Event Horizon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Event Horizon Reviews

Page 1 of 2
David Keyes
July 3, 2013
If I were a psychologist hired to analyze the people who made this, I would conclude that everyone involved needed to take their inner child out back and shoot it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Gregory Weinkauf
July 25, 2011
Where's the application form for the job where you get paid to rip off the lamer and more bombastic aspects of Barker, Kubrick and Scott? I'm sorry I missed that notice.
Steve Newton
Georgia Straight
July 6, 2010
Eschewing the predictable plotting and happy endings of recent big-budget sci-fi productions, Event Horizon emerges as a truly twisted, nightmarish summer shocker.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
April 24, 2009
You look at Event Horizon as you would something that fell out of someone's nose.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
February 10, 2009
...a tremendously entertaining, flat-out disturbing horror effort that boasts a number of justifiably indelible sequences...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
December 31, 2008
High-tech ghost story takes a grip until credibility goes into orbit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Steve Biodrowski
December 30, 2008
Paul Anderson shoots things to look cool, but he has no grasp on how to modulate the visuals to carry the audience into the deepening nightmare of the plot.
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
December 30, 2008
Paul W.S. Anderson's outer space horror Event Horizon is an example of a potentially great and complex idea given a simplistic and ultimately ridiculous execution.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
December 24, 2008
It's disheartening to see how quickly this movie degenerates from an intriguing premise into an absurd gore-a-thon.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
David Noh
Film Journal International
July 16, 2007
The perils the actors face would be far more shuddersome were their characters more sharply delineated from the outset.
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
May 12, 2006
... incrível como um filme que suga tantos elementos de clássicos como 2001, Alien e Solaris pode ter resultado em uma besteira tão grande. Mas é este o talento de Anderson: dirigir besteiras colossais.
| Original Score: 1/5
Keith Breese
April 17, 2006
a retarded Goth version of 2001.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Bill Clark
January 9, 2006
A B-movie with an A-quality production, Event Horizon still haunts me.
| Original Score: B+
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
June 23, 2002
In its first hour, "Event" is startlingly beautiful and compelling... its last half-hour (is) a gore-drenched free-for-all, with images of Hell that seem to have been lifted directly from a Nine Inch Nails video...
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
February 28, 2002
Bad things happen, the kind of things that happen in bad horror movies that attempt to sound smarter than they really are.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Scott Weinberg
October 10, 2001
Cool actors doing gory things in outer space. I'm so in.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Carlo Cavagna
January 1, 2000
Patiently builds up the tension before the inevitable bloodbath
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
It does have a glossy sci-fi wrapper, but the quality of the underlying production is a pure B movie exercise in terror.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Widgett Walls
January 1, 2000
This film left me completely and utterly unable to sleep. So I look at this film with a great deal of respect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Shane Burridge
January 1, 2000
The kind of story that early STAR TREK episodes bought the patent on years ago
Full Review
Page 1 of 2