Howard the Duck - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Howard the Duck Reviews

Page 1 of 141
July 13, 2017
Ahead of its time. Yet oh so 80s.
½ July 7, 2017
Two words: duck boobs
½ June 16, 2017
The fact that Marvel went from this tasteless, mediocre movie into the juggernaut it is today, speaks volumes at how bad the movie is and how good Marvel is now.
April 24, 2017
This a classic 80s movie. Of course i was 4 when i saw it.
March 21, 2017
A for effort. They tried making it, you can't fault em' for that.
March 17, 2017
this movie was one of the greatest movies from my childhood. the only thing wrong with it was NOT A DAMN THING
March 17, 2017
This movie is one of the worst, dumbest, so bad it's good movies ever. There are so many plot holes and so much stupidity. I pity the fool.
March 14, 2017
I love the Howard The Duck comic but fuck this movie.
½ March 11, 2017
Stupid movie, but the overlords are still kinda frightening to watch! Hey, at least it got me interested into checking out the comics!
March 11, 2017
So first you see a duck reading a porno then you see him get sucked in the sky for no reason and then you get to see Howard nearly have sex with a human woman!! What the hell?
March 3, 2017
I remember seeing this... Uh, maybe opening day or opening weekend in Calgary, maybe with my brother. Anyways, it was getting positively trashed in reviews, but it seemed weird enough to go. I can recall not being particularily enamoured with it, maybe even bored.
Anyways, now was a good time as ever for a rewatch. While the whole thing IS sort of stupid, it definitely does have that eighties vibe, Howard sort of is amusing, and Lea Thompson is somewhat goofy to look at with her crimped-to-death hair. The greatest thimg about this rewatch though, is Tim Robbins in his hungry actor phase. Keep building up that resume kid!
½ February 26, 2017
Yikes! Errant laser beam takes sarcastic duck from his distant planet to Earth. Based on a Marvel Comics character. Hard to see how anyone would have been pleased with the end product here. Well deserved box office bomb. Can understand though if some feel this has legitimate camp value.
February 17, 2017
Saw this film as a kid - forgettable, tacky weirdness with a marketing icon for a main character. Read the comics!! The only intentionally oddball, socially satirical, postmodern (sorta) comic I know of from a major comics company. Author Steve Gerber was a genuine talent !! Unfortunately the film rights were just picked up and developed by the wrong people.
February 15, 2017
what can I say about this film, lets look at the positives (yes there are positives) it's fun and zany, its filled with a lot of good and interesting ideas. there was potential here but it was wasn't well executed. A bit of a mess. This is another failed George Lucas production.

I felt they could have done a superman like origin story or even had Howard being a bounty hunter/space traveler.

In saying all that I did like it. If you like a bit of mindless fun that's a little different Howard the Duck is for you.
January 30, 2017
Awesome it as a really god movie
½ January 9, 2017
A muddled movie that doesn't have a clue who it's target audience is. However, taken at face value (and if we ignore the awkward sexual dialogue between Lea Thompson and the duck) it's not actually a bad movie - it's just a confused one.
½ November 20, 2016
With bad acting, horrible writing, unimpressive special effects and painfully unfunny humor, Howard the Duck is a shrill, loud and surprisingly mean-spirited comedy that alienates its own audience.
½ November 4, 2016
Conceptually annoying. but its execution isn't totally terrible.
October 20, 2016
This film was considered a huge failure in the box office. Honestly, it was quirky and weird, but it doesn't earn the title as one of the worst films of all time. I liked the concept. The characters were a bit week, but I loved the fact that Lea Thompson did all of her own singing. Rating: 6 / 10
September 27, 2016
Terrible. Just terrible.
Page 1 of 141