Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon Reviews

Page 1 of 713
½ July 13, 2017
boring. street fighter was a better kung fu movie
June 20, 2017
For the fans of old-school wuxia and new school film enthusiasts who want the near-perfect blend of action and drama, Ang Lee brings a breakthrough film that appeals to the international audiences as well as the domestic. All actors bring there all in terms of physical and emotional performance, including Chow Yun Fat, Michelle Yeoh & Ziyi Zhang to the say the least. It is a tribute to similar films where the stunts and choreography are meant to defy gravity, yet introduces it to more Western audiences. It's talks of romance, honor, and vengeance, all of which are represented equally. Thankfully, watchers from all across the world will enjoy it just the same.
June 11, 2017
Fantastic tale of tragic love in a Mythic China of swords & Kung Fu. Inhabited with a fantastic cast supplied with a sublime script, the film tells a tale of duty & honour and the heartwrenching choices it can force upon us.
April 26, 2017
Praise for the marvellous artwork and fine details. The cinematography isn't the kind that you will see in Chinese films these days, no offence.
½ April 22, 2017
Featuring an exquisite blend of style and story, Ang Lee's kung-fu hit is some of the most beautiful Chinese cinema there is.
½ April 3, 2017
Am I missing something? Why did everyone LOVE this movie (critics anyway)? O.K., it was different - and pretty. But the story!? Chinese Jedi. The flying bothered me. Is the movie mystical, mystical, or real?
½ March 9, 2017
Rating: 9.25/10

Exquisite cinematography and choreography are the highlights in this epic, martial arts masterpiece. While perhaps not on the same level as Zhang Yimou's Hero, it is no less a breathtaking film.
½ March 2, 2017
this film is great. the acting was amazing. however there distrust of physics and there lake of a diverse cast make the move only good and not great.
February 17, 2017
i think that this is not just ang lee's best movie but one of the greatest films ever. just watch it and see why i think that. the action scenes are perfect as well as the cinematography and direction from ang lee 5/5
½ February 1, 2017
This film doesn't know what it's trying to be. One minute we find ourselves in a comic-book universe, then the next in a serious human drama.
January 22, 2017
A Beautiful piece of cinema art.
½ January 3, 2017
A beautiful tragedy that one can only hope will influence American filmmaking
December 28, 2016
Plot is a load of nonsense but it's visually brilliant, some great kung fu, ludicrous dub and flying scenes. Incredibly produced guff to savour.
½ December 16, 2016
In a vastly patriarchal society, in which women seem doomed to fail, there are some of them who are unwilling to give up...or hold back. A film that works on so many levels.
½ November 19, 2016
'Crouching Tiger' is one the most beautiful action movies ever made, filled with great martial arts fights and a very touching argument, it's definitely one of Ang Lee's bests.
October 3, 2016
Been so long since I saw this movie that I thought that weird desert romance movie was something totally different from the beautiful martial arts movie I was sure this was. Sad, but pretty good with lots of beautiful scenery and cool martial arts scenes, teenage (even if she was older) angst and romance....
½ September 14, 2016
A simple and peaceful plotted film that will leave hundreds of messages.
August 20, 2016
A film that combines smooth and clear cinematography, lush landscapes, drama that is emotional and engaging, and choreography that is exciting and electrifying. The subtleties of sword-on-sword fighting with the details of specific martial arts styles blend together to evoke an emotional representation of the characters. It's well-shot, well-directed, well-edited, and, well, superb cinema.
½ August 5, 2016
"Levitating Fu" isn't everyone's cup of tea, but if you commit to it's artistic merit as I did you'll be enlightened by it's physical poetry and amazing fight choreography, as well as great imagery, editing and sound design as the cherry on top of the cake.
Page 1 of 713