Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon Reviews

Page 1 of 713
April 12, 2018
I watched this again for the fourth or fifth time and was struck by the exceptional nature of this movie. It's one one my top 5 favourite movies of all time.
February 24, 2018
A great dramatic romance and martial arts film. Shot beautifully and very originally choreographed. 1001 movies to see before you die.
½ February 12, 2018
It is early nineteenth century China.
The story of a stolen sword, the Green Dragon forms the backbone to the film. Alongside spectacular martial arts sequences with the aid of wires to allow characters to fight on roofs and treetops, mountains and walls.
The characters of Jen (Ziyo Zhang) and Yu Shi Lien (Michelle Yeoh) add some feminine power to the screenplay.
Chow Yun Fat plays a Master in search of the sword and to avenge the death of his Master by the Chinese sounding Jade Fox!
The awesome stuntwork has elements of the Matrix films and the Christopher Reece Superman films.
The female characters form a strong part of the story.
The scenery changes from desert to mountain range at rapid pace.
I must admit to not been a big fan of such films, however the elements described set this apart from the norm and appeal to Western cinema audiences.
December 31, 2017
A girl who steals the manual of an ancient combat art fights better than the grand master of that art. Maybe they based Rey from SW on this girl. Trash.
December 25, 2017
Brought a fresh and new phenomenon to the screen with the special effects and fight scenes!
September 17, 2017
its an epic kung fu magic film
August 19, 2017
One exhilarating movie that understood its genre thoroughly. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon cements the fact that Asian movies can also stack up against Hollywood. It is a visual treat for movie buffs, like me, well also being a rapture for martial art fanatics.

Green Destiny; the poised sword which belongs to Li Mu Bai(Chow Yun-fat), a prominent Wudang warrior, who gifts it to his friend Sir Te in Beijing, through Yu Shu Lien(Michelle Yeoh), a female warrior, is stolen by a young truculent martial art fighter. The film is set in the Quing Dynasty during the 43rd year (1778) of the reign of the Quialong Emperor. The fight sequences are so graceful and it feels as if they're not fighting but participating in a physical refreshment, thanks to Yuen Wo-Ping, whose credits include The Matrix(1999). The movie contains some of the best action sequences ever filmed. The Art-Direction is beyond criticism.

The action scenes are so smooth, perspicuous and supple. I might be the first to say this, but this is a cut above Bruce Lee's which action scenes are usually one-sided. After watching the movie one would think that if this is some sort of computer chicanery as we see people on rooftops, trees. Howbeit it is substantial. Although, I'm a bit concerned about people flying. Besides, the movie is vivid, picturesque with beautiful sceneries along with a tasteful cinematography. Wherefore, if any action movie is called beauteous, this is it.
½ July 13, 2017
boring. street fighter was a better kung fu movie
June 20, 2017
For the fans of old-school wuxia and new school film enthusiasts who want the near-perfect blend of action and drama, Ang Lee brings a breakthrough film that appeals to the international audiences as well as the domestic. All actors bring there all in terms of physical and emotional performance, including Chow Yun Fat, Michelle Yeoh & Ziyi Zhang to the say the least. It is a tribute to similar films where the stunts and choreography are meant to defy gravity, yet introduces it to more Western audiences. It's talks of romance, honor, and vengeance, all of which are represented equally. Thankfully, watchers from all across the world will enjoy it just the same.
June 11, 2017
Fantastic tale of tragic love in a Mythic China of swords & Kung Fu. Inhabited with a fantastic cast supplied with a sublime script, the film tells a tale of duty & honour and the heartwrenching choices it can force upon us.
April 26, 2017
Praise for the marvellous artwork and fine details. The cinematography isn't the kind that you will see in Chinese films these days, no offence.
½ April 22, 2017
Featuring an exquisite blend of style and story, Ang Lee's kung-fu hit is some of the most beautiful Chinese cinema there is.
½ April 3, 2017
Am I missing something? Why did everyone LOVE this movie (critics anyway)? O.K., it was different - and pretty. But the story!? Chinese Jedi. The flying bothered me. Is the movie mystical, mystical, or real?
½ March 9, 2017
Rating: 9.25/10

Exquisite cinematography and choreography are the highlights in this epic, martial arts masterpiece. While perhaps not on the same level as Zhang Yimou's Hero, it is no less a breathtaking film.
½ March 2, 2017
this film is great. the acting was amazing. however there distrust of physics and there lake of a diverse cast make the move only good and not great.
February 17, 2017
i think that this is not just ang lee's best movie but one of the greatest films ever. just watch it and see why i think that. the action scenes are perfect as well as the cinematography and direction from ang lee 5/5
½ February 1, 2017
This film doesn't know what it's trying to be. One minute we find ourselves in a comic-book universe, then the next in a serious human drama.
January 22, 2017
A Beautiful piece of cinema art.
½ January 3, 2017
A beautiful tragedy that one can only hope will influence American filmmaking
December 28, 2016
Plot is a load of nonsense but it's visually brilliant, some great kung fu, ludicrous dub and flying scenes. Incredibly produced guff to savour.
Page 1 of 713