Guardians of the Galaxy Reviews

Page 1 of 16
June 14, 2016
If Guardians of the Galaxy is an origin story, it is also a satire of the origin story, one that emphasizes the power of the "We" over that of the "Chosen One."
January 4, 2015
In proper "who gives a toss?" B-movie tradition, Guardians of the Galaxy takes us into the silly section of the Marvel Universe.
September 30, 2014
Blessed with a loose, anarchic B-picture soul that encourages you to enjoy yourself even when you're not quite sure what's going on, the scruffy Guardians is irreverent in a way that can bring the first Star Wars to mind.
September 30, 2014
The lightly derisive, live-action-cartoon tone robs the movie of any majesty, even of the comic-book type, and the many violent deaths of their suitable gravity.
September 30, 2014
These meager pleasures are swallowed up in all the frantic action and overblown CG sequences.
September 5, 2014
Chris Pratt, overflowing with charisma, plays the leader of the pack of misfits, and his blissed-out space cowboy (with a love for seventies music) is so full of good will that he buoys the film and its requisite whizbang special effects.
August 6, 2019
If Boyhood is a reminder of film's potential to be groundbreaking art, Guardians of the Galaxy is a testament to its capacity for inducing pure joy.
August 1, 2019
Guardians also has both humor and genuine poignancy.
July 5, 2019
Pure fun from start to finish, a joyous, outrageously entertaining summer blockbuster that delivers everything anyone could really want out of a comic book movie.
June 18, 2019
One my favorite Marvel movies for sure.
April 19, 2019
Guardians of the Galaxy is one of the funniest movies that has ever been based on a Marvel comic book series.
March 22, 2019
Gunn does a great job of preserving his wacky indie sensibilities and incorporating them seamlessly into a giant, crowd-pleasing blockbuster film, a feat that takes more finesse than his Troma-boy resume may lead you to believe he's capable of.
March 8, 2019
Given the type of tight storytelling we are used to from Marvel, Guardians feels like it could have used a little tweaking, both narratively and character-wise.
February 20, 2019
Guardians of the Galaxy was an outside-the-box choice by Marvel; a huge gamble that paid off handsomely. It is epic space opera and well-constructed comedy, a visually stunning experience driven by exceptional performances.
February 14, 2019
Kinetic pace, clever humor, retro soundtrack, and dazzling effects add up to a wholly entertaining experience.
February 1, 2019
The dialogue has sizzle, and the film is peppered with lots of humor, getting the most out of this talented cast.
January 31, 2019
I'll go ahead and give it my highest rating. And, I hope everybody runs - not walks - to get in line for this one.
January 11, 2019
Guardians of the Galaxy has spectacle and sentiment, surprises, high stakes and great lines, a reliable example of Marvel magic at work.
December 7, 2018
I love this film, despite its few problems. I can't quite pinpoint why, but through its usage of sight and sound, it just speaks to me in ways that other films don't.
November 1, 2018
...the most confident bit of sci-fi world-building I've seen since the original Star Wars>.
Page 1 of 16