Mighty Aphrodite - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mighty Aphrodite Reviews

Page 1 of 32
March 23, 2017
Probably his best film from the 90's and a return to form.

Sorvino is tremendous in her Oscar winning turn.

A lot of genuine laugh out loud moments and some text book Allen awkwardness.
August 8, 2016
"-Of all human weaknesses, obsession is the most dangerous, and the silliest!"
April 10, 2016
Mira Sorvino gives an attention grabbing performance, but the plot wonders aimlessly and ends up nowhere exciting.
½ February 1, 2016
Although the Greek interludes are annoying and the cinematography doesn't quite dazzle as much as it does in some of Allen's films, there's enough pathos and hilarity in Mighty Aphrodite to make it more than a worthwhile watch. Still a million times better than anyone else.
January 31, 2016
Woody Allen's jabber.
½ January 17, 2016
Somewhat bitter and sweet story, pretty good.
October 11, 2015
"Of all human weaknesses, obsession is the most dangerous, and the silliest!"
½ September 11, 2015
Lenny and Amanda are a yuppie couple, and Amanda decides they should have a baby. When Lenny says no, Amanda makes him say yes and they adopt a boy who turns out to be a genius. Not being able to handle it, Lenny seeks out the boy's real mother, who turns out to be porn-star/prostitute Linda Ash (Mira Sorvino). Allen uses an actual Greek Chorus full of delightfully funny players to deconstruct the film, add some droll humour, and make it wholly original. The result is a touching and heart-warming comedy that hits all the right notes, especially that wonderful performance from Mira Sorvino. Mighty Aphrodite is a mighty film indeed.
July 13, 2015
A bit dirty minded for a Woody Allen comedy, but it's a delightful one.
May 17, 2015
Never before the greek drama was so amusing.Check for Sorvino 15 minutes of fame
May 10, 2015
The only real reasons to see this movie are Mia Sorvino and Michael Rapaport.
February 24, 2015
Typical Woody Allen flick...
December 30, 2014
I prefer Shaw's Pygmalion to this
½ October 16, 2014
If Mighty Aphrodite lived up to its potential, it would be a highly entertaining, 45 minute short-film featuring Woody Allen's delightfully neurotic performance and his interaction with Mira Sorvino's ditsy but charming Linda. As it is, however, the script feels like it has been padded out with unnecessary extra material, a cringeworthy Greek chorus, and numerous condescending moments where the film considers the audience too stupid to realise things without ramming it down their throats.
October 4, 2014
Review:
I quite enjoyed this movie which, is written and directed well by Woody Allen. As usual, the only problem that I found with the film is Woody Allen's constant chatting about rubbish, but the concept was sweat and well put together. I loved the twists at the end, which were cleverly written, and Mira Sorvino's character was brilliant. The whole concept of Woody Allen finding his adopted son's mother and ending finding out that she was a prostitute, was refreshing compared to his usual troubled relationship movies. The quirky prostitute made the movie for me along with the great performances by all the cast. She stole the screen from Woody Allen in every scene and she totally deserved her Oscar for best supporting role. On the whole, the movie does drag a bit during the beginning, but once it gets going it was a joy to watch. Enjoyable!

Round-Up:
I remember seeing this movie when it first came out in the late 90's, and now that I have seen it again, it's a timeless piece that has to go down as some of Woody Allen's best work. That is totally due to Sorvino and the way that Woody Allen wrote her character. Helen Bonham Carter was under used for the role as his wife but she was a good choice by Allen. Personally I think that the movie could have done with someone else playing Woody Allen's character and that Mira Sorvino should have had more screen time, but that just me being fussy. 

Budget: $15million
Worldwide Gross: $26million

I recommend this movie to people who are into there Woody Allen movies about a man trying to find his adopted son's mother. 6/10
July 3, 2014
Disappointing compared to the usual Woody Allen film but it's still entertaining.
½ June 21, 2014
This is Mira Sorvino's movie. Could've done without the pointless Greek chorus.
June 1, 2014
Even though the story is a little formulaic, "Mighty Aphrodite" is one of Woody Allen's funniest movies, thanks to a witty and humorous script, and a terrific ensemble, notably Mira Sorvino in an Oscar-winning portrayal.
May 22, 2014
Fast paced and witty Allen comedy.
Page 1 of 32