She Hate Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

She Hate Me Reviews

September 3, 2004
Succeeds in finding something to offend almost everybody.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
September 3, 2004
A misshapen and sometimes sorry affair that aims for satire, without always being clear about what it's attempting to satirize.
Read More | Original Score: C-
September 3, 2004
[Lee's] most muddled message movie to date.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 28, 2004
Lee presumably had two ideas, one an exposé of pharmaceutical greed, the other a sex comedy: then he decided that neither one would make a film in itself and came up with the lame idea of combining them.
August 26, 2004
Two movies mashed together.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 20, 2004
Spike Lee's She Hate Me is about as awful as a film can be without being the ultimate awful, which is boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 20, 2004
Scattered, clumsily ambitious, sexist, amateurish and just plain dumb, She Hate Me is a bad film, most likely the worst film Spike Lee has ever made.
Read More | Original Score: F
August 20, 2004
Might qualify as the most misguided, ill-conceived and lamentable film of [Lee's] career.
August 20, 2004
Nothing in the film rings remotely true.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 20, 2004
Sheer agony to sit through.
August 20, 2004
It's not only unfathomable and borderline offensive, it's never-ending, leaving its bewildered and battered audience in the dark for well over two hours.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 19, 2004
Finally, a movie that can vie with Gigli as the worst feature of the new millennium.
Read More | Original Score: F
August 19, 2004
Maddening, invigorating, ridiculous, hilarious and messier than a rack of ribs without a napkin.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 19, 2004
It's a muddled, overlong, politically incorrect satire that goes wrong in so many ways it's hard to know where to begin dismantling the thing.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 19, 2004
I will not say that I liked it. I will say that like Bamboozled, it exasperates and resonates.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2004
Within its messy framework there's a lot to like about She Hate Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 13, 2004
Lee should know better -- he's too talented to be serving up this kind of silliness, and so are his actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 13, 2004
Easily Lee's most disorganized movie, She Hate Me is also one of the most preposterous efforts by any major director in recent memory.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 7, 2004
Lee, who always has an agenda, is fundamentally unsuited to satire, which has no sides, no friends, no agenda.
August 6, 2004
For all his irreverence, Lee still seems uncertain how to convey deep, adult feeling without seeming obligated to feel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 6, 2004
She Hate Me invites anger and analysis about the stereotypes it appears to celebrate; a film that attacked those stereotypes would inspire yawns.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 5, 2004
Fun to watch and fun to think about later; it's chockful of provocative statements about corporate morality, sexual hypocrisy and what's wrong about both today.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 2, 2004
... may be the worst movie of the year.
August 1, 2004
The mélange of plots, subplots, reveries, gags, cartoons, dirty bits, and hissy fits points to a work that is structurally modelled less on the classic narratives of cinema than on, say, a portion of Russian salad.
July 28, 2004
Targets 'the decline of ethics ... from the boardroom to the bedroom,' and misses on both fronts.
July 28, 2004
This 140-minute I-don't-know- what-it-is unravels like a ball of yarn after a bout with a tiger on Colombian catnip.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 28, 2004
When a Spike Lee film doesn't fly, it sinks like a stone. This one is Gibraltar.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 28, 2004
At 2 1/2 hours running time, you get more than you bargained for in sheer befuddlement.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 28, 2004
It seems as if She Hate Me is two different stories spliced together, with cross-purposed tones and topics.
July 28, 2004
May not be subtle or disciplined, but it is funny as hell.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 28, 2004
It's quite a paradox that someone so acutely attuned to racism would so enthusiastically embrace the worst clichés of homophobia and misogyny.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 28, 2004
When it comes to social issues, Lee is fiercely, admirably activist, but when it comes to sex, he plays into stereotypes and myths that are all the more easily reinforced because they occur in a raucously comic context.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 28, 2004
Manages to be at once racist, homophobic, utterly fake, and unbearably tedious.
Full Review | Original Score: F
July 28, 2004
Lee carries his political exasperation beyond outrage into chaos.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 27, 2004
More often than not, the sheer originality and ambition of the project carry pic, which is further bolstered by its superb ensemble cast.
July 27, 2004
Ankle-chained to the ball of Jack's depression, She Hate Me lurches from cartoonish didacticism to glum slapstick.
July 27, 2004
A mixed bag, but at least it's interesting and almost never boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 26, 2004
How can a director as savvy as Lee make so many errors of judgment regarding taste, tone, intention and dramatic structure?