridiculous, goofy, star-studded nonsense. This movie is all of those things, and less.
½ March 4, 2016
The most boring movie of all time. Its very confusing, and SO ANNOYINGLY UNFUNNY. It has 2 chuckles out of MILLIONS. The Action is good, but mediocre and uncalled. Also, These are the worst characters in character history. 1/10
February 22, 2016
It's a fun movie need I say more
August 14, 2015
So goofy and ridiculous, but so much fun. And man, what a cast!
July 16, 2015
What I want to know is how this got a higher score than Gumball Rally. Granted, neither is Oscar material, but Cannonball is so incredibly bad and unwatchable, I suspect all of the $18 million dollar budget was spent on casting, and there was nothing left.
Super Reviewer
July 4, 2015
This movie opens with a black Lamborghini Countach tearing down an empty highway, a sun-kissed highway at dawn, the sound of the engine thundering. Instantly the movies main soundtrack kicks in with its toe tapping beat, the bold stark red credits role, instantly you know this song is cool and you're gonna like it. The jet black Lambo sweeps over the horizon (now set against a clear blue sky), behind it, following closely is a blue Pontiac Firebird/Firebird Trans Am police car, both cars are ripping up the tarmac. By this point if you're attention has not been snagged, or you're not impressed by the sheer sex on wheels, then you're clearly not a petrolhead.

Based entirely on an actual unofficial, unsanctioned street race during the 70's, this movie is just that, a long street race from one side of the country to the other. There really is nothing more to this movie than that, a long running chase sequence filled with stunts, crashes and lots of inside jokes. The various characters are always trying to screw each other over, desperately trying to gain the advantage both time and distance wise, whilst avoiding smokey (highway patrols).

The collection of racers are basically a bunch of misfits and eccentrics all driving the vehicle of their choice. The characters and the cast that play them are the carrot on the stick for the movie, its a big ensemble of cult and classic stars of the time. Next to that its all about the vehicles, the plot...what plot? Of course this being a Hal Needham car flick he utilises his two main stars from his previous fast car flick (amongst others).

There isn't any particular protagonist in this movie but the duo of Burt Reynolds and Dom DeLuise tend to be the pack leaders obviously. They both drive a souped-up ambulance with Jack Elam on-board as the good doctor Nikolas Van Helsing (could of used a bit more imagination with that name). The sporadic moments of DeLuise as Captain Chaos are easily a guilty pleasure, even though you know its infantile nonsense.

The legendary pairing of Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr. as a dunken, gambling obsessed duo dressed up as Catholic priests in a red Ferrari, was (and is) pretty fresh. These two serve up much of the comedy as they bumble their way across the country, a surprisingly solid little Laurel and Hardy act.

Tara Buckman and John Carpenter movie regular Adrienne Barbeau are the sexy catsuit wearing Lambo drivers. The stereotypical bimbos in a fast car that use their assets to get out of trouble.

This was Jackie Chan's second western movie, playing a sort of nerdy high-tec wizard who could of course kick ass. Chan and his partner Michael Hui race in a Subaru GL 4WD that has been kitted out with all sorts of computer gadgetry including radar, a rocket boosted engine, infrared sensors etc...Clearly playing on the old stereotype that people from Orient (China and Japan) are geeky techno geniuses with in depth martial arts knowledge...kinda true though.

Did I mention Hal Needham is the director here? Well if the 'Smokey and the Bandit' in-jokes , the casting of Reynolds and DeLuise and the fact this movie is kinda the same as said movie, didn't tip you off, then surely the inclusion of some good ol' redneck boys will. Can't not have some Confederate flag waving southern boys racing, a staple ingredient of Needham car flicks...along with Reynolds.

In one of the more amusing and intriguing character roles is Roger Moore...playing himself...kinda. Moore actually plays a character called Seymour Goldfarb Jr. yet this character goes by the name Roger Moore in the film. So...this character, played by Roger Moore, thinks he is the real Roger Moore, when he isn't. Not only that but this confused character drives a silver Aston Martin DB5 which is laden with all the expected gadgets and tricks. Whenever he is on screen a familiar little soundtrack plays, he does refer to his past playing a certain famous character, and he's always got a different beautiful woman in his car in every scene.

Lastly we have the Sheikh (Jamie Farr) in his white Rolls Royce Silver Shadow, accompanied by his sister (Bianca Jagger), who can buy his way out of anything. The only character to pop up in all three movies of this franchise and another ropy stereotype.

The whole point to this movie (like most of Needham's movies) is to focus solely on the cars and occasionally the characters that drive them. You know exactly what to expect from the get-go as we've seen it all before in his other Burt Reynolds fast car franchise. Lots of smoking tyre spinning, off-road tomfoolery, skids, doughnuts, helpless/useless police units and massive amounts of automobile carnage. At times these sequences get interspersed with some character and plot development, but not much of it ever builds up to anything important and half the time it gets interrupted by some hideous incident involving a big stunt.

In all honesty the movie can't live up to those first five electric minutes with the Lambo chase. That sequence is so unbelievably slick n sexy. The black Lambo screeches up to that 'SPEED LIMIT 55' sign, out jumps a slim sexy 80's blonde, graffitis it, jumps back in and zooms away. This short intro is epic in every sense, it gets your pulse racing, its exciting, thrilling and makes you wanna drive dangerously immediately, eat your heart out 'The Fast and Furious'. Not only that but the movies trailer is kickass too! the movie looks and sounds awesome, its just a shame this isn't an accurate representation of the whole flick.

Alas it all feels like a big fun vacation for the Hollywood elite. Its like they made a movie for themselves stuffed with inside jokes, nods, winks and cameos galore! getting all their buddies on-board. Its overloaded with dated stereotypes, visuals and even the odd controversial comment. Still there is some cracking car porn here for fans and some stunts are impressive no doubt. A cult movie in a cult genre, unless you're into it you may not like it.
April 15, 2015
One of the funniest comedies I've seen of all time and it still holds up! Cast-full of well-knowns of the era that never go dull.
½ April 9, 2015
This is the Burt Reynold's 'look at my really old friends tour'..
February 23, 2015
Him wouldn't like to read these critic reviews if him were here......
½ January 31, 2015
I personally loved this movie. It is filled with '80's humor which doesn't appeal to many audiences anymore.
½ January 13, 2015
Hal Needham movies are never going to be critical favorites. That said, Cannonball Run was a fairly entertaining and moderately funny movie that most audiences will enjoy. Burt Reynold's fans will get the usual routine, but the act is wearing thin.
½ December 16, 2014
I didn't really know what to make of this film! It's basically a scatter-shot explosions car chase movie, with some funny moments. Most of it is incomprehensible, especially the finish when they all turn from rivals to friends! Roger Moore playing himself playing James Bond is odd, and Jackie Chan is under-utilised. Haphazard, but not horrible, nor great.
Page 1 of 53