The People Vs. Larry Flynt - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The People Vs. Larry Flynt Reviews

Page 1 of 62
½ May 30, 2017
Forman's direction is phonomenal; he multi-facets the film to present the film's lead as complex and ambiguous. But, the script is a mess and Harrelson doesn't assist Forman in his quest for presenting Flynt as opaquely ambivalent. However, for his acceptable effort I'll give Forman the benefit of the doubt and cut my rating straight down the middle, albeit I wouldn't recommend the film for its untidy craft.
April 26, 2017
Movie about a porn magazine mogul who first takes on censorship and then takes on Jerry Falwell. Not good. Woody Harrelson didn't convince me he was a sleazy porn man. Courtney Love was good, but one dimensional. The movie needed a better script. Very cookie cutter and boring.
March 4, 2017
Strong performance from Woody
½ February 21, 2017
The People vs. Larry Flynt is the beard & butter bio pic, but it takes that and brings more to the table. This is Woody Harrelson's best performance.
December 12, 2016
Like him or not, his fights for rights meant victory for us all. He stood firm on the Constitution and it held, just as it was intended.
October 18, 2016
Woody Harrelson's bravado filled performance and a solid cast make for a compelling drama with some courtroom moments. Larry Flynt creates the porn mag Hustler, and then proceeds to take on everyone from judges, Evangelicals, preachers, etc. The movie is never boring and it definitely does not hold back on this man's crazy changes from entrepreneur, changed man, prisoner, and paraplegic. The solid performances and plot keep things going, from the director of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest.
August 18, 2016
Powerfully moving and with a compelling fact-based story, The People Vs. Larry Flynt doesn't hold back on its share of humor that blends nicely with the true story drama and delivers excellent performances from Woody Harrelson, Courtney Love and Edward Norton.
July 23, 2016
I simply didn't care enough about the monstrous person it portrays to have any interest in this well-done movie. An immaculately painted picture of a turd is still a picture of a turd.
July 4, 2016
The biopic that explores how a man broke boundaries to porn and politics in the 1970s and 1980s
June 22, 2016
I had been wanting to see "The People vs. Larry Flynt" for quite a while, and finally saw it a couple of months ago. An interesting, unique film that portrays how Larry Flynt, who founded the erotic Hustler Magazine, was panned down & loathed by just about everybody who were against extreme public nudity & how this all affected his life, the film featured great acting (Woody Harrelson was nominated for the Best Actor Oscar), great direction by Milos Forman (who was nominated for the Best Director Oscar), & neat settings. "The People vs. Larry Flynt" was quite an enjoyable film.
April 27, 2016
"Hilarious, Extraordinary , Inspiring , Fabulous & Astonishing "
April 8, 2016
Here's a great movie that most people have probably forgotten about after 20 years. Woody is fantastic here and the supporting cast is pretty solid as well. Forgot Ed Norton was even in this. Courtney Love gets naked a lot if you're into that sort of thing.
½ February 27, 2016
Interesting and captivating. Harrelson is great.
January 10, 2016
An interesting biopic that told a story I wasn't all too familiar with. Larry Flynt was an unlikely person for me to root for as his personality, values and beliefs are very different than mine. He was also obnoxious and not very likable, but his fight for freedom is something you can respect even if can't stand him or what he does. I found this to be an entertaining and meaningful courtroom drama with great acting, particularly from Woody Harrelson and Edward Norton. (First viewing - In my early twenties)
January 9, 2016
Maratón Milos Forman.
½ December 10, 2015
92%
Watched this on 10/12/15
Black comedy, sarcastically told in this film about one of the strangest historical events depicted in an extremely unorthodox manner about a difficult man at it's center because even after watching all of it, I clearly can't just him for right/wrong. This piece is fabulously directed and has measured performances from Woody Harrelson, Edward Norton and Courtney Love. It certainly feels long and I don't agree with all the opinions of it's protagonist, I don't know what to do if children get their eye on an explicit porn magazine or is it right to ridicule a man by telling that his first intercourse was with his mother. But just as the film so clearly makes it's point, freedom of expression is for everyone and as far as the film is considered, it's not important whether it's right/wrong, all that matters is whether the film is good/bad and here the film is first rate. The film makes it's points in style and no wonder why Oliver Stone produced it after all.
½ December 6, 2015
An interesting (though very obscene) commentary on freedom of speech vs public decency.
November 25, 2015
I enjoyed the courtroom scenes.
November 22, 2015
I dont know why this movie didn't win the best picture in 1997. Simply shows the Oscars are flawed. Woody Harrelson is plain awesome.
½ October 21, 2015
Another fun and captivating biopic from the writers of Ed Wood and Man on the Moon.
Page 1 of 62