Revenge - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Revenge Reviews

Page 1 of 10
½ November 16, 2018
What a piece of garbage. Softcore porno, Nothing smart about this. Foreshadows end up being a real let down. Wannabe early Daftpunk style soundtrack. Random Creeps, Random Chick. A Hunting trip where the Main Character brings his Toy, while he's planning his Wedding. I don't even "feel" for the protagonist. None of it makes sense. Which is fine, if it was a Movie that intended to not make any sense.
One and a half stars. Why? Because the gore and special effects are pretty good. It's filmed with some decent equipment, so visually, it doesn't look like your buddy made it in his basement.
½ November 4, 2018
This will probably be fun to watch but gees, never saw "The Long Kiss Goodnight", "DESCENT", "ALIEN", "ALIENS", "SALT" and all the other movies with strong women? How about nearly every ghibli movie.
October 25, 2018
Wealthy French guy is goes to Morocco for an annual hunting trip with his unpleasant friends. He arrives a few days early to spend some time in his remote, luxurious house with his young mistress. His buddies show up early, meet his mistress and things go very very poorly. The guys leave her for dead and plan on hunting as if nothing has happened. She is not dead and she is not happy with them. I really like this film. Writer/director Coralie Fargeat is attempting a delicate balance ... it's in many ways a typical rape/revenge flick with brutal violence, but it's noticeably less exploitative without dropping any nudity or extreme violence. The key is that she manages to push all the right buttons without making the rape salacious or even really dwelling on it for very long. It's a pretty unrealistic film where characters survive pretty catastrophic blood loss, but the film signals what the tone is supposed to be pretty clearly, and it's fairly easy to go with the flow. It's by far the best film to feature a peyote-fueled hat beer can wound cauterization scene that you'll ever encounter ... I promise you that.
October 24, 2018
A young, great looking lady is spending time with a snobby fella at his desert house or something. He gets some friends over, they party and the pretty lady eventually gets raped. There are three men in total and as she escapes, they decide to kill her as she can't tell on they're actions. The hunt isn't easy, as Jen is a tough woman - with some amazing survival instincts.

A classic revenge movie theme and one that's very overdone and silly at times. Self operations with beer cans (that apparently leaves no scars), shotguns with scopes and bodies containing way more blood than bodies usually do are some of the things that seem a but stupid for me.

Sure, this is action told in a thriller-ish way with many horror hints. Still, when the girl suddenly has a new hair color it's made pretty clear that plot holes and errors come pretty tight in this one.
It looks fantastic with cool effects, both visually and aurally. It's a blood fest and not for anyone with a weak stomache.

I find it hard to rate as it's a fun and pretty watch, but also so very unrealistic and amazingly enough a bit flat at times - the pace is not very constant. Some moments, some very cool scenes but not the smartest film there is.

5.5 out of 10 saran wraps.
October 24, 2018
Nothing about this movie is even remotely feminist. It depicts rape as something that is "provoked". Instead of the psychological destabilization and other potentially life long traumas that rape has, the women is somehow empowered by it in this movie.
It depicts men as dull, superficial machos and women as dull, superficial bimbos and puts them in a war against each other. That's is pretty much exactly what feminism moves against.

The only good thing about this movie is it's marketing. It cleverly uses the popularized, emotionalized, unscientific version of feminism and commercializes it even further. Our Bimbo unrealistically turns into a super-women-for-revenge after being raped and disposed of and somehow wins an impossible fight against 3 stronger men. Show the reality of it: A live of psychological trauma and a good chance for an involuntary dependency on social security. Not a glorified fucking shotgun-showdown escalating everything.

This yet a again another exploitative movie depicting gender stereotypes in the dullest manner possible, and sending unrealistic and potentially dangerous messages about sexuality.
½ October 23, 2018
In my opinion, the plot does not have any intrigue and from this it seems very simple and predictable. Well, the name itself is already talking about the plot of the film! Boxxy software is a great free movie platform there i will find something else action and more intrigue then this one
October 22, 2018
Su llamativa estilización es el punto de partida para alagar Revenge, mas alla de eso esta un poco basico y trillado su argumento , a mi forma de ver es bastante incoherente como para llegar a aclamarlo ,una injustificada cantidad de sangre es el resultado de esta historia de venganza que se a visto en varias ocaciones.
½ October 21, 2018
10/21/2018
Do not underestimate an animal backed up against a wall, especially one who's unlikely to fight coz it might. These guys learned it the hard way. This movie also did not hold off from gore and violence. For that "entertainment" value, it's up there. Almost Hostel levels, if you ask me.
October 17, 2018
A tribute to the B movie gerne that has a humour and tread the fine line of accetability and outrageousness.
October 16, 2018
A young woman goes on a getaway with her boyfriend. Her boyfriend's associates show up early for their hunting trip and things take a very dark turn. She is raped and they attempt to murder her. And she seeks revenge.
This is such a great genre film. This is a tense, over-the-top action, revenge movie. And it is that all the way. This movie takes the female stereotype and flips it completely on its head and uses it to its full advantage. This led to one of the most badass performances I've seen in a while.
Revenge is very heavy on style but never at the expense of the substance. Tons of symbolism to look for. Also very, very gory. I had to look away. A lot.
This movie is great.
October 15, 2018
Algo típica pero bien llevada. Y bastante bestia.
October 11, 2018
I Spit On Your Grave (1978) and I Spit On Your Grave (2010) are both much better movies than this garbage. If you like this genre, see these movies instead.
½ October 7, 2018
Estupid plot and worst execution
October 7, 2018
Revenge is directed and written by Coralie Fargeat and starring Matilda Anna Ingrid Lutz, Kevin Janssens and Vincent Colombe.

The whole story is about Jen (fearlessly embodied by Matilda Lutz, Rings) is enjoying a romantic getaway with her wealthy boyfriend which is suddenly disrupted when his sleazy friends arrive for an unannounced hunting trip. Tension mounts in the house until the situation abruptly--and viciously--intensifies, culminating in a shocking act that leaves Jen left for dead. Unfortunately for her assailants, Jen survives and reemerges with a relentless, wrathful intent: revenge.

As an hour and 48 minutes movie, the story was fine. It wasn't that shocking or surprising one, I mean if you watched the trailer before watching the movie, you will figure out the whole story.

I went to watch Revenge and I know that it's not gonna be nothing less or more than just a dump movie, but it did surprise me, with its way of vengeance, performances and the places of filming.

OK, the story was really lite, nothing awesome about it, it was just okay. But -and there must be a but- the direction blow the whole thing up, with a terrible soundtrack, the presentation went ridiculous! The first act (the plot) was good, enough as presenting the story and the characters. The second act (the beginning of Jen's transformation) was good as the middle chapter. The third act (the finale) was super-predictable, but still entertaining.

The performances were really good, especially Matilda Lutz, I can't wait to see her having her own action high-budget movie.

The places of filming were really catching, but once again the direction blew the whole thing up.. Coralie Fargeat, please, don't direct any other movie again!

And now, the most over-made thing is the blood, it's not only brutal, it was totally unscientific, and the whole movie is unscientific! Those are the issues I found in Revenge, and the good things too.

I'm gonna give Revenge a B+.

Okay, guys, thank you as always for reading, and please, let me know what do you think about my reviews.
October 6, 2018
I liked the house and that was all I liked.
½ October 5, 2018
Revenge is an okay film if you can tolerate ridiculous things, including but not limited to the following:

- Jen (Matilda Lutz) surviving being impaled on a tree
- Jen burning said tree - but not herself - in order get free
- Jen surviving the elements of the desert without food or water
- Jen running around in the desert barefoot
- Jen's hair randomly changing color
- Jen's transformation from party girl to Rambo
- Death from blood loss not being a thing
- The human body containing literally 100 gallons of blood
- Jen and Richard (Kevin Janssens) chasing each other around the house
for literally 10 minutes

At least the color palette, cinematography, and soundtrack were cool.
October 2, 2018
Revenge is your typical revenge-tale film. The most original thing this film has to offer is how over-the-top the gore is, and while I'm all for that I don't think simply adding more gore to it makes it any better than any other revenge-tale flick. The cinematography is great, and it is awesome to see how Jen keeps herself alive and then goes after the men who tried to kill her, but there are also some very unbelievable moments throughout the story that made me get sucked out of it for a moment or two. And like I said, there's not really anything new here that blew me away. It's not a bad watch, though.
½ September 29, 2018
This movie exceeded my expectations. I thought it was going to be just another rape-revenge movie (which it is) but the music, cinematography, and creative style helped make this fun to watch. Thankfully, they didn't linger on the rape scene and the scene wasn't overly graphic. There were a few silly/unbelievable moments and the pace started to slow near the end, but this movie deserves a solid 3.5/5.
September 24, 2018
I don't think I was properly prepared for this movie. It's really campy but tales itself seriously which causes me to feel all confused inside.
½ September 24, 2018
If this movie was a comedy, I give 2 stars. If this was supposed to be horror/drama, I will no longer follow tomatoes critics review but follow audience reviews even if I have no idea what half of them were watching giving it a 3 stars up. Pure waste of time 1/2
Page 1 of 10