D.E.B.S. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

D.E.B.S. Reviews

Page 1 of 46
April 9, 2017
This is a movie that seems like people either love it or hate it. The positive reviews I've seen, seem to either like it in a nostalgic way (they were the right demographic when it came out) or appreciated the lesbian aspect, since not a lot of movies, especially around 2004, had lesbian romances in the forefront.
However, I guess I don't see the appeal. Sometimes movies get away with more when they are promoted as "spoof" or "camp". Perhaps the target audience (teen girls) is part of the problem, but I didn't think the story or characters were strong.
The main character is too boring. She is the straight A all American type, but has no personality. She seems like she could be talked into anything, including the romance she ends up wrapped up in. She wants to go to art school, but it comes across as a lazy attempt to give the character more dimension (falls flat.)
The villain is confusing. As much as people rave about the actress, she still doesn't make up for the story. For someone who is supposed to be this "super villain" ... she shows nothing to suggest that at all. If they didn't tell the audience how bad she was in the beginning, there'd be no way to figure out what makes her the "bad guy".
The movie has no direction as far as feeling. It doesn't know what it wants to be. In one part, we might have girls running around in ridiculous spy gear, but then there's a whole "teen" cutesy romance angle in the next scene. That's what makes it difficult to critique... the outfits and the way they have these girls act could be criticized for lack of imagination & character, but if it's a spy spoof, then it would be ok. The romance has some problematic factors, but nothing more than usual teen movies (especially from that era) & if it's supposed to be taken "light hearted & fun" then... same issue... no clear focus.
March 4, 2017
doesn't anyone else suspect softcore kiddie porn when the characters are wearing short skirt schoolgirl outfits?
January 2, 2017
I actually unironically liked this movie. It was stupid and ridiculous and the fact that it contains an Oscar nominee out of nowhere is also...really weird, but it's funny and feelgood and silly. I thought it was charming.
September 17, 2016
D.E.B.S(20004)
Starring: Sara Foster, Megan Good, Jordana Brewster, Christina Kirk, Geoff Stults, Jill Richie, Jimmi Simpson, Holland Taylor, Michael Clarke Duncan, and Jessica Cauffiel
Written&Directed By: Angela Robinson
Review
EVIL IS SO TOTALLY BUSTED!
Well I'll give the movie this much it's better than Blue is The Warmest color. Otherwise the best lesbian movie I've ever seen.
Encrypted within the SAT is a secret test that measures a girls potential for espionage. Amy, Janet, Dominique and Max score so high that they're recruited to join the elite mercenary group known as the D.E.B.S.
Amy the leader of the group is a latent lesbian. Lucy Diamond is a thief master criminal goes on a blind date with a semiretired Russian named Ninotchka. When the D.E.B.S monitor the date on a surveillance assignment. Amy is attracted to the smiling, seductive Lucy, which causes security complications.
In such a film taxonomy is personality, once you've got the label straight, you know all you're ever going to need to know about to character. In addition to Amy, who is a lesbian, we meet Max who is black, Janet who is white, and Janet who corners the market on character attributes by being Asian with a french accent who smokes all the time.
This film is awfully messy, has attractive women that are stereotyped but that doesn't make it any better. I'm giving D.E.B.S a one out of five.
July 31, 2016
7/31/2016: It had potential of being a good movie, but was just too silly. Beautiful girls though.
April 22, 2015
Forgot how fun this movie was. One of the best soundtracks too.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
February 27, 2015
As lightweight as cotton candy with about as much meaning but cute in its flyaway fashion.
November 27, 2014
Funny. It wasn't a waste of time, but also not the best thing I've seen. You'd definitely have a good time if you don't watch it expecting some kind of lesbian version of James Bonds movies.
I just wanted more plot and development, there isn't much of it. :/
November 7, 2014
Jordana Brewster is great in this.
Clintus M.
Super Reviewer
½ June 27, 2014
DEBS is a hilarious spoof. Sure, its spoofs Clueless and Charlie's Angels, but throw in Austin Powers-ish James Bonds films too. Oh, and add a dose of comic lesbianism too. I loved everyone in this production, but especially villain Jordana Brewster (of Fast and Furious fame). She far sexier than Goldfinger or Dr. Evil and younger and less villainous than Demi Moore in CA2. Veterans Holland Taylor and Michael Clarke Duncan display unexpected comedic chops in this silly take on the spy genre. Also, while I'm making comparisons, the ending reminds me of Top Gun mixed with Thelma and Louise!

This movie isn't exactly James Bond versus SPECTRE, but those guys never had a bra-snapping scene! So, prepare to be entertained by the smartest sexiest schoolgirls to ever join the espionage game. It's so ridiculous, clichéd, and corny, you have to laugh throughout, but the lesbian relationship angle is handled with surprising maturity. It's a lot of light-hearted fun, and regardless of your sexual orientation, you'll fall in love with Jordana. Maybe it's all part of the designed appeal, but the cheap production quality causes me to deduct a few points.
½ May 30, 2014
It's fun haha. Only movie I've seen about young adult all girl spy agency fighting against woman super villain who is lesbian and falls in love with the best spy in the agency.
April 28, 2014
Charming. One of those films that, while not really very good, are also great fun. I watch it every time it's on cable. In fact I think I need to own it.
November 4, 2013
Sultry crime boss Lucy Diamond (Jordana Brewster) is back in the states and the D.E.B.S. - an elite team of paramilitary college co-ed super spies - are hot on her trail.

But when their top agent, gorgeous Amy Bradshaw (Sara Foster) mysteriously disappears after coming face to face with the attractive young villainess, the D.E.B.S. begin a full-scale search for Lucy's secret lair, never suspecting that Amy may not want to be rescued after all.

also stars Devon Aoki, Meagan Good, Jill Ritchie, Holland Taylor, Michael Clarke Duncan, Geoff Stults and Jimmi Simpson.

directed by Angela Robinson.
October 31, 2013
Funny anda romantic!!
October 29, 2013
Jordan's Brewster (from Fast and the Furious) stars in this hipster sattire about a criminal being hunted by a hot all girl unit of spies.
½ October 16, 2013
One of the worst and dumbest movies I've seen. Poorly acted and the storyline was awful.
½ October 7, 2013
I liked this movie. It is one of those cheesy bubble gum teenage movies that incorporates some humor into it.. The relationship that goes on between Lucy Diamond and Amy kind of reminds me of the movie "But I'm a Cheerleader" but with a different story line . The acting is believable and played well, especially with a story line that seems unlikely to occur in real life. I think this movie would appeal the most to teenagers and those who like satire comedies, but is something anyone can enjoy.
August 8, 2013
gotta say it was pretty goooood
lol
April 11, 2013
This is great, one of my favs, especially since it has a happy ending!
Page 1 of 46