Lara Croft - Tomb Raider - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lara Croft - Tomb Raider Reviews

Page 1 of 637
June 5, 2018
very bad the movie makes no sense and make Lara croft a THING not like a person do not see
June 3, 2018
This is a very good rendition of the games before 2013. The amount of ass kicked by Angelina on this movie is great. Chessy but effective.
May 23, 2018
horrible. i thought i could get some mindless entertainment or a so-bad-it's-funny movie. but i just got a bad movie. i wanted to give it a chance because chris stuckmann said it's a guilty pleasure for him, and i was curious how the old ones were after i watched the new tomb raider reboot. there are some cool action moments, but most of the action is useless. and most everything else is useless (2 viewings)
April 11, 2018
2/5. Lara Croft - Tomb Raider is a very dumb movie. But it owns that fact. I respect how over the top it is, plus I enjoy Daniel Craig's performance, but ultimately, this movie isn't worth watching.
March 30, 2018
Lara Croft (Angelina Jolie) lives an exciting life of danger and adventure as a Tomb Raider, dedicated to exploring the world to seek rare treasures and artifacts. When the Illuminati discover a way of gaining the power to control time through a planet anlignment and a device called "The Devil's Triangle", It's up to Lara to stop them from this by collecting two keys that can prevent the disaster from ripping apart time.

Despite the disastrous reputation that films based on video games have recieved over the years, Simon West's film adaptation of Core Design's Tomb Raider games was successful enough to get it's own sequel and is still currently one of the most financally successful video-game films of all time as like the first Pokemon film, it was released at the height of Lara Croft's popularity in the late 90's-early 2000's.

Angelina Jolie is perfectly cast as Lara, capturing both her badass and sexier moments with ease and it's amusing to see Daniel Craig basically setting himself up for his future 007 role. The rest of the cast, apart from Chris Barrie's charming butler character are mostly pretty bland and boring.

Overall Lara Croft: Tomb Raider is an enjoyable popcorn action flick, even in it's muddled state and the curse of video-game films hanging around it's neck.

Despite some extremely dated CGI and awful editing, this is overall, one of the better video game films out there.
March 25, 2018
Terrible and no fun whatsoever.
½ March 20, 2018
Bombastic, hammy, and with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer to the face, Tomb Raider ditched any attempt at realism that often plagues video game adaptations, instead choosing to embrace its ridiculous roots to full effect.
Lara Croft - Tomb Raider was a memorable thrillride that was wise enough not to pretend it was more than what it was.
March 17, 2018
This Movie Is Stupid, Dumb, Messy... Yes It Is.
But Angelina Jolie Style Along Some Cool Set-Pieces And Action Scenes Made "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider" my All Time Guilty Pleasure. Because At The End, Did I Care About All This Mistakes? No.
½ March 16, 2018
Even after who knows how long, I still have so much fun with this movie. It's big, goofy, and great.
March 15, 2018
Sloggish pace with unintentional funny moments.
March 14, 2018
Yea its stupid, yea its absurd,, yeah its senseless, but it is such an over-the-top fun action film, its hard to not find it a guilty pleasure.
March 11, 2018
Angelina Jolie deserves nothing but praise
March 10, 2018
This is one of those guilty pleasure action movies that has a really bad plot but has such insane action that it is so fun to watch. Angelina Jolie is great as Lara Croft however the supporting cast aren't that interesting.
½ March 3, 2018
Angelina Jolie shines as Lara Croft, but the script and action sequences are rather mediocre.
½ February 5, 2018
Lara Croft brings its goofy movie to an art form, for a movie that is based on a video game, the plot doesn't make a whole lot of sense, or rather, its too basic, raiders have to find two lost pieces to bring together a clock that can do blah blah blah, Croft is great, sets are good, makes for a good movie, but it just ends up getting loud, noisy, and I lost interest.
January 5, 2018
This, this is pretty much exactly what it should be. They made it exactly like what a video game fan in the early 2000s would want. Its a great popcorn flick that knows its not Shakespeare and doesnt want to be. It is good fun action adventure flick. Nothing too heavy in terms of philosophy or religion or any of that stuff to confuse people, instead just a straight forward in your face hard hitting action packed film with big effects and a pretty decent story to back it up. Can't complain one bit. Its always entertaining, even after watching it 4 or 5 times all the way through.
½ November 11, 2017
Great action, a little lacking in story but overall really enjoyable
October 24, 2017
Produção de alto nível para a época da virada do milênio (ano 2001) que rendeu muito em bilheteria e críticas. Até hoje, a personagem protagonista Lara Croft é muito respeitada no cenário cinematográfico e dos games. Além de, também, a atriz Angelina Jolie, que veio a desempenhar mais alguns papéis em filmes de Ação, como por exemplo, no filme "O Procurado". Lara Croft - Tomb Raider (2001) é filme para ninguém botar defeito, que acrescentou muito à história do gênero Ação e a tudo o que se refere a sua cultura. Se você ainda não assistiu, veja! E mesmo se já assistiu uma vez, talvez esteja na hora de você ver de novo, pois é um filme 10.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
September 20, 2017
A good game to film adaption, Some good action scenes, Jolie plays the part of Lara brilliant, She was made for the part, Story and acting were under par but who goes to a film like this for the acting, Overall one of the best films to come from a game.
Page 1 of 637