Don Jon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Don Jon Reviews

Page 1 of 161
December 2, 2016
Disgusting, Terrible
November 27, 2016
Am very surprised that this movie has some really funny bits!
Super Reviewer
½ November 25, 2016
A refreshing debut for Joseph Gordon-Levitt as a filmmaker, who delivers a solid script that holds a lot more to it than you might think and directs it with a very firm grip reflected in the strong performances that he and the rest of his fine cast put in.
October 10, 2016
The history of many of us
October 4, 2016
Súper Cool hilarius Movie!
½ September 21, 2016
Gordon-Levitt does a great job, and the topic is really important in our society today. Kudos for bringing it into mainstream media.
½ September 9, 2016
A womanizing bartender (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) who is addicted to online porn meets a gorgeous woman (Scarlett Johansson) who forces him think for the first time about building a real relationship, but it is a distraught woman (Julianne Moore) he meets at a night class who teaches him that real love and sexual satisfaction comes from a truly mutually caring relationship.
August 26, 2016
Lighthearted comedy. A lot of sexuality. Would not watch with parents.
½ August 16, 2016
DON JON is the impressive directorial debut by Joseph Gordon-Levitt, who played the geeky kid on TV's 3RD ROCK FROM THE SUN about 15 years ago. The story is about how people expect reality to match up with what they see in the media.

In the film, Jon Martello Jr. is a macho Italian-American from New Jersey who only has a few things that he cares about in life. As he says in a voice-over, "My body. My pad. My ride. My family. My church. My boys. My girls. My porn." Everything in Jon's world is an object of his consumption and desire - it's all for his use. He loves his Internet porn and this shapes his expectations of how love, relationships and sex are supposed to be.

Jon is obsessed with surface appearances - both his and those of the girls he wants for his sexual conquests. He's very successful at scoring but, unfortunately for these girls, Jon gets more satisfaction from watching a minute of Internet pornography than he does from having sex with them. One night while in the club with his boys, he meets a "10", or a "dime", as he calls it - the girl of his erotic dreams - fetchingly played by Scarlett Johansson who looks a bit like Jessica Rabbit. Jon gets Barbara into bed but he quickly realises that even she doesn't measure up to what he can achieve on his own. When Barbara catches him self-indulging, she lays down the law: no lying and no more Internet porn. But Barbara is not so different from Jon. Her view of relationships is as fantasized as his is. While Jon believes that what he sees on the porn sites is real, she believes that what she sees in the romantic Hollywood films she loves to watch is just as real.

Barbara starts to mould Jon into her vision of what a romantic guy should be. He's no longer allowed to clean his own floors. It's not sexy, she says. At her insistence, he goes to night school to get a degree because being a bartender is not romantic either. While at school, Jon meets the off-beat and much older Esther (played by Julianne Moore) and the two embark on a May-September relationship. Through Esther, Jon grows up and learns about delayed gratification, and about finding yourself by losing yourself in another person.

DON JON features an excellent performance by Tony Danza, as Jon's hot-headed father. You can see that he was Jon (maybe without the benefit of the Internet) 25 years earlier. He even comments to Jon on the quality of Barbara's tangible assets. But the best performance in the film goes to Brie Larson, whose career so far has mainly been on TV. Brie plays Jon's younger sister, Monica, who only has one line in the film but her expressions throughout are priceless. This is a young woman who wants nothing more than to escape from the life she is in. She is glued to her smartphone, whether it's at the family's weekly Sunday church visits or at their dinner table later that afternoon.

A bit of warning: When it comes to the Internet porn scenes, nothing is left to imagination. If you can handle the explicitness, then see this movie. When I saw the film, my first thought was that this is what Gordon-Levitt wanted as his first screenplay? But after giving it more thought, the film and its subject matter have grown on me. The guy is certainly a very talented actor. We now see that he's an equally talented screenwriter and director.
August 6, 2016
It's a hilarious film. I really like the fact that how bout heart this movie has. The directing could've been better, but still really solid for Levitt first time be hide the chair. Good performances, good dialogue, and a fun plot to keep you interested in the story. Overall I'll say get it a watch.
½ August 4, 2016
A small film well wrapped in a nice package. Joseph nails the character of the sexually overactive shapely guy that eats girls easily but never get one to stick... until he meets one that uses him and another more liberating. Lots of hilarious situations in the first parts in particular.
½ June 19, 2016
Smartly written and well-acted.
June 9, 2016
The story itself and the message the movie is trying to convey is very relatable and true if you look pass all the porn and the sex (honestly this is nothing after watching Wolf of Wall Street). What I like about the script is that it is unpredictable, which I find is rare to find sometimes. As JGL's directing debut, he surely showed his directing talent. I like how he portrayed Don Jon's character and the changes his character goes through through his daily routine. Overall, I really enjoyed this film. It's funny.
June 1, 2016
I loved every bit of this movie!
May 23, 2016
An funny, poignant take on modern love and how both sexes are getting it wrong.
May 17, 2016
Movie takes a turn in unexpected direction 2/3 of the way through and i kinda lost interest at that point.
Super Reviewer
½ May 15, 2016
I surprisingly liked this movie. I heard from my friends it was weird, and you know what it was but that's what made it a good move.
½ May 10, 2016
My first thought when I first heard JGL's voice with that god awful maple syrup edition Jersey/Italian accent was, "if this movie were a person, I would want to punch it so badly in the face right now, more than any other film in the world". That feeling continued and intensified until I finally just killed the movie and gave up. Don Jon is a real oddity. I came in envisioning a bit of hipster garbage but the movie isn't really that. Nor is it really a romance either. Or a comedy. Or particularly philosophical for that matter. Those I could all at least sit through (see JGL's previous 500 Days of Summer). I mean sure, its got a precursory look at porn and it's positive/negative role in the modern relationship but I can get the same basics from any blog post or brief online sex help article, so nothing new there. It isn't a particularly performance driven film either. The entire cast is locked into these over the top accents that are just so annoying they completely ruin the movie in the first few minutes. Nobody delivers a shockingly good performance due to this and our characters are the most unlikable people in the world, a mix of Jersey Shore and Gym Rat Douchebag meets Model With Awful Accent who suddenly grows some sort of relationship conscience. It's the kind of shallow plot and simplistic directing you would expect from a first time director but it isn't the sort of set-up you would expect from the critically acclaimed crap hype we've been subjected to ever since this came out. The reality is this, JGL will likely never be anything more than a good supporting actor and an occasionally decent lead under special circumstances. Him trying to make himself work for this film was the height of arrogance, the same cocky attitude that led him to make the bro-iest of bro films and try to pass it off as some sort of new meta reflection on relationships. Don Jon has average transitions, standard scenes, decent writing and pretty cut and dried cinematography. Frankly, without the accents and the offense bro-ness, it's just a supremely average movie. Add in those aspects in addition to the unsurprising tendency to wallow and frolic in offensive and inaccurate stereotypes even as it pokes fun at others and you have the makings of a truly punch-able film made by a truly punch-able director. Save yourself the time.
May 3, 2016
Don Jon

Don Jon is a confidentially directed comedy with a fantastic powerful meaning. It stages Levitt as a up and coming directorial talent with great jovial energy.

Rating: B (7.5)
May 3, 2016
The film deals with the porn addiction and the character enjoys porn more than sex and even goes to the chuch does confession since he thinks watching porn is big sin. How he goes away from porn addiction forms the third act of the movie. A nice movie wih some good actors and tight screenplay. Nice film worth a watch.
Page 1 of 161