Raid on Rommel - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Raid on Rommel Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 13, 2013
Me and my best pal at primary school were obsessed with WWII tales of derring-do and lapped this up one afternoon in the school holidays when it was on telly. Apparantly made for TV originally, it stars typically sour-faced Dick Burton (revisiting the familiar ground of "The Desert Rats") leading the pre-requisite rag-tag team on an attack on Tobruk. In fact, just about all the action shots were nicked from the Rock Hudson movie "Tobruk" from a few years earlier. Despite the obvious shortcomings it has a few memorable bits, lots of (second-hand) explosions and the enviable bonus of a scene with Dick Burton going apes**t with a flame-thrower. And as for the cliffhanging climax; we all love a good old ambiguous ending,don't we?!
½ June 23, 2012
Awful. 70s clothing in a war film the smallest of many continuity errors, poor acting, thin plot.

I've wasted a couple of hours of my life on this dull piece of rubbish.
May 29, 2012
Tuesday, May 29, 2012

(1971) Raid On Rommel

European production starring Richard Burton as commander of a squadron to first help Paton by destroying Rommels gas tanks then escape by breaking through Nazi barriers with battleships entering the desert coast. Some have said this is a cheaper version of Tobruk.

Quite boring and typical of Spaghettti War movies!

2 out of 4
April 8, 2012
A decent ww2 film, but they stole a lot of scenes from a superior film called "Tobruk" with Rock Hudson. Even so there are some amusing scenes here, like the stamp discussion with Rommel and the English doctor.
March 22, 2011
Admittedly, I come at this with a bias, since I can never get into war movies. These two hours I spent watching this were some of the longest of my life. I don't feel like it had anything meaningful to say or enough action to be interesting. The most interesting scenes were the ones with Rommel himself.
December 26, 2010
October 6, 2010
I don't give out rottens very often, and believe me I like Richard Burton in anything, but this movie really stunk up the place as a WWII yarn.

It just had something about it that was poorly done. Maybe it was the direction, the shooting of it. I don't know, I am not in the business of being too precise about why I didn't get a good feel about this film.

Barely worth watching once, if only for Burton's fine acting, but that couldn't save this one, even for me.
April 13, 2010
alot of war fighting scene
½ December 22, 2009
When I saw this I was amazed to see that huge chunks of 'Tobruk' (which is a good film) had been spliced into this one -presumably to cut costs- with all the editing and continuity skills of a learned chimp.

This films sucks so bad.
November 6, 2009
Yet another magnificent piece of WWII film. It is hard not to be impressed by such mega-spectacles. This time, the action takes place in the desert, where Richard Burton‚??s character tries to raid Tobruk (occupied by the Germans). Due to a mix-up, he gets lumbered with an army doctor, a bunch of medics and the troublesome Italian mistress of an Italian general. This set of untrained soldiers soon learn the ropes and are successful in helping Captain Forster (Burton) to deceive Rommel (the stamp collector‚??s trick is wonderful!) and complete the mission. The plot is clear-cut in its entirety, though on the smaller level, I was sometimes a bit confused, wondering what went on exactly. ‚??Raid on Rommel‚?? scores highly on special effects: the pyrotechnics department went out of its way to leave a mark (terrific images of flame-throwers, right into the camera ‚?? and imagine these explosions in the fuel supply area and on the coast). Many war movies (though beautifully made) tend to be more of the same thing, but this one has a memorable line of approach and deserves to be remembered, if only for the great Richard Burton.
½ September 28, 2009
Deliciously, gloriously bad. Completely over the top.
September 8, 2009
Story line was pretty cool and realistic but the actual film making of it.... the action parts where just reruns one after the other....
Super Reviewer
½ March 27, 2009
i wouldnt say it was the best ever war movie i have ever seen or the best ever acting in a war movie i have ever seen

the mission was deadly as ever in a classic type of movie

what didnt help the movie was the fact that in some of the fight scenes the did show the same scene a few times
March 27, 2009
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch..its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie...its got a good cast throughout this movie..i think that richard burton, john colicos, wolfgang preiss play good parts thorughout this movie..its a good war movie 2 watch...i think that the director of this Action & Adventure, Drama movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie...its got a good cast...i think that the fight scenes n the gun shoot outs were pretty kewl throughout this movie,,,its a good movie 2 watch
½ March 27, 2009
Same story as in Tobruk but a bit diferent
February 7, 2009
Not great. Very basic and not the best of storylines.
January 3, 2009
Admittedly, Henry Hathaway's "Raid on Rommel" isn't the masterpiece that Brian Hutton's "Where Eagles Dare" was for Richard Burton, but this low-budget World War II epic about an unlikely British commando unit operating behind Nazi lines in North Africa doesn't qualify as a complete bust. Richard M. Bluel's screenplay is predictable but entertaining for the most part. Sure, better movies about the British North African campaign have been made going back as early as "The Desert Rats of Tobruk" (1944) and then in the 1950s came Hathaway's own "The Desert Fox: The Story of Rommel" (1951), followed by Robert Wise's "The Desert Rats" (1953), Nicholas Ray's "Bitter Victory" (1957), Terence Young's "No Time to Die" (1958), Arthur Hiller's "Tobruk" (1967), and one of the very best and most grim: Andre de Toth's "Play Dirty" (1969). "Raid on Rommel" deserves no Oscars or special recognition of any kind, but it is an amenable way to spend 99 minutes.

Indeed, "Major Payne" producer Harry M. Tatelman plundered the Universal Studios' stock footage archives for all of the exciting action footage from Hiller's "Tobruk" and seamlessly incorporated it into "Raid on Rommel." I would even argue that the action footage fares better here than in Hiller's "Tobruk." "Tobruk" was a "Guns of Navarone" clone with Rock Hudson as a Canadian and George Peppard as a German Jew who fought against the Nazis. Mind you, recycling footage in Hollywood is an age-old, time-honored practice. For example, every low-budget caveman or lost continent movie that came out of Hollywood in the 1950s exploited footage from "One Million B.C."

In "Raid on Rommel," Burton is cast as Captain Alex Foster. British Intelligence riddles a Nazi half-track with machine gun fire and Foster climbs into it and drives off into the desert seemingly oblivious as to his destination. Later, a Nazi convoy ferrying sick P.O.W.s discovers Foster and picks him up. Initially, Major Hugh Tarkington (Clinton Greyn of "Robbery") knows that Foster isn't suffering from heat exhaustion, but he warns him that he wants to know his orders. Foster reveals his mission to Tarkington, only to learn that he has stumbled onto the wrong convoy. Instead of seasoned commandos at his disposal, he has the sick and the injured. Boy, is Foster upset and Tarkington isn't inclined to help him. Eventually, Tarkington changes his mind.

Meanwhile, Foster manages to make something of the men at his disposal thanks largely to Sgt. Maj. Allan MacKenzie (John Colios of "Scorpio") and the British overpower their Nazi captors and disguise themselves as the enemy. Talk about improvising! On their way to Tobruk, Foster and MacKenzie give their men a boot camp in firing mortars and rappelling down ropes by slinging them to the sides of the personnel carriers. Along the way, they pick up a civilian and a beautiful woman and use them as a part of their masquerade. Our valiant heroes enter Tobruk, meet Rommel at his headquarters where Foster learns the whereabouts of a fuel depot, and then they blow everything to hell and gone. The scene at Rommel's headquarters is especially neat because Tarkington gets into a polite argument with a cultured Rommel about collecting postage stamps, thereby giving Foster‚??disguised as a Nazi officer‚??time to study secret German maps.

No, "Raid on Rommel" is not the most historically accurate World War II film by any stretch of the imagination. However, few films produced about historical events are faithful to history. If you see a movie to get the facts straight, you're a misguided soul. Hollywood doesn't specialize in history lessons; movie makers want to entertain us first and then second strive for accuracy. During the last half of the 20th century, all World War II movies contained historically inaccurate equipment. American 'Cold War' army tanks usually masqueraded as Nazi Tiger Tanks and vintage Navy propeller driven fighters doubled for Japanese Zeroes. As far as that goes, most filmmakers ignored the fact that Nazis spoke German and Hitler's madmen uttered their lines with obvious ersatz accents. These problems became conventions largely because American audiences couldn't speak the foreign dialects and subtitles were confined to foreign art films. "Raid on Rommel" contains one of the most obvious conventions of World War II movies that "Catch-22" changed. During one scene, an Allied P-40 Tomahawk fighter attacks the Nazi convoy that Foster has joined. The enemy manages to hit the fighter and it streaks off, pouring smoke, and crashes behind a sand dune with a fireball explosion rolling heavenward to mark its demise. Of course, the producers no more than the owner of that vintage plane were about to destroy it for this inconsequential movie. In "Catch-22," you actually get to see a plane crash nose first into the side of mountain!

Meanwhile, the significance of "Raid on Rommel" is undoubtedly lost on today's audience. In 1951, Hathaway helmed an ahead-of-its-time World War II biography "The Desert Fox" and portrayed Rommel (James Mason) in sympathetic terms. In fact, Hathaway's portrait of Rommel proved too sympathetic and most film critics scourged Twentieth Century Fox for this depiction. A couple of years later to set the record straight, Mason reprised his role as Rommel in "The Desert Rats" and he was not accorded the sympathy that outraged critics in the Hathaway gem. Read the major reviews of "The Desert Fox" in Time, Newsweek, and the New York Times and you will see for yourself that Hathaway stirred up controversy.

Yes, "Raid on Rommel" is a potboiler of sorts, probably memorable to World War II fans more for Hathaway's brief but sympathetic Rommel scene and for‚??according to one Burton biographer‚??Burton's sober performance. He didn't drink a drop while he was acting, but then crusty old Henry Hathaway, who never gave any actor a break, probably kept his eye on the Welshman. The performances are standard and one of the most respected Bavarian actors who specialized in playing German officers‚??Wolfgang Preiss‚??plays Field Marshal Rommel.
August 8, 2008
One of the more under-rated movies of its time .. leaves you cheering the men on!! :-)
½ July 27, 2008
Some scenes from "Tobruk" were spliced into this film and vice versa.
December 6, 2007
Sikkelig krigsfilm!!!
Page 1 of 2