Cowboys & Aliens - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cowboys & Aliens Reviews

Page 1 of 489
April 22, 2018
One of the great scifi movies out there!
½ April 10, 2018
craig and ford make powerful, understated leads in this film. a little too understated. luminaries as they are, a stinker of a script doesn't give them much to do except to growl and bark in the slightest conflict. no doubt 'cowboys and aliens'' brilliant imagination means it will be watched as long as time permits. unfortunately, the story itself is too slow, saturnine and absent-minded to deserve its title.
michael e.
Super Reviewer
½ March 29, 2018
Now this film is one of the most entertaining films Jon Favreau has directed, And I love the first Iron Man film. Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, and Olivia Wild all do good jobs as the main characters, and the side characters are all well done too, Clancy Brown as the pastor, and Sam Rockwell as the Doctor all do fantastic jobs. The aliens in this movie have similar desires like the aliens in the terrible film "Battlefield Earth" They want gold, why I couldn't figure it out and am not sure if they mention it. The aliens look interesting, and I will say one thing right now that is a bit of a subplot with one of the aliens and Daniel Craigs character.The film starts out pretty slow but once the aliens show up, it speeds on by like nothing and is a definite thrill ride. The ending 35 minute action scene is incredible to watch and is very well done. All I have to say is, if you're squeamish or very jumpy in horror movies, don't see this, but if you aren't and want a fun action western film, check this out.

My final rating
3.5*s out of 5
March 25, 2018
I got his for Christmas, I must have been a bad boy that year.. Some thing just don't fit together like peanut butter and jelly. and this is in that category. As a fan of both Craig and Harrison you just have to ask yourself why tarnish your careers with this turd? Watch it once,and you're set
for a lifetime.
March 24, 2018
Just before the aliens first show up, a useless and forgettable character-of which there are many-who is in the middle of taking a dump, says something to the effect of "money makes you soft." On one level, this is a sly wink to the audience foreshadowing the principle motivation of the invader baddies: They, like colonizers and explorers before them, seek gold, a greed that will result in mass destruction. But on a deeper, unconscious, and Symbolic level, the line speaks to the problem with the movie itself: So much moola has been flooded into this budget that the movie buckles beneath its own massive weight. There are too many stars, too many plot lines, too many needless scenes, such that nothing carries much heft and the whole thing drags. Rather than a great accountant, what the movie needed was a solid editor, who would know that just because Sam Rockwell is a star doesn't mean he deserves so much screen time. Similarly, Daniel Craig's man-with-no-(memory-of-his-own)-name: An archetypical trope undercut by the compulsion to inflate every character here with a (hastily sketched) backstory, baggage that slows down the film to little more than a crawl for long swaths, and clearly distracted the filmmakers to the point that major lapses and holes ruin the illusion.
March 22, 2018
The premise of the story is an oxymoron. Cowboys of the Western, 1800s genre against aliens of the science fiction, future-fiction genre is the premise.
February 13, 2018
A lot better than something with a simple name like this conveys. Fun, and a good story set in an odd time for an alien movie.
January 11, 2018
Después de despertar en medio del desierto Jake sufre una amnesia, por lo que olvida todas sus memorias y divaga por el desierto hasta llegar a un pueblo donde lo tratan como criminal, en un punto donde Jake está a punto de ser arrestado llegan naves alienígenas las cuales sin más empiezan a atacar a los vaqueros, por lo que Jake aprovecha la situación para escapar y de la nada empezar a matar alíen con un brazalete que encontró por ahí. ( Si, así de estúpida es la trama)
Puntos buenos: los increíbles escenarios y el gran elenco que conforma a cowboys & aliens. ( Y ya es todo lo bueno)
Puntos malos: para empezar la trama tan fumada que se les ocurrió, ¡en que estaban pensando!! En cuanto al guión es realmente malo, las frases de los protagonistas son horribles, hablan como completos estúpidos combinados con estereotipos de vaqueros de los estados unidos, sip mejor no se puede describir. No recomiendo para nada está película, solamente fue: mira llegaron los aliens, vamos a matar alíens yehaa!
Pero en conclusión: no vean esta película, es horrible, y por completo fue la mayor decepción del 2011
January 5, 2018
A hidden jem. It recieved a rough ride on release but later viewing proves its an entertaining ride. Good characters and good action. Not a bad way to spend a Saturday night.
½ December 22, 2017
I don't know why so many people gave this a low rating, because I really liked this movie. Awesome cast, also.
½ November 18, 2017
surprisingly enjoyable, this movie was a lot of fun on the premise of people with primitive weapons versus aliens with highly developed weaponry. The story is pretty good, but it does have a weak ending.
½ October 21, 2017
Far from what it could be, there's enough enjoyment watching Han Solo and James Bond kick the crap out if some aliens in cowboy hats.
October 17, 2017
My grandpa said that a root canal would be more fun than this movie, and I have to agree with him.
½ September 23, 2017
Why is it just called Cowboys on this site!
August 18, 2017
MIndless pap....having seen it once...prob wont see again
½ August 3, 2017
Cowboys and aliens and Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford and Jon Faverau!?!? Should've been amazing. Instead it's just soooo boring.
½ July 27, 2017
One of the worst miscast movies I've ever seen. Neither Ford or Craig are believable in their respective roles with Craig in particular offering little! Plot had potential but was let down by poor characters and awful special effects!
June 28, 2017
This was a joke, right?
½ June 10, 2017
Has all the elements but lacks soul or a director who cared about the source.
½ June 6, 2017
strange film didnt no what it wanted to be
Page 1 of 489