Kramer vs. Kramer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kramer vs. Kramer Reviews

Page 1 of 99
May 22, 2017
A Best Picture Academy Award winner after its 1979 release this film depicts the tense emitions of marriage seperation an ensuing custody battle in the courts for the young son.
A workaholic Ted Kramer (Dustin Hoffman) alienates himself from his wife of eight years Joanna Kramer (Meryl Streep).
Joanna eventually snaps and leaves the unhappy marriage and home leaving Ted to look after young son Billy.
Looking after Billy as a single parent puts pressure on Ted's work life and he is eventually dismissed from his job as an advertising agency executive.
Ted develops an ever closer bond with Billy as he develops his parenting skills.
The second half of the film sees the return of Joanna who demands custody and goes to court to win it.
The courtroom scenes are electifying and throughout Hoffman and Streep give good performances.
The locations are grimy 1970s New York that evidently ages the film markedly.
Prior to the courtroom battle Ted's lawyer devises a pros and cons list that can be useful in the ensuing battle.
It made me think about the pros and cons of this film.
The pros:
1) Excellent performances by the lead actors and Justin Henry as the child Billy.
2) Tense courtroom scenes.
The cons:
1) The film seems to have overly aged beyond its near 40 years! Perhaps the fashions and the bleak cinematography of New York don't help in that respect.
2) Divorce, seperation and custody battles are perhaps unfortunately more prevalent nowadays so the story has lost some of its 'shock value'.

The film isn't overly long at just over 100 minutes.
April 16, 2017
By no means is this the first or only film to talk about divorce and the effect it has on a family and children outside of just the adult's relationships. However, this one feels much more grounded than most others. Most make the actual divorce a huge deal with a specific event or sudden plot point, but this movie shows a sobering fact about most of these type of situations, sometimes relationships just end. They fall apart for the most mundane reasons and we as humans must go on living afterwards.
March 23, 2017
Amazing performances by Hoffman and Streep in this award-winning film
February 28, 2017
Due to its subject matter and the steady societal changes occurring at the time of its release, "Kramer vs. Kramer" is a highly relatable film.
February 26, 2017
Dustin Hoffman was adorable in this movie. Even when everything was not going his way by losing his job, being told by his ex wife that she wants custody of the boy,, i just loved the way he would lose his cool each time. Acting perfection. Unfortunately in life it is all too common for a hardworking man to his whole life taken away from him by a whimsical, selfish woman who cannot accept that sometimes life is boring and wants change. The only difference in this compared to real life is that she couldnt completely go through with it. If only my wife could come to her senses the way Meryl Streep eventually does
February 6, 2017
A touching drama with great acting. Dustin Hoffman delivers an emotional performance as a father wanting custody of his son after a divorce. Very deserving of the Best Picture Oscar and the other awards it won. (First and only viewing - 8/11/2010)
Super Reviewer
December 5, 2016
A profoundly affecting family drama in which everything conspires for something so perfect that you must be dead if you are not moved, and it relies on a beautiful script that refuses to take sides and on exceptional performances by Dustin Hoffman, Meryl Streep and Justin Henry.
November 16, 2016
Such a beautiful movie where it's literally love vs. love. The Father is really admirable and I could learn so much from him on how he handles himself in desperate times.
October 16, 2016
Normally I can defend best picture winners, but honestly... I can't defend this from All That Jazz or Apocalypse Now. While it's no Out of Africa or The Greatest Show on Earth, the visuals are nothing compared to the latter two. The acting and story is good but nothing unique, how the father lost makes no sense, there were no memorable moments or lines and the ending of the mother giving the son back was too obvious.

This is a movie I'm gonna have to side with haters and not the academy on.
½ September 12, 2016
Good Movie for its time. A movie about custody of a child. Which many people can relate too. Either threw the child's eyes or the parents. Acting was spot-on. Very Believable.
½ September 6, 2016
I find it amusing that ALL of the negative reviews by critics were by men. Most of whom claim this movie is misogynistic. It is amazing to me that these snobs will understand the meaning of so many films, yet be clueless about this one.

If you watch the making of featurette, the director explains the reason for Meryl Streep's character leaving. She had to leave because she felt mentally unstable due to how Hoffman's character had treated her. In leaving, she showed the ultimate love toward her son. Which is worse: An unstable mother staying around, or leaving and getting her life together? If you look at a case such as Andrea Yates, the answer is clear.
August 31, 2016
As painful and sad the movie is, Kramer vs Kramer has well-made performances and story telling so incredible it lightens my heart
August 16, 2016
Às vezes, parece faltar em KRAMER VS. KRAMER certa substância na narrativa dando uma sensação clara de superficialidade da trama. Como melodrama, entretanto, funciona que é uma beleza, rendendo a Meryl Streep o seu primeiro Oscar.
½ July 30, 2016
Incredibly touching movie. The plot is very dense, the development of the story makes is more interesting and the actos are superb. It´s a kind of alert to nowadays couples that think marriage is something to play with and forget the children´s interests and feelings. I strongly recommend.
July 30, 2016
Moving. Well-acted (Meryl Streep and Hoffman at their best). Anatomy of a marriage and gender-roles, with no easy answers.
July 7, 2016
One of the few movies that makes me so incredibly angry I can't sleep lol. Excellent film.
July 7, 2016
This movie of course continues the fallacious assumption that a seven year old is too young to be in on their own custody arrangements let alone be the ultimate arbitruer thereof.
June 27, 2016
Quando vi este filme há uns 15 anos ele logicamente não comunicou comigo como o faz hoje. Achava absurdo que tivesse levado o Oscar sobre Apocalypse Now. Agora, acredito que foi merecido, é um filme mais importante e mais sensível. Somente a direção poderia ter ido para Coppola, Benton é muito melhor roteirista que diretor. Hoffman mostra por que é meu ator favorito e Streep mostra por que é esta lenda. Kramer vs. Kramer décadas depois segue atual e relevante.
April 2, 2016
7.8/10

~April 2, 2016~
March 20, 2016
Kramer vs. Kramer (1979) ????
Smashing drama about wife who walks out on husband and leaves him to take care of their young son. Not a false note in characterization, the two lead performances rate--and receive--unforgettable performances. Oscars for Picture, Actor, Actress, Direction, Original Screenplay. Evocative and moving; a truly wonderful film.
Page 1 of 99