Murderball - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Murderball Reviews

Page 1 of 43
½ January 7, 2017
Insightful but sometimes also sentimental.
August 19, 2016
A great expose on Murderball, aka Paraplegic Rugby. Does a masterful job of showing the people behind the characters, as well as the teams behind the rivalries. For anyone who thought Football players were the toughest dudes on Earth, give this flick a watch and see if you still come out with that POV.
April 13, 2016
Very inspirational movie. Very entertaining and great for a sports movie.
½ November 21, 2015
Awesome documentary about Team USA's Wheelchair Rugby team. Very inspiring and to me gives hope to those who believe that they've lost everything when they became quadriplegic. Go see it.
August 29, 2015
Emotional, intense, exciting, and it's a documentary...
August 13, 2015
his is one high energy,action doc with Zupan just taking over every scene he's in.
April 4, 2015
Very accurate portrayal of life in a wheelchair.
September 21, 2014
A massive triumph of the human spirit in the face of enormous physical adversity, Murderball is heartwarming, hilarious, heartbreaking, and ultimately heroic. You will never view a physically handicapped person the same way after watching this film. Everyone should see this movie.
September 7, 2014
Interesting documentary but I was expecting something a bit more edgy due to the name mainly. I think documentaries are supposed to tell you something you don't already know and this doesn't do that.
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
July 22, 2014
The U.S. and Canadian teams of quadriplegics compete in a rugby-like game called murderball in the paraolympics.
The first impression of some of these people is not positive, but nonetheless interesting: they come off as testosterone-fueled assholes, but they're in wheelchairs, so all expectations of this being a feel-good Lifetime after-school special are shot to the moon the first time an paraolympian tells a story about threatening to kick the ass of a random bar patron. But as the film goes on, we get underneath the veneers of these players. There are a few vulnerabilities, but what they want more than your pity is your respect, your fear, and your recognition that their injuries do not threaten their masculinity.
The film tries to fashion a sports story out of its subject, but it doesn't work. There isn't a lot of suspense in the games' outcomes.
Overall, documentaries often open worlds that we never imagined existed, and what is true of those documentaries is doubly true of Murderball.
April 2, 2014
A tough edgy documentary about the intense world of Wheelchair Rugby & the incredible personalities that make up team USA.

This film focuses in individuals & their stories & how they not only deal with their injury but how they move forward & eventually excel.

One particular gentleman who was world champion many many times now coaches Canada & the rivalry in so intense. A touching honest film that was a pleasure to watch.
August 5, 2013
#1 on my personal list of 10 Sports Documentaries You Should See Before You Die.

By far the best sports documentary ever made, including the Baseball mini-series produced by Ken Burns. This movie is so good I am shocked that almost everyone I ask has not only not seen the movie, but most have not heard of it. Like any other great sports story, 'Murderball' features fierce rivalry, stopwatch suspense, dazzling athletic prowess, larger-than-life personalities and triumph over daunting odds. But Murderball, the original name for the full-contact sport now known as quad rugby, is played by quadriplegics in armored wheelchairs.

'Murderball' is a story like no other, told by men who see the world from a different angle. Quad rugby players have suffered injuries that have left them with limited function in all four limbs. Whether by car wreck, gunshot, fist fight, rogue bacteria or any of an endless list of possible misadventures, quad rugby's young men have found their lives dramatically altered. Watching them in action -- both on court and off -- smashes every stereotype one has ever had about the handicapped. It also redefines what it is to be a man, what it is to live a full life, and what it is to be a winner. It was nominated for Best Documentary Feature for the 78th Academy Awards. This film is also #1 on the Rotten Tomatoes countdown of the top sports movies of all time.
½ July 21, 2013
yeah you can't dislike this movie. A few minor flaws don't slow it down much, I didn't like the america who defected to the Canada team at first but i realized by the end of the film that if you want to be a murderball coach your options are very very limited.
½ June 25, 2013
interesting,inspiring and full of personality.
June 22, 2013
MTV is a studio with a general attitude amongst the media which reflects crude language and immature behaviour, and since that's the studio that takes it upon themselves to finance Murderball, that makes it utterly perfect. The approach they take to Murderball is absolutely perfect because it displays the touching comedic side to the people involved and how they can still have fun with themselves without feeling like inferiors. That's the thing about Murderball, it looks at people with disabilities as humans rather than as damaged humans, and it displays a determination within them that's stronger than the determination of many people nowadays.
The people chronicled in Murderball are heroic human beings, and the audience engages with them in terms of sympathies as well as the fact that we can get along with them no problem because they act no different as human beings and take the same approach as everyone else, such as when Mark Zupan points ours how he doesn't want people to sympathise with him merely because he's in a wheelchair, and the angry temperaments the characters have are not injury related, but raw human emotion. That's one of the key things Murderball achieves, it bridges the gap formed by society between those who can walk and those who are wheelchair-ridden. Murderball is sympathetic and humourous, so the atmosphere is absolutely perfect.

On the side of the story that looks into the sport of Murderball, the film is inspiring and rich with the heart of a sports story which is emphasised through classic sports film norms including a mix of strong editing and energetic music.
Murderball chronicles a diverse range of real players and treats them as finely as possible with sophistication and the respect they deserve and emphasises what's important: their determination and fighting spirit which don't play second fiddle to the sentimentality of the insightful look at the characters, and that makes it a sophisticated and powerful story that isn't burdened with excessive attempts to tug at the heart strings. The sports side of Murderball is excellent and inspirational and has a terrific heart to it, and the directional work of Henry Alex Rubin and Dana Adam Shapiro deserves absolute immense praise for his work.
Murderball beats out When We Were Kings as the greatest documentary I've ever seen, and it's one I would encourage any sports fanatic, medical student or troubled human being to witness, as well as anyone who generally enjoys an excellent film. This is the finest movie MTV have ever worked on, and the people should be honoured to have their story told so excellently.
½ February 25, 2013
Funny, touching, and fresh documentary on an underseen sport
½ February 25, 2013
wow...this movie both broke my heat and gave me strength
February 18, 2013
Arresting documentary on those of people who have permanently ended up in wheel chairs under various circumstances. In order to utilize their particular paralysis, these individuals engage in wheel-chair basketball and even head to the 2004 Olympics in Greece. What's interesting about this film is, even despite being confined to this type of mobility for the remainder of their lives, the characters sure harbour a lot of anger and the origins of their injuries is not always debilitating disease. The main person at the centre and featured on the DVD cover of this movie, Mark Zupan, ended up in wheel chair as a result of drunk driving relating incident (he was the intoxicated passenger of the drunk driver). Another one's situation resulted from being tossed off a porch during a drunken brawl. Some of these guys were clearly not all there during their situations. Interesting film, although the swearing amongst the participants gets out of hand after a while. Nice to see my home town of Burnaby, British Columbia in one clip of the picture.
January 15, 2013
Wish I saw this movie sooner glad I found this in a bargain box a documentary about wheelchair rugby player s show s you these dudes were athletes it's not a movie were you don't feel sorry for a bunch of cripples it's a sports movie where respect the players ! !!
January 13, 2013
Great balance between sport and human interest to create a memorable and satisfying documentary.
Page 1 of 43