Natural Born Killers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Natural Born Killers Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 11, 2014
It can easily be said that "Natural Born Killers" ranks among the worst films in Oliver Stone's filmography. It's an incompetently-made attempt at drilling home an incredibly simplistic point that anyone can learn from turning on the news.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 27, 2014
It plays like a mad dash across the cerebral mind-field in search of the right mood, and fails drastically at finding one.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 26, 2011
At times with this movie the art overpowered the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2011
Bloody, violent, sexually explicit. Mature teens+.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 27, 2009
Natural Born Killers finds Stone throwing everything against the wall to see what sticks.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
August 25, 2008
Electrifying, except when it's stupid.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 23, 2008
Profane, hallucinogenic, and wickedly satirical, Oliver Stone's Natural Born Killers mainlined a message from hell (a.k.a. modern America, as seen by Stone) into mall theatres and multiplexes. [Blu-Ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 10, 2008
Stone has guts, I'll grant him that; but he needn't have spilled so much of it in our laps.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 25, 2006
An incoherent, experimental acid trip so unbearably pretentious that it gave me newfound respect for the Warren Commission. A real torture test.
| Original Score: 1/10
January 3, 2006
One of the most audacious, timely, but also deeply problematic films, a feverish nightmare of American culture at its worst, which might explain the heated controversy and legal battles.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 5, 2004
Sick, twisted, and brilliant.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 20, 2003
As a satirist, [Stone's] an elephant ballerina.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 20, 2003
America's obsession with tabloid television and with the psychopaths whose lives the shows sensationalize is the ostensible target of Oliver Stone's latest bombastic and self-righteous exploration of evil in America.
| Original Score: 2/4
May 14, 2003
Flashy, loathsome, and utterly empty.
| Original Score: 1/5
March 18, 2003
[Stone's] idea of subtlety is to put a velvet Crown Royale sack over a hammer before he smacks you in the face with it repeatedly.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 10, 2002
Oliver Stone does an amazing job behind the camera, and the editing is totally delirious: it's one of the most visually dazzling films I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 9, 2002
Made in the style of an MTV video...Natural Born Killers is exactly the kind of bullying, mindless assault that Stone excoriates the media for perpetrating.
May 12, 2001
This is one of my all time favorite movies, and it put Oliver Stone on my list of 'Best Directors Ever,' right along with Stanley [Kubrick].
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 21, 2001
Stone can't make a point subtly -- and yes, even a brutal, hallucinogenic movie like this one would benefit from some subtlety.
Read More | Original Score: 81/100
January 1, 2000
Stone...doesn't know the meaning of moderation or subtlety, and opts instead for something that is excessive and self-indulgent. It's as if he wants to shout out the statement: 'Look at what I can do! I'm an artist!'
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 2