Searching - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Searching Reviews

September 1, 2018
Searching is a taut, effectively paced mystery-thriller with a powerful emotional component.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 31, 2018
Cho, Messing, and La are excellent actors who are offered almost nothing to work with.
August 30, 2018
The suspense is satisfactory; the pace is well-sustained. What really clicks, though, is the message: We leave digital bread crumbs everywhere we go, and if our secrets are not safe, neither are we.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 30, 2018
That a thriller would come along utilizing these ideas was inevitable. What's unexpected is that it would be done so well.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 30, 2018
A well-crafted mystery with quite a few unexpected twists and turns.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 30, 2018
It has enough twists, turns, red herrings, chills and surprises to jangle the steadiest nerves, compelling characters and an unexpected degree of emotional power.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 29, 2018
"Searching," a pleasantly gimmicky movie, gets its power from something that isn't a gimmick at all: an actor's ability to simply and movingly tell a story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 29, 2018
"Searching" is like a refreshed web page, a new take on something woefully familiar.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 29, 2018
[A] clever but silicon-chip-thin movie...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 27, 2018
In its most inventive moments, it almost feels like a new way of storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 27, 2018
First-time filmmaker Aneesh Chaganty (a former Google employee, appropriately) is a resourceful man, and a very clever one; he nearly aces his high-wire conceit to the end.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 24, 2018
The film does take a few too many turns on its journey. The end feels rushed, outlandish and possibly even reshot
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 24, 2018
A clever update on a housebound Hitchcock thriller like Rear Window, one that can make a series of Google searches play out like a high-wire action scene.
August 24, 2018
If you're looking for a fresh take on the thriller genre, I highly suggest you check this one out.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 24, 2018
There's a clear understanding of and respect for the essentials of good storytelling: fully developed characters, a strong narrative and a sense of purpose.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 24, 2018
It aims for and earns genuine emotion rather than cheap thrills.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 23, 2018
With the exception of visually artificial broadcast news videos in the third act, the execution in Searching is an anomaly in its inventiveness to find solutions that can keep us engaged in spite of the claustrophobic set-up.
August 23, 2018
This may be the first feature written and directed by Aneesh Chaganty, a 27-year-old Bay Area native and former Google employee, but the intricacy of his visual design is matched by a talent for old-fashioned suspense filmmaking.
August 23, 2018
Director Aneesh Chaganty builds a high-voltage thriller told through smartphones, laptop screens, browser windows and surveillance footage. The film is a technical marvel with a beating heart, which makes all the difference.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 23, 2018
The combination of clever concept reflecting the prevalence of screens in everyday life, and the pleasure of watching a typically underused Mr. Cho take on a meaty lead role make "Searching" a satisfying psychological thriller.
Top Critic
August 23, 2018
Co-writers Chaganty and Sev Ohanian carefully construct a twisty whodunit that flirts with the lurid but ultimately remains grounded in suburban reality.
August 23, 2018
The movie might work better if the psychological puzzle tucked inside it were more engaging or surprising. But as the pieces fall into place, in a clunky resolution, the story turns as flat as the screens that contain it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 22, 2018
Strip away the tech trappings and you'll find the same propulsive joys that powered '90s thrillers like 'Presumed Innocent' and 'The Fugitive'.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 20, 2018
As a thriller, Searching is both ruthlessly absorbing in the moment and relatively disposable as soon as it ends, sliding itself gracefully into the desktop recycling bin.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 28, 2018
An original blast of a film. "Searching" heartily implies we instinctively know our dearest family members better than we give ourselves credit for, even when the evidence insists otherwise.
January 31, 2018
Displays the type of roller coaster experience that can be achieved from crafty writing and a canvas as simple as a blank screen.
January 29, 2018
Search doesn't require any further narrative tricks to prove Chagnaty's ability to use seemingly huge constraints to weave a unique film, one that maintains a near-perfect connect with its audience.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 29, 2018
None of this would matter if we didn't care about the characters, and in "Search," [Aneesh] Chaganty has found a new idiom for communicating not only the things we share, but also those we keep hidden from the ones we love.
January 25, 2018
In all respects, what Chaganty and his team have pulled off here is something both novel and accomplished.