Lethal Weapon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lethal Weapon Reviews

Page 1 of 343
May 9, 2017
This movie I have seen many times, and I never tire of it.
½ May 4, 2017
An exciting action movie. I found the relationship between Riggs and Murtaugh to be interesting. They make a dynamic team, and are probably the ultimate duo of Buddy Cop films. (First and only viewing - 8/13/2013)
½ April 27, 2017
A movie made in character and actor chemistry heaven. Great story, good writing and lots of suitably tense action in a buddy cop movie who's amusingly dysfunctional relationship is at the heart of what makes this movie work so well.
April 16, 2017
Good story, love the characters, great acting, and it's a classic. So good that its kind of an archetype for modern action movies.
½ April 14, 2017
Mel Gibson was a humble actor in the 1980's. I loved him in this movie. One of my favorites. Too bad he had to become a total jerk after Braveheart.
April 10, 2017
When some things we seen won't hurt us, and other things do when what we see is ourselves get older, but still young and others young bit getting older we wish not to see. When what we do is see all sorts of cases that we wished we had never seen, especially those whom are close to us. When what we see we have eyes all over when we have an eye for fighting crime. When what we see we wish were here, that we rather eye down a barrel instead to end it all. When we see we can't do it, when it's not the cure to our pain.

When we see we have to lift spirits high to lift others we see low. When we see we have experts to see closer to give us a report. When we don't see somethings that we could see as one of us to learn the hard way. When we see we have a good reputation, with serious weaponry, to see that some people are loose cannons waiting to blow.  When what we see we know it's serious business thst others see and others wish they don't see to get out. When we see some people are good, honest and can see good when their aim is the best. When others want us to see some evidence when we are on the right direction. When we see our shots are better thst others show us otherwise. When others want us to see to go to the direction that is sabotaged for us.

***************************************************************************
When we can't get enough of things bad for us, that we can't get enough of the feeling of being high and soaring all the time. When we can't have enough good mornings of being over joyed celebrated and good company and food. When We had enough of bad mornings. When others cant get enough of bad things We can't get enough busts and takedowns. When we can't get enough of some people it makes us crazy knowing they have the upper hand on us it makes us hysterical with power and rage. When we can't get enough of living without those not around anymore that we wish they were there with us. When we can't get enough coming home alive after every takedown we do. When we can't get enough living we are close to ending it all.

When we can't get enough high hopes to add to more. When we can't get enough experts to handle the case. When we can't get enough of the excitement and danger that we learn the hard way. When we can't get enough of what we are good at, we are honestly good. When we haven't had enough but had too many to know we are lose cannons waiting to pop. When we can't get enough pain, good help, in somethings but for others it's too heavy to bare that we wish help was there for us. When we can't get enough living on the edge that jumping off the ledge comes natural to us when we are crazy. When we can't get enough of work that we continue for it is the only thing that keeps us alive, when death comes natural to us. When we had enough deaths when they are prime suspects we wish to question. When we can't have enough backup to save our ass. When we can't get enough of some people, when they are good partners welcome in our home. When we can't get enough of somethings when we are having a good time and harmless compared to other substances. When we can't get enough good shots when we are one of the best. When we can't get enough of somethings when it's healthy competition. When we had enough of us to sabotage what trail we are on. When we had enough kids to know we can't keep up with them all but only one that gives us a tip. When we can't get enough evidence when it leads to our own people and those higher up to know we are in over our head. When we haven't had enough danger and excitement to have it blown in our face but not stopping us. When we had enough of some people to keep trying again till they had enough and quit. When others can't get enough of our family to use them as leverage. When we can't get enough of our own to see they don't escape our grips when they are the best at what they do and we need them. When we can't get enough of pain when it's helping the enemy with what we know. When somethings we are sick off we shake off when we had enough of them on us. When we had enough of some people to blow them away when they come our direction. When we all had enough of each other to be the first one to shoot each other first but first settle things like men the old fashioned way. When we had enough of death to let the law settle it. When we had enough of somethings when we have our whole life to look forward too. When we can't get enough of some people that we partner up with them when every screw job just needs their screws tighten.

When we have some people who can't have enough, and others whom are lethal weapons that can see, we naturally partner up with those whom bring the trigger happy gun men addicts their targets.
½ March 9, 2017
Lethal Weapon is one of the greatest buddy-cop films I've ever seen.
February 16, 2017
Lethal Weapon is one of the best action films to come out of the 80's, and laid the perfect foundation for the top notch series of films that would follow. There are no two better buddy cops then Riggs and Murtaugh.
February 12, 2017
classic mad mel film they dont make them like this anymore
December 17, 2016
Classic action film that set a new standard for the buddy cop genre, thanks to a superb cast & filmmakers willing to go a little dark with the content. Gibson & Glover are excellent as Riggs & Murtaugh, playing off each other perfectly & giving career best performances. Gibson channels his crazed intensity to perfection while Glover is a fantastic straight man, giving brilliant reactions to every one of Riggs nuttier moments (his "I'm too old for this shit" line remains a classic). They get great support from the rest of the cast, particularly Gary Busy as the villainous Mr. Joshua. Behind the camera, Richard Donner adapts Shane Black's script perfectly and one forgets, after the numerous sequels & current TV show, how dark & edgy the original is. Riggs is a truly disturbed, suicidal man and you truly don't know what will happen next with him, making his tension with Murtaugh palpable. The action is edge of your seat and Black's dialogue is as good as you can get in action movie. All that plus being set during Christmas, it makes for one of the best action movies ever made and another great addition to the holiday movie rotation.
½ December 11, 2016
LAPD Homicide Sergeant Roger Murtaugh (Danny Glover), shortly after his 50th birthday, is partnered with Sergeant Martin Riggs (Mel Gibson), a transfer from narcotics. Riggs is a former Special Forces soldier who lost his wife in a car accident two years prior, has turned suicidal, and has been taking his aggression out on suspects, leading to his superiors requesting his transfer. Murtaugh and Riggs quickly find themselves feuding with each other. Murtaugh is contacted by Michael Hunsaker (Tom Atkins), an old Vietnam War buddy turned banker, but before they can meet, Murtaugh learns that Hunsaker's daughter, Amanda, apparently committed suicide by jumping to her death from her apartment balcony. Autopsy reports show Amanda to have been poisoned with drain cleaner, making the case a possible homicide. Hunsaker tells Murtaugh that he was concerned about his daughter's involvement in drugs, prostitution, and pornography, and was trying to get Murtaugh to help her escape that life. Murtaugh and Riggs go to see Amanda's pimp, but find a drug lab on the premises, leading to a shootout. Riggs kills the pimp and saves Murtaugh's life, who starts to tolerate his new partner. Though the case seems closed, Riggs is aware that the only witness to Amanda's apparent suicide was Dixie, another prostitute who was working away from her normal streets. They go to see her at her home, but it explodes as they approach it. Riggs finds parts of a mercury switch from bomb debris, indicating a professional had set the bomb; children who had been nearby witnessed a man approach the house with a tattoo similar to Riggs', and Murtaugh suspects Hunsaker knows more than he has told him. The two approach Hunsaker before Amanda's funeral, where he reveals that he had previously been part of "Shadow Company," a heroin-smuggling operation run by former special forces operators from the Vietnam War, masterminded by retired General Peter McAllister (Mitchell Ryan) and his right-hand man, Mr. Joshua (Gary Busey). Hunsaker had been laundering the money, but wanted to get out, and when McAllister found out he'd contacted Murtaugh, the general had Amanda killed. As they talk, Joshua arrives in a helicopter and kills Hunsaker. Shadow Company attempts to kill Riggs in a drive-by shooting, but he is saved by a bullet-proof vest. Murtaugh and Riggs fake his death to gain the upper hand against McAllister...

Variety wrote, "Lethal Weapon is a film teetering on the brink of absurdity when it gets serious, but thanks to its unrelenting energy and insistent drive, it never quite falls." Richard Schickel of Time called it "Mad Max meets The Cosby Show", saying that it works better than expected. Richard Harrington of The Washington Post described it as "a vivid, visceral reminder of just how exciting an action film can be". At The New York Times, Janet Maslin wrote, "The film is all fast action, noisy stunts and huge, often unflattering close-ups, but it packs an undeniable wallop." Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times gave the film four out of four stars, saying Donner "tops himself".

"Lethal Weapon" is one of those classic buddy buddy cop movies we have seen in so many versions I canīt even count them, but in this case everything falls in place and works really well due to solid direction from Richard Donner and great cinematography from Stephen Goldblatt, excellent casting of Glover and Gibson (plus the great chemistry between them), Gary Buseyīs bad guy Mr. Joshua and an intense and good action script even itīs not that much new under the sun if you dissect it. Thereīs plenty of great scenes between Gibson and Glover and having finally watched the "Directorīs Cut" version I reckon the added scenes are of value to the film in my opinion to get more flesh on the bone concerning Riggs state of mind. The action and violence is up and close, but I reckon it fits the film and structure. The dialogue has several gems as well and you canīt help but love how intense Gibson are in certain scenes. "Lethal Weapon" is a great action flick that stands the test of time. It still holds up in 2016.

Trivia: An alternate opening and ending were both filmed (and are available on the Lethal Weapon 4 (1998) DVD). The alternate opening featured Martin Riggs drinking alone in a bar where he is accosted by a couple of thugs who want his money. Riggs claims all of his is in the bank and tells the thugs "not to fuck with him." The thugs attack him, but Riggs easily subdues them. He is then allowed to take a free bottle of booze from the bar in exchange for never returning. Director Richard Donner felt the movie should open with a brighter look at Riggs and filmed the scene with Riggs awakening in his trailer to replace it. The alternate ending featured Riggs and Murtaugh saying good-bye to one another. Murtaugh tells Riggs he's thinking of retiring, but Riggs tells him not to.

In addition to the film's theatrical release, an extended Director's Cut version was released later on DVD. The Director's Cut version is longer (117 minutes) than the original theatrical release version (110 minutes), and features additional scenes. One extended scene depicts Riggs dispatching a sniper who had been firing at children in a playground. In another scene, Riggs picks up a street-walking prostitute, but instead of having sex with her, he takes her home to watch The Three Stooges on TV, thus illustrating his loneliness following the death of his wife.

Legendary stuntman Dar Robinson was killed in a motorcycle accident shortly after principal photography was finished. Director Richard Donner dedicated the film to him.

Shane Black's first draft of Lethal Weapon (1987) which he wrote sometime in 1985 was very different, not just from his later drafts but also from the final movie. This first draft was 141 pages long and it was much darker, it had alternate plot parts, character scenes, action sequences and many other differences, like entire ending which had big chase scene including helicopters and a trailer truck full of cocaine which explodes over Hollywood Hills causing for cocaine to start snowing over Hollywood sign. Riggs was also much different character in this first draft than he is in the movie. Black at first thought that this draft (which was one of his first scripts) sucks so he threw it in the garbage but later changed his mind and re-worked it into the new drafts. For the longest time, Black was the only one who had copy of his first draft until he sold it on auction. This draft still remains some of his most wanted work amongst fans.

The fight scene between Riggs and Joshua in the ending was originally four minutes longer, but was cut down for pacing. This explains some continuity mistakes in the final version of the scene.
December 7, 2016
Is it chock full of 80's cheese? You betchya. Is it really well written and damn entertaining? You betchya.
November 28, 2016
Great film. Love these films. Ain't seen for years, look Forward to seeing 2,3 and 4
November 27, 2016
Classic! Followed by 3 theatrical sequels and a TV series reboot. On Blu-ray.
November 23, 2016
Easily one of the finest American action films of the '80s. However, this film has a lot more going for it than one may think. Firstly, the phenomenal chemistry between Gibson and Glover, which is helped by a great deal of improvisation friendly direction from the great Richard Donner. All while sporting, possibly, the best performance of Mel Gibson's career.

If, somehow, none of that interests you; Shane Black's script is a masterpiece, and the action is spectacular.
½ November 19, 2016
It's good but I never liked the final 30 minutes. The sequel is better. Pretend they solved the murder with the shootout at the pimps house then move on to the next film.
½ November 13, 2016
161113: How times have changed. Lethal Weapon is still a good film but suffers from a few dated qualities. From Riggs' hair to his question of Murtaugh "What are you, a fag?" this film is showing its age. I always had a bit of trouble with Mel Gibson's portrayal of someone allegedly suffering from mental health issues. He came across as unconvincing to me. This time around, I'm feeling it a bit more. "Hate him back, it works for me" is a response I'm familiar with. Gary Busey's contribution as the villain Joshua cannot be understated. He completes this film.
November 7, 2016
One of the first cop movies to mix the whole concept of action and adventure with comedy, it more or less help shape and define how cop movies would be remembered and portrayed for years, possibly even to this day. The original owes its success to the strong presence and acting of its two main leads, Mel Gibson and Danny Glover. Without these men I doubt the franchise would have gotten very far, at least not three sequels and a TV show reboot far. And while it is not the strongest of the series, that would be the second one, it still feels like a must watch for people wanting to get into the business of making action movies.
October 19, 2016
What a movie. We're do I even start? The characters are lovable, the acting is some of the best. I think it shares first place with die hard for the best Christmas action movies of all time!
October 17, 2016
10/17/16 - This truly is a dynamic duo! Action at its finest! God please bring back the good old days! Help us move forward to better days! Heal this broken land of the United States of America and bring us back to you in Jesus Christ name!
Page 1 of 343