No Reservations - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

No Reservations Reviews

Page 1 of 929
August 15, 2018
I loved the title of the movie because it works on so many levels. I also loved Catherine Zeta-Jones in it!!! Aaron Eckhardt didn't really work for me.
August 15, 2018
I loved the title of the movie because it works on so many levels. I also loved Catherine Zeta-Jones in it!!! Aaron Eckhardt didn't really work for me.
August 5, 2018
didn't care about this movie
½ May 4, 2018
One Of Those "Ya Mother'll Love This" Kinda Things, As Dreamboat Aaron Wins Over A Snooty-Nosed, Work-Driven Catherine With His Cultured Stylings, Musical Knowledge, Fatherly Ways & Of Course..He Can Cook. I Guess This Also Fits In With A Bunch Of FIlms About Food-Porn Being Part Of The Character Within The Story, Obviously Aimed At A Female Audience, It All Falls Into Place, In Very Typical Love Story Fashion. Very Quick Ending, Almost Edited Right Down In The End Because I'm Sure Test-Screenings Resulted In Audience Feedback Saying It Was All Too Slow..Which It Is..But I Held On.. Only Just.
April 7, 2018
A delightful feel good movie. I love all the actors and Aaron Eckhart, Catherine Zeta Jones and Abigail Breslin do a fantastic job. I've watched it many times and always enjoy it, especially on a cozy night in on the weekend.
December 13, 2017
I really enjoyed this movie.
½ August 26, 2017
Cute rom com with Aaron Eckhart at his charming best. The only question is why Zeta-Jones doesn't succumb sooner. Abigail Breslin is the sad orphan Eckhart helps to recover. Nice, enjoyable watch.
August 13, 2017
8/13/2017: A pretty decent rom-com type movie. I probably wouldn't watch again, but I did enjoy it.
June 7, 2017
This movie serves comfort food realness. It's charming, well-acted, and features good motifs of chef's whites, charming New York City neighborhoods, and European apartment decor. French cuisine meets Italian creating an enjoyable recipe one will repeat for years to come.
Super Reviewer
February 27, 2017
The movie poster suggested "No Reservations" would be a rom-com -- but there was no discernible "com" actually in it. While there certainly was a modicum of romance, the story is much better characterized as a drama focused on a career-minded woman taking on the responsibility of raising her traumatized niece after a terrible tragedy, and who grudgingly allows a cute but insipid male sidekick into the house as a hanger-on. It was entertaining from the professional kitchen angle, but there did not seem to be much leavening in the bread.
February 1, 2017
It's good movie to watch
January 30, 2017
Entertaining, a bit predictable as any romanticcomedy would be, but it is nice to watch, likable characters, funny scenes. Also Abigail Breslin is so little!
January 16, 2017
THE GIST
Charming little romantic dramedy breaks no new ground, but wins major points for not pandering to melodrama, but instead giving its audience an honest, touching, and uplifting little story. Remake of the Italian film Mostly Martha. ***1/2 (out of five) Rated PG (mild language and innuendo).

THE FULL SCOOP

I am convinced that professional movie critics often will not like something if it is simple, straightforward, and has an uplifting message. Many appear to only like something "edgy," "new," or envelope-pushing. How else can one explain the lukewarm critical reception for the charming little film No Reservations, a romantic dramedy starring Catherine Zeta-Jones, Aaron Eackhart, and Signs wunderkid Abigail Breslin?

This is a good "cuddle on the couch" movie. I will stay away from spoilers, but suffice to say that I very much enjoyed this movie for its realistic and thorough approach to grieving, family, healing, and falling in love. On paper, the plot seems formulaic but it works because the three main characters (who admittedly seem like one-dimensional caricatures initially) are all fleshed out subtly and believably as the film goes on.

Zeta-Jones is often far too glamorous for me to see her as anything but a sex symbol, but here she gives a solid, very grounded performance. She's both selfish and selfless, confident yet vulnerable, bright but can be ditzy...in short, she's human. Abigail Breslin continues to be the best child actor working today with a performance that is heartwarming, heartbreaking, and very real.

Aaron Eckhart (to be seen in The Dark Knight this summer), is extremely likable and charming. His romance with Zeta-Jones plays out without a lot of fanfare, which is why I liked it. It feels like the type of unforced process that happens in the real world. Of course it starts with the standard "love-hate" scenario and near the end there's a crisis that threatens to drive them apart, but to the film's credit, neither cliched plot device occupies a lot of screen time. Instead, the bulk of the drama comes from the more realistic tragedy that brings these three people together. The comedy, as well, plays out more like the comedy that occurs in real life. This is not a knee-slapping, hilarious romantic comedy a la While You Were Sleeping, but it's not meant to be.

No Reservations doesn't break any new ground, but it does display the beautiful aspects of our humanity without forcing it. Most romantic comedies are fairly predictable; you know exactly what you're going to get, and if you like the genre (and I do), you are rarely disappointed. No Reservations, however, has the distinction of being a bit more subtle, more straightforward, more real, and carries a bit more depth than most. Like the food the characters prepare, it's very much the same as similar dishes you've enjoyed, only better.
½ November 19, 2016
This is a glorified Hallmark movie, featuring lines like "I wish there was a cookbook for life!" Opposites attract. Orphans change people.

Seeing a cute young Abigail Breslin reminded me how nice Definitely, Maybe is. You should watch that instead.
October 8, 2016
Catherine Zeta-Jones is a pleasure to watch in this movie. Much of the movie she struggles through life's challenges. Interesting spins at the end.
½ August 21, 2016
I couldn't remember if I had rated this movie and I wastes my time again on this flick. Very disappointed with great actors in this movie. The script was horrible, there was no on screen chemistry. I just felt very uncomfortable watching the actors. The storyline was predictable. I couldn't wait for this movie to end.
August 20, 2016
It was pretty sad and sort of all over the place. There were a lot of subjects in the movie that the directer wanted to have but were stretched too thin to make a positive impact.
½ August 12, 2016
Though super predictable, it is nontheless enjoyable and lighthearted
May 22, 2016
Normal and pretty cliche but it was a fun watch nonetheless.
May 6, 2016
At last a romantic comedy that you will actually laugh with. A rare combination of comedy depth and wisdom. More like this please.
Page 1 of 929