Don Jon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Don Jon Reviews

Page 1 of 161
February 23, 2017
It was disappointing. Way too much sex and awkward scenes. Joseph can act, but his character is pretty unlike-able. His directing is a bit stale as it follows a set pattern and therefore loses any sense of adventure. Despite this it was competent direction. It drove home it's idea though, However, there was still too much porn and sex. Joseph needs to learn to hold back and let what he doesn't show have impact. As Martin Scorsese says, "Film is a matter of what's in the frame and what's out". Joseph only has a feel for directing what's in the frame. I see potential here, but this film is ultimately a dud despite some funny and real moments.
½ February 16, 2017
Sorry, Joe. You played a shallow character well. I want my hour and 30 mins back considering it's just a story about nothing worth watching.
February 10, 2017
I wanted to watch this movie to hear the horrible accents, but found something much, much worse. I hate him. I cry. I did not laugh. Comedy? No? I lost all faith in men and love. And women. I'm gone. Bye.
February 7, 2017
Great comedy film. I loved it JGL is great at directing and acting. I agreed with s lot of the stuff he was saying also
February 6, 2017
4 ud af 5 gokkesokker. Vidunderligt lystspil skrevet og instrueret af den megatalentfulde Gordon-Levitt, som også spiller hovedrollen. Og når jeg siger lystspil, er det bare formen, for der er en dybere alvor bag facaden, end man normalt ser i amerikanske film. Pligtpensum for alle unge (og ældre), der kunne føle sig blindt og ukritisk lokket af overfladisk skønhed og tosomheds- og kernefamiliefælden.
½ February 4, 2017
Joseph Gordon-Levitt's first directing feature "Don Jon" is a romantic comedy that features sharp dialogue and poignant humour while anchored by strong performances from its cast.
January 20, 2017
Writer, Director and star Joseph Gordon-Levitt displays his talent as a director and continues to show he can play any role. Even a porn addicted meathead.
January 20, 2017
Great directing debut for Joseph Gordon-Levitt, with a risky topic, he managed to show in a stylish way how to tell an unorthodox but universal story.
January 11, 2017
The first half is shallow as it's supposed to be. The second half is surprisingly profound. Thought I would hate it, but it really got me with the end. The story isn't just "about porn" but that real life with all its complexities is much sweeter than fantasy.
January 5, 2017
A rather unique & unusually relevant film from terrific actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt that goes for the throat of Pornography.

The story of Don a guy who loves his car, family, church & above all his Porn. A hard bitting example of the destructive effects of the porn.

Everything culminates when he starts dating Scarlet Johansson's character who is obsessed with old fashioned views of relationships & the struggles they have. An important film for the Internet generation to take notice of.
December 2, 2016
Disgusting, Terrible
November 27, 2016
Am very surprised that this movie has some really funny bits!
Super Reviewer
½ November 25, 2016
A refreshing debut for Joseph Gordon-Levitt as a filmmaker, who delivers a solid script that holds a lot more to it than you might think and directs it with a very firm grip reflected in the strong performances that he and the rest of his fine cast put in.
October 10, 2016
The history of many of us
October 4, 2016
Súper Cool hilarius Movie!
½ September 21, 2016
Gordon-Levitt does a great job, and the topic is really important in our society today. Kudos for bringing it into mainstream media.
½ September 9, 2016
A womanizing bartender (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) who is addicted to online porn meets a gorgeous woman (Scarlett Johansson) who forces him think for the first time about building a real relationship, but it is a distraught woman (Julianne Moore) he meets at a night class who teaches him that real love and sexual satisfaction comes from a truly mutually caring relationship.
August 26, 2016
Lighthearted comedy. A lot of sexuality. Would not watch with parents.
½ August 16, 2016
DON JON is the impressive directorial debut by Joseph Gordon-Levitt, who played the geeky kid on TV's 3RD ROCK FROM THE SUN about 15 years ago. The story is about how people expect reality to match up with what they see in the media.

In the film, Jon Martello Jr. is a macho Italian-American from New Jersey who only has a few things that he cares about in life. As he says in a voice-over, "My body. My pad. My ride. My family. My church. My boys. My girls. My porn." Everything in Jon's world is an object of his consumption and desire - it's all for his use. He loves his Internet porn and this shapes his expectations of how love, relationships and sex are supposed to be.

Jon is obsessed with surface appearances - both his and those of the girls he wants for his sexual conquests. He's very successful at scoring but, unfortunately for these girls, Jon gets more satisfaction from watching a minute of Internet pornography than he does from having sex with them. One night while in the club with his boys, he meets a "10", or a "dime", as he calls it - the girl of his erotic dreams - fetchingly played by Scarlett Johansson who looks a bit like Jessica Rabbit. Jon gets Barbara into bed but he quickly realises that even she doesn't measure up to what he can achieve on his own. When Barbara catches him self-indulging, she lays down the law: no lying and no more Internet porn. But Barbara is not so different from Jon. Her view of relationships is as fantasized as his is. While Jon believes that what he sees on the porn sites is real, she believes that what she sees in the romantic Hollywood films she loves to watch is just as real.

Barbara starts to mould Jon into her vision of what a romantic guy should be. He's no longer allowed to clean his own floors. It's not sexy, she says. At her insistence, he goes to night school to get a degree because being a bartender is not romantic either. While at school, Jon meets the off-beat and much older Esther (played by Julianne Moore) and the two embark on a May-September relationship. Through Esther, Jon grows up and learns about delayed gratification, and about finding yourself by losing yourself in another person.

DON JON features an excellent performance by Tony Danza, as Jon's hot-headed father. You can see that he was Jon (maybe without the benefit of the Internet) 25 years earlier. He even comments to Jon on the quality of Barbara's tangible assets. But the best performance in the film goes to Brie Larson, whose career so far has mainly been on TV. Brie plays Jon's younger sister, Monica, who only has one line in the film but her expressions throughout are priceless. This is a young woman who wants nothing more than to escape from the life she is in. She is glued to her smartphone, whether it's at the family's weekly Sunday church visits or at their dinner table later that afternoon.

A bit of warning: When it comes to the Internet porn scenes, nothing is left to imagination. If you can handle the explicitness, then see this movie. When I saw the film, my first thought was that this is what Gordon-Levitt wanted as his first screenplay? But after giving it more thought, the film and its subject matter have grown on me. The guy is certainly a very talented actor. We now see that he's an equally talented screenwriter and director.
August 6, 2016
It's a hilarious film. I really like the fact that how bout heart this movie has. The directing could've been better, but still really solid for Levitt first time be hide the chair. Good performances, good dialogue, and a fun plot to keep you interested in the story. Overall I'll say get it a watch.
Page 1 of 161