Don Jon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Don Jon Reviews

Page 1 of 161
March 18, 2017
Interesting debut film that explores that most complex problem--sexual relations and under what circumstances do we enjoy it the most. What is necessary to make it special and satisfying. I like there answers that this film gave.
½ March 15, 2017
I think Joseph Gordon Levitt has some real talent and this film shows his progression from being in front of the camera to behind it.
February 23, 2017
It was disappointing. Way too much sex and awkward scenes. Joseph can act, but his character is pretty unlike-able. His directing is a bit stale as it follows a set pattern and therefore loses any sense of adventure. Despite this it was competent direction. It drove home it's idea though, However, there was still too much porn and sex. Joseph needs to learn to hold back and let what he doesn't show have impact. As Martin Scorsese says, "Film is a matter of what's in the frame and what's out". Joseph only has a feel for directing what's in the frame. I see potential here, but this film is ultimately a dud despite some funny and real moments.
½ February 16, 2017
Sorry, Joe. You played a shallow character well. I want my hour and 30 mins back considering it's just a story about nothing worth watching.
February 10, 2017
I wanted to watch this movie to hear the horrible accents, but found something much, much worse. I hate him. I cry. I did not laugh. Comedy? No? I lost all faith in men and love. And women. I'm gone. Bye.
February 7, 2017
Great comedy film. I loved it JGL is great at directing and acting. I agreed with s lot of the stuff he was saying also
February 6, 2017
4 ud af 5 gokkesokker. Vidunderligt lystspil skrevet og instrueret af den megatalentfulde Gordon-Levitt, som også spiller hovedrollen. Og når jeg siger lystspil, er det bare formen, for der er en dybere alvor bag facaden, end man normalt ser i amerikanske film. Pligtpensum for alle unge (og ældre), der kunne føle sig blindt og ukritisk lokket af overfladisk skønhed og tosomheds- og kernefamiliefælden.
½ February 4, 2017
Joseph Gordon-Levitt's first directing feature "Don Jon" is a romantic comedy that features sharp dialogue and poignant humour while anchored by strong performances from its cast.
January 20, 2017
Writer, Director and star Joseph Gordon-Levitt displays his talent as a director and continues to show he can play any role. Even a porn addicted meathead.
January 20, 2017
Great directing debut for Joseph Gordon-Levitt, with a risky topic, he managed to show in a stylish way how to tell an unorthodox but universal story.
January 11, 2017
The first half is shallow as it's supposed to be. The second half is surprisingly profound. Thought I would hate it, but it really got me with the end. The story isn't just "about porn" but that real life with all its complexities is much sweeter than fantasy.
January 5, 2017
A rather unique & unusually relevant film from terrific actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt that goes for the throat of Pornography.

The story of Don a guy who loves his car, family, church & above all his Porn. A hard bitting example of the destructive effects of the porn.

Everything culminates when he starts dating Scarlet Johansson's character who is obsessed with old fashioned views of relationships & the struggles they have. An important film for the Internet generation to take notice of.
December 2, 2016
Disgusting, Terrible
November 27, 2016
Am very surprised that this movie has some really funny bits!
Super Reviewer
½ November 25, 2016
A refreshing debut for Joseph Gordon-Levitt as a filmmaker, who delivers a solid script that holds a lot more to it than you might think and directs it with a very firm grip reflected in the strong performances that he and the rest of his fine cast put in.
October 10, 2016
The history of many of us
October 4, 2016
Súper Cool hilarius Movie!
½ September 21, 2016
Gordon-Levitt does a great job, and the topic is really important in our society today. Kudos for bringing it into mainstream media.
½ September 9, 2016
A womanizing bartender (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) who is addicted to online porn meets a gorgeous woman (Scarlett Johansson) who forces him think for the first time about building a real relationship, but it is a distraught woman (Julianne Moore) he meets at a night class who teaches him that real love and sexual satisfaction comes from a truly mutually caring relationship.
August 26, 2016
Lighthearted comedy. A lot of sexuality. Would not watch with parents.
Page 1 of 161