Jersey Girl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jersey Girl Reviews

Page 1 of 205
November 27, 2016
Great movie, One of Kevin Smith's Best Movies.
½ October 13, 2016
Not bad, from Kevin Smith, with Ben Affleck and Jennifer Lopez. Raquel Castro is cute.
You could see how green affleck was as an actor
July 20, 2016
another winner from 'clerks' director kevin smith I really liked this one.
Super Reviewer
July 18, 2016
It's a poor remake of Jack & Sarah.
Super Reviewer
July 1, 2016
Some may argue that it has a heart (and it does), but it also has too many clichés - including a heavy-handed soundtrack that always makes plain explicit what Affleck's character is feeling -, and it doesn't help that his relationship with Liv Tyler's is so forced from the get go.
June 19, 2016
okay, in spite of some awkward interaction with Liv Tyler, who's not exactly Hepburn. Sweet, in its own sick way. Would've been better if they tied more loose ends with Will Smith getting him a job, he lost because of him. Going back to the city. Ending in a wedding. But it was still a nice enough film. Gets a bonus for rising above the usual smut.... somewhat.
½ June 18, 2016
Not a bad movie. I really enjoyed the camera work for the intro. Afleck tries so hard to put everything into his character which is commendable. A passion project for sure for Kevin Smith. Always love to see Liv Tyler on screen and of course George Carlin adds a great Comedic edge. The little girl is fun to watch as well. Not a bad young actress at the time.
½ April 2, 2016
4/1/2016: Better than I expected, but still not a great film.
½ March 13, 2016
Dissapolnting attempt at romantic comedy. The cast, an assemblage of good actors, just doesn't feel right. The little girl seems far to mature for her years and the school recital is beyond believing. This is a Hollywood version of romantic comedy and life.
January 28, 2016
Great Movie!! Totally worth the watch!
½ December 27, 2015
Though hardly fond of Ben Affleck as a lead, Kevin Smith as a director was more than enough to secure me for Jersey Girl.

In his first film outside of the View Askewniverse, Kevin Smith teams up once again with Ben Affleck. And jumping into a more mainstream style of narrative, he attempts to capitalize on the "Bennifer" craze of the early 2000's relating to Ben Affleck and Jennifer Lopez being in a tabloid-whore relationship. However, Jennifer Lopez simply gets an overpaid cameo role before the film turns to focus more on Ben Affleck. Alas, it still serves to foreshadow the central flaws that prove to plague Jersey Girl.
Jersey Girl is an odd outing for Kevin Smith. The man has a knack for making quirky cult classics aimed at a laid-back market, creating legendary comedy films such as Clerks (1994). In Jersey Girl, he goes against everything he knows. Rather than making a simple low-budget comedy with characters so laid back that their importance rests more on what they have to say than what they do, Kevin Smith crafts a collection of every sentimental cliché in the book and turns it into an example of essentially every romantic comedy ever made. Instead of sticking to his cult classic roots, Kevin Smith pushes for a more mainstream market with Jersey Girl. Considering the insufficient box-office returns, it is safe to say that the experiment was a failure. But why Kevin Smith went with something which was so beneath him is truly a puzzling notion. As he returned to his roots with Clerks 2 (2006) it is clear he found his path, but Jersey Girl still stands out as having a such minimal distinction as a Kevin Smith film. Aside from working with Ben Affleck, George Carlin and Betty Aberlin after the three starred together in his dark-fantasy comedy Dogma (1999), the only moments in Jersey Girl which feel close to being in the style of Kevin Smith's trademark humour is the sporadic laughs brought on by George Carlin. Outside of that, everything is generic to the bone.
However, Jersey Girl is not without its charms. The film is insufficient in any kind of humour let alone Kevin Smith's special brand of comedy, and the entire narrative is predictable from start to finish while any hope that it could turn out otherwise is unfortunately misguided. However, for a predictable feature, it is a well-made piece of generic cinema. Though the abundance of sentimentality and lack of humour pay it no favours, Jersey Girl remains a well-crafted film with a certain charm about it. There is never much in the way of melodrama in the film which means that the overall mood of Jersey Girl is easy going and the film makes for laid-back viewing. Kevin Smith makes an effort to ensure that Jersey Girl is a feel-good movie, and in that sense he achieves it. It happens in the absence of genuine character development or plot originality, but there is a certain simplicity to Jersey Girl which establishes a market for genre fans. And all in all, everything is put together with strong production values and nice scenery.
I really found that Jersey Girl was able to achieve a sense of humanity which was able to slightly transcend the generic script at ties.
Ben Affleck's leading performance left me surprised. Though Ben Affleck has continued to disappoint me as a lead, his best starring efforts have been in Gone Girl (2014) and especially Chasing Amy (1997) in which he collaborated with Kevin Smith prior. In Jersey Girl, he once again proves that Kevin Smith brings the best out of him. Though the material he has to work with is incredibly generic, the character is not a melodramatic one. He is a mere everyman attempting to do what he can to follow his dreams and make the people around him happy, and so it simply takes a man with natural charm to make the role work. Easily enough, Ben Affleck happens to maintain that and never faces the burden of having to push beyond his capabilities. He really creates a likable protagonist for Jersey Girl, and this is predominantly established through the chemistry he shares with Raquel Castro. Though the two share an effective father-daughter chemistry, there is also a sense that the two actors treat each other as equals. Though there is a comedic condescension in the relationship they share, the two really manage to work the best out of each other. Ben Affleck's leading effort in Jersey Girl may not be in the best film, but it serves as an effective front for his natural charms.
Raquel Castro manages to serve as the standout in Jersey Girl. Though the standard for child actors is always different, in Jersey Girl she actually serves to make the greatest impact. She may have a natural juvenile charm about her, but at the same time she is able to share some genuinely touching moments with him as they progressively develop their predictable yet enjoyable relationship. Raquel Castro manages to keep herself alive with energy all throughout Jersey Girl and boasts a naturally likable demeanour which encourages Ben Affleck to do the same, ensuring that they remain an engaging on-screen duo.
Liv Tyler also makes a likable addition to the cast, creating a better romantic duo with Ben Affleck than she did when they worked together on Armageddon (1998). And George Carlin serves to be the funniest part of Jersey Girl in his sporadic collection of supporting scenes thanks to his naturally edgy nature. Jennifer Lopez also brings her charms to a part of Jersey Girl without staying on screen long enough for the tabloid taboo to be the most prominent factor in considering her role.

So Jersey Girl boasts some engaging performances from a talented cast, but it is so far away from anything that makes Kevin Smith films distinctively great that it ends up trapped on a generic route which is predictable from miles away with an abundance of sentimentality in lieu of comedy to sustain it all the way to the end
November 25, 2015
Fun underrated
Grade B-
September 15, 2015
Not exceptional, but not near as bad as people will have you to think. It's a very touching story about a dad's love for his daughter (and features a wonderful turn by George Carlin)
September 7, 2015
Not terrible, but nothing beats R-rated Kevin Smith.
½ August 16, 2015
I was never one of those people who hated the film. It's a very sweet film about what happens when the worst thing you can imagine happening actually does happen, and it worked for me. A friend of mine did see the original 3 hour cut though and he always speaks of it with reverence and if that ever happens I am so there, because it sounds like something I absolutely must see.
August 14, 2015
This is supposed to be a Kevin Smith movie and there's no Jay & Silent Bob! All the charm and heart in his previous films is lost here.
½ July 27, 2015
Sticky sweet but watchable genetic family fare.
½ July 22, 2015
Kevin Smith is such a terrible writter. I can't even stomach this.
July 21, 2015
This is such formulaic crap. Kevin Smith is such a terrible writter and this was when Affleck was at his worst. Its full of annoying dialogue, and has this off putting tone. Not a single laugh.
July 1, 2015
Critics trashed this movie and its performances. I don't know why. Even though this is a huge departure for Kevin Smith, I think it's better than half the warmed over slop they serve up in romcoms these days. This was fun, funny, lovely, and loving. Normally, it's the kid who steals the show in these movies, but the kid isn't able to whenever George Carlin is around. One of the
most controversial stand up comics of all time gives his greatest acting performance as a working class Grandpa you can't help but love. I recommend this movie to anyone looking for an escape from the "conventional" romantic comedy.
Page 1 of 205