Shame - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shame Reviews

Page 1 of 155
February 14, 2017
I was half-expecting a puritanical parable about the tragedy of our modern sex-obsessed culture (it's more common than you'd think, even in arthouse), so I may be overrating it just because it was more morally ambiguous than that (which, duh). It was good though, despite some clunky aspects. Like I get what they were trying to say with the gay club scene, but it's easily misread as aggressive gay panic at the very least. Not as good as Hunger, but what is?
½ February 6, 2017
2 1/2 ud af 5 møbelbankere. Filmen er skamrost, måske fordi den byder på en del flot filmet (afholds)porno, men er i bund og grund dybt kedelig. Fassbender spller en liderbuk med følelsesproblemer, hvis velordnede tilværelse går i spåner, da hans neurotiske søster bliver nassegæst på ubestemt tid. Dét er handlingen (eller hvad man nu skal kalde det). Jeg havde håbet på incest med flotte nærbilleder af Fassbender og og Mulligan, men nej. Nul søskendesex. Så hvad meningen med filmen egentlig er, svæver i det uvisse.
½ January 31, 2017
Shame is a provocative and powerful film that explores the life of a man tortured by addiction, sorrow, and self-abuse. It draws a line between sex and pleasure, and the differences between the two. The directing and cinematography just pull you in, and are absolutely beautiful. Most of all, the film is held together by extremely powerful portrayals of the main characters by Michael Fassbender, who bares all, and Michelle Williams as his equally depressed and vunerable sister. It's a slow moving film, but not in a bad way. The film, like all of Steve McQueen's work is pure art and masterfully done. I was sucked in and couldn't keep my eyes off the screen for a second.
9.5/10
½ January 18, 2017
This film is beautiful and powerful in terms of cinematography. Every image submerges you deeper into the character development in a way that is harsh and all too real. You feel the addiction. You feel what it is to become numb. You are sucked into the desperation of each character. This film provides a realistic glimpse into a frame of mind more people need to understand.
½ December 13, 2016
Fassbender truly brings out the carnal human desires people may have but acts on it. Great directing and overall keeps you guessing what's this guy doing next and does it get any more shameful.
December 8, 2016
A ground breaking masterpiece that is done perfectly.
November 28, 2016
We all have our vices, our obsessions, and sometimes our addictions to aid us in the grappling with both the world and our psyches. But the protagonist of Steve McQueen's metallic, detached "Shame" (2011) has an unhealthy dependency that's beginning to take over his life. A sex addict unable to go a night without a lay nor a working day without a lunch break supplemented by a porno, he is without much of a life and without much of a sense of self: he only has a sex life and a capable body, everything meaningless unless surrounded by sheets and in the company of a willing woman.
In his past might have Brandon (Michael Fassbender) been a skirt chaser who found a certain sort of manic glee in his enviable ability to seduce the opposite sex. But now past his thrilling twenties and in the grips of a corporate job that's become flatly routine, being a deadened Don Juan is all he has - mixed with emotional damage we'd be safe to assume is the product of a mangled upbringing, he helplessly finds himself incapable of feeling anything unless it revolves around sex.
And so the bombastic crashing in of his damaged sister Sissy (Carey Mulligan) at his steely New York apartment only heightens the war he's having with himself. More so emotionally scarred then Brandon is - she has a history of cutting and uses an obnoxious facade to cover up her perennial hurt - Sissy's presence forces Brandon to come to terms with what he's become. For the first time in years is his compassion necessary, and for once is there a woman in his life than he cannot abuse and lose.
But unlike most addiction dramas is there never a moment wherein the afflicted protagonist necessarily comes to terms with their dependency. "Shame" is a character study of such understated disconcertion that, maybe even like a Cronenberg body horror feature, its coldness is both a virtue and a setback. A virtue in its seamless paralleling of Brandon's own incapability to feel but a setback in its divisive way of keeping us at as much an arm's length as the women the latter gives himself to and then immediately lets go of.
Clear is that McQueen wants to craft a drama that lines its atmosphere up with its lead's disconnected view of the world, and in that regard is his co-writing and directing spotless and unnervingly perceptive. But "Shame" is such a comprehensively unhappy movie that I couldn't help but distance myself from it for the duration of my viewing - it's impossible, anyway, to get close to it, to try to understand Brandon and Sissy as much as we'd like. That aloofness, of course, is meticulously calculated. But sometimes "Shame" miserably sits in front of us instead of coming alive - it is a plateau of gloom, never to be cleansed by necessary catharsis.
An internal battle deciding whether the movie's deleteriously unapproachable or masterfully observant and knowing of tone overwhelms me, but no hesitation plagues me in the praising of Fassbender and Mulligan. The film finds imperious actors at the top of their game, with Fassbender playing empty with heartbreaking clarity and with Mulligan portraying emotional despondency with the distress of a cat clinging to the skinny branch of a tree that's inevitably going to give. Additionally is James Badge Dale, as Brandon's misogynistic, self-centered boss, all too convincingly narcissistic, and additionally is Nicole Beharie, as the love interest Brandon wishes he had but can't commit himself to, unmistakably tangible.
Perhaps "Shame" is the kind of movie that initially baffles me but eventually comes to be lasting in the mind, akin to my experiences with "The Unbearable Lightness of Being" (1986) and "Midnight Cowboy" (1969). But for now do I figure it to be uninviting and psychologically demanding, flawlessly conceived if a bit hollow. With the performances excellent, though, there's no mistaking it as anything but a character study that rings with an all too rare credibility.
½ November 21, 2016
This movie doesn't make you feel anything !
½ November 20, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: There's certainly no doubt that this film contains some excellent performances and bags of well considered characterisation...
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It may also however, be the slowest moving film I've ever seen. It's rare that I get this bored or dissengaged, but you get so long to just sit and think about the not-much-that's-happened, that you find yourself bored senseless. Don't get me wrong, I love a good character study, but the best way to understand them isn't just to deliver endless (albeit brilliant) shots of them looking miserable; it's to actually test them.
VERDICT: When it's this slow, all the great actors and Fasabender-frowns in the world can't save it. What a devestatingly numb experience.
October 27, 2016
Stunning direction, it gave me the chills, Fassbender's performances is one of the greatest he has ever don, it's a really disturbing look of what sex and addiction is, but I can't help but love it.
October 15, 2016
A strange one glad I saw it but wouldn't watch with friends.
½ October 8, 2016
Much like Brandon's life; because of the movie's lack of character development with its main character and no real focus between either concentrating on Brandon's relationship with his sister or his sexual addiction, the movie gives a very empty expierance by the end of it all but an expierance I recommend seeing, if your into these kind of movies.
½ October 3, 2016
A wannabe art film, but really a depressing porno flick instead. Way too much of Michael's "Fassbender" if you know what I mean. Nice to see Carey Mulligan taking some chances in her movie roles, but this one was too exaggerated a film to carry any weight. It's simply about a sex addict and his woe-is-me life. It's a "Shame" I wasted my time watching this.
½ September 26, 2016
Intense, shocking, intesresting...
½ September 26, 2016
Michael Fassbender gives nothing short of a committed performance in this woeful, uncomfortable, and frankly graphic character study.
September 25, 2016
A very powerful film about a reasonably new talked about addiction ( sex addiction ).
Michel fassbender is amazing as usual, he never seems to disappoint. Steve McQueen has created something close to a master piece in my eyes, modern movie art , a must see for film Enthusiasts !
September 24, 2016
A powerful film about a man who refuses to commit to a relationship can be a bit risqué. But in the hands of Steve McQueen (III) it becomes a highly original, touching, thought provoking, and at times depressing, movie. I loved this film and I recommend it to anyone.
½ September 15, 2016
IMO: An intimate look at a man's sexual life. Shame? v Shame! v Life. Is it intentionally judgmental or thought provoking.
September 8, 2016
what the hell was this crap
½ August 19, 2016
This was an interesting movie that had some good acting.
Sex addict whose unstable sister shows up for a visit.
Lots of nudity, especially from Fassbender.
Page 1 of 155