Kaboom - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kaboom Reviews

Page 1 of 22
June 5, 2016
I've watched most of Greg Araki's films, whether online, at school, or by accident. In university I was directed to several of his movies, for his wild and outrageous plot-lines, and desolate themes of helplessness. I wouldn't call myself a fan, but I did enjoy the 90's drug escapade "Nowhere"(1997), which was a precursor to many well known stars of the early 2000 era. Araki leads viewers on a non-oriented vision of college life, complete with all the oddball events of his previous films, but ends up as a rather dull entry.

For most of the movie the viewer is listening to our main character (known only as Smith), discuss the trials and tribulations of his young adult life. Bi-sexual, awkward, unfocused, and generally ignorant of other people around him, we are forced into his fantasies, absurd lifestyle, and unrealistic grip on reality. Sounds like fun right? Well, unfortunately you'd be wrong. The events that we witness unbearably forced, despite its unnatural and science-fiction theme. I felt most of the actors were just terribly strained and the unnatural dialogue between characters only draws attention to the situation. I think the actors were just terribly tedious in their delivery, and before long, I found there wasn't as single one that was believable.

As with most drug riddled, and absurdist films, this movie has some interesting happenings. There is everything from serial killers to witchcraft here, and they certainly match Araki's usual plot-lines. Some are pretty amusing, and somewhat surreal, while others simply fall flat and actually take away from the enjoyment of the film. Several of them (if not most) have no significance to anything at all, and they leave you with the feeling that Araki is trying his hardest to stay relevant in his own way. I didn't mind the craziness, in fact, I was expecting it. However, by the end of the film, you find yourself more than confused (which is probably his goal in the first place).

If you're a fan of Araki, you'll probably like this film very much. I didn't really think it had anything to offer besides that "WTF is happening" feeling he brings to movies. An irrelevant event with an abrupt ending.

2/5
June 5, 2016
I've watched most of Greg Araki's films, weather online or by accident. In university I was directed to several of his movies, for his wild and outrageous plot-lines, and desolate themes of helplessness. I wouldn't call myself a fan, but I did enjoy the 90's drug escapade "Nowhere"(1997), which was a precursor to many well known stars of the early 2000 era. Araki leads viewers on a non-oriented vision of college life, complete with all the oddball events of his previous films, but ends up as a rather dull entry.

For most of the movie the viewer is listening to our main character (known only as Smith), discuss the trials and tribulations of his young adult life. Bi-sexual, awkward, unfocused, and generally ignorant of other people around him, we are forced into his fantasies, absurd lifestyle, and unrealistic grip on reality. Sounds like fun right? Well, unfortunately you'd be wrong. The events that we witness unbearably forced, despite its unnatural and science-fiction theme. I felt most of the actors were just terribly strained and the unnatural dialogue between characters only draws attention to the situation. I think the actors were just terribly tedious in their delivery, and before long, I found there wasn't as single one that was believable.

As with most drug riddled, and absurdist films, this movie has some interesting happenings. There is everything from serial killers to witchcraft here, and they certainly match Araki's usual plot-lines. Some are pretty amusing, and somewhat surreal, while others simply fall flat and actually take away from the enjoyment of the film. Several of them (if not most) have no significance to anything at all, and they leave you with the feeling that Araki is trying his hardest to stay relevant in his own way. I didn't mind the craziness, in fact, I was expecting it. However, by the end of the film, you find yourself more than confused (which is probably his goal in the first place).

If you're a fan of Araki, you'll probably like this film very much. I didn't really think it had anything to offer besides that "WTF is happening" feeling he brings to movies. An irrelevant event with an abrupt ending.

2/5
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2016
A little Un Chien, a little Donnie Darko, and a whole lot of Liquid Sky... Actually that sounds amazing. And Kaboom is not amazing. It's not worthless, but it's not as good as I'm making it seem.

Realistically it's a weird, dumb and not particularly good film that still manages to be totally engaging. While I'm not gonna come straight out and tell everyone they will love Kaboom, I will go so far as to say it's probably worth you figuring out what you think of it for yourself. Even if you hate it, it's worth having that knowledge.
Super Reviewer
½ October 5, 2015
A disjointed film in which everything seems painfully arbitrary and with no sense of purpose, suffering from an unfocused script, a clumsy direction and an expository last scene - and it isn't funny as a hipster comedy nor intriguing enough as a mystery as it wants to be.
August 18, 2015
It's the kind of film that refuses to draw lines between what's real and what's hallucination, just as the characters resist defining their identity by sexual orientation. While the cast is good-looking, making them wear quirky hats doesn't always work. But, despite all the oddness, it is strangely compelling with some sharp and witty lines.
August 1, 2015
A weird mix of sci-fi, horror, mystery, and sex comedy. Gregg Araki's Kaboom is a hyper-stylized and visually trippy film that is unsure of what it wants to be. It's wonderful to see a movie that revolves around gay, lesbian, bisexual characters, and I liked how it portrayed them not as stereotypical caricatures, but as fleshed-out, three-dimensional people. The first half of the film is delightfully quirky, it's full of energy and the jokes are often hilarious. But the story goes haywire in the second half and in the end, doesn't offer any solid, or comprehensible, conclusion. This is by far the weirdest and messiest film I've seen in quite some time. Kaboom is a bizarre film.
June 18, 2015
A typical Gregg Araki movie that is full of camp, but the fun is wearing thin.
½ May 27, 2015
Kaboom is the weirdest thing I thought I would never see.
½ May 15, 2015
This is essentially queer-tinted eye candy with poorly translated satire. But, the whole movie and its characters look great. The things is, you do need a bit of substance to make a film work.
½ May 3, 2015
"What did I just watch?" That was the question on my mind throughout the film's length. While it was definitely creative and colorful, I am left wondering just what the fuck I just watched. Would I watch it again? No. Would I watch it when it's not four in the morning and I'm high off of all my cold medicine? Definitely not. Still so, I must give it props for it's wild creativity, dazzlingly usage of light and color, and just how open and free it was.
March 20, 2015
A little underwhelming in terms of story, but Kaboom delivers. It's explosively imaginative, full of strange but nonetheless funny humor, it's immature, stylish, raunchy, and utterly fascinating.
February 8, 2015
By the time the credits hit the screen, Kaboom feels like a really bad joke.
½ November 15, 2014
The first half is quite intriguing, with interesting sexual explorations, etc., but then it spirals into a load of crap. Then the movie completely loses its mind towards the end.
½ November 4, 2014
An interesting but totally weird movie. The talented cast does a great job with their roles.
½ November 2, 2014
I like Gregg Araki better with each film, and I wish I could live in the colorful, sexual universe portrayed in this Kaboom.
The characters are all completely over the top, like everyone's a sexy cartoon character. The movie is definitely about the fun had on along the way, as the plot development isn't the best. But it kept me interested the entire time.
Not to mention it my favorite French actress, Roxane Mesquida has a major role and Ladytron was prevalent on the soundtrack. My kind of movie.
Of course, I could see how it could be irritating to others. If it doesn't grab you after the first 30 minutes then just move on, as the ending is pretty stupid and you won't get a whole lot of resolution. I personally had a kick ass time with it.
August 12, 2014
Weird! Seriously, seriously weird!
½ August 9, 2014
You guys sure try to use a lot of fancy words, why not just say what you mean and mean what you say. I found the move intriguing with a great deal of sexual tension. I thought the plot was rather transparent and pointless, with the end being anticlimactic as predicted.
June 27, 2014
This was another enjoyable movie from Gregg Araki. Reminded me a lot of Nowhere.
June 10, 2014
Soft core porn script with a pseudo-plot. The sad truth is that if this movie has some deeper existential meaning then it is far too deeply hidden in its own narcissism. The movie is much like the pretty faces of its actors, filled with promise, potential and beauty but shallow and superficial. The plot keeps you holding on with the promise that perhaps in the end it will all make sense... it never does and I suppose that we as the viewers are expected to reconcile the complete lack of emotional attachment to these characters and their struggles (?) by feeling as though we have had the pleasure of spectating their gorgeous naked bodies for an hour and a half. I could not reconcile for this reason and ended with only the feeling that I had been bamboozled into looming on greater expectations. Also, Juno Temple is better than this. Way better.
June 2, 2014
More sex, more drugs, and an outstanding soundtrack. Not Araki's best film, but it sure is entertaining.
Page 1 of 22