She-Devil - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

She-Devil Reviews

Page 1 of 25
½ May 7, 2016
Housewife seeks revenge in this idiotic comedy.
May 5, 2016
It wasn't to bad had some funny to it and for a movie from 1989 not to bad at all enjoyed it
January 17, 2016
Personally, I love this movie! Sure it's no blockbuster, but I was always a fan of Roseanne, and Meryl Streep's character Mary has some funny lines! "CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE GET THE GOD DAMN DOOR?????" has me in stitches! A lot of people will pass by this movie and make a fat joke about Roseanne, which shows THEIR amount of classiness (no, I don't have a porn fetish for bigger women...). Anyways, give this movie a shot! It has that "Saturday Afternoon FOX, UPN or CW syndication" feel to it, so it's a nice way to kill a few hours!
January 16, 2016
Not the fun, edgy 80's comedy I was hoping for, seeing as Roseanne was in this movie. It might have been a great movie had her voice and sense of humor been present in thsi! Another wasteful use of Meryl Streep's skills ('Death Becomes Her' anyone?). After a while, I just started skipping scenes and fast-forwarding. It got rather tired after the first and half acts. The movie seems to lose focus after a while, thus making the personal revenge story of Roseanne's character seem kind of meaningless. I will say though, the ending was nice. How the characters turned out in the end was a bit refreshing. I was expecting it to be a giant man-hating revenge fest, but turns it around a bit. But none of that really matters, because this isn't really a good movie. When I was a kid, I remember seeing the VHS box art; a striking image of Roseanne standing behind Streep and Begley Jr., with fire surrounding them. As a kid, I thought Roseanne was some kind of devil-angel or witch character. That image stuck with me to this day. I was disappointed to see there wasn't any fantasy elements in this movie. That might have helped!
October 9, 2015
Director Susan Seidelman had a string of excellent quirky comedies under her belt with "Desperately Seeking Susan," "Making Mr. Right" and "Cookie" before she made this dull comedy, which may have sadly ended her career. I looked at her IMDB page and she's still working but hasn't had a major film since this film. "She-Devil" isn't a terrible film, but it's not a particularly engaging one. Roseanne Barr plays a ordinary housewife who's husband, Ed Begley Jr., leaves her for the glamorous romance novelist played by Meryl Streep. Streep hasn't done many comedies, but when she does she's awfully good and she very nearly saves this film. However, this film is mostly just a dull snooze.
September 17, 2015
Pairing up revolutionary actress Meryl Streep with comedy legend Rosanne Barr, She-Devil sounded like a hilarious combination of two of the world's finest female celebrities

I can't say that I expected all that much from a film like She-Devil, I simply had my hopes that the central two actresses would deliver effective comedic results with strong performances. Unfortunately, I forgot about the idea that they would need sufficient material to sustain them because I expected too much from them.
The plot in She-Devil is a familiar revenge tale. Set in a context where the main character is on a quest for revenge against her adulterous ex-husband, it feels like the material should be a lot funnier than it actually is. But working against the potential of the film to have a legitimately satirical edge, the tone of She-Devil is rather strange. The premise itself is a rather bleak one and the film embraces this at some moments with a use of melodrama, but it also adheres to a conventional sitcom style of delivery much of the time. In that sense the film inconsistently oscillates between being lighthearted one second and dark the next, and the fact that the overall narrative causes a conflict between two moods essentially disjoints the film. The musical score can hardly choose which of these to subscribe to either, even though it is all composed very nicely. Oddly enough, this is actually the only one technical aspect of She-Devil which actually does any good for the film.
The production values feel like that of a TV movie. Aside from the aforementioned musical score, the overall style of the film feels rather cheap. Clearly a low-budget film, She-Devil takes place in a very small collection of settings with a touch of repetition and occasionally cheap green-screen effects. There is certainly no sense of life that comes from the visual experience of the film for many reasons. Most notably, the cinematography fails to do any justice to the cast because though the extended shots show the way that the actors have worked their material out extensively, the angles are too simplistic to bring any imagery into the film. For one thing, the camera never emphasizes the facial expressions of the characters and instead keeps audiences at a distance from them which ultimately prevents the results from reaching greater potential. And considering that She-Devil boasts the presence of critically acclaimed actress Meryl Streep in a major role, it just goes to show that director Susan Seidelman takes her for granted through shoddy character treatment.
The two main female characters are both victims and criminals. One is a suffering housewife who takes out an extensive revenge scheme on the woman who stole her husband, while the other is the woman herself who becomes the victim of it all while the baggage of the husband she stole is dumped on her. Either way, both characters are guilty and are pitted against each other as a result of a cheating husband who is the one true villain of the story. It leaves me unsure who to sympathize for because they are essentially both victims and perpetrators, yet the overtly thin nature of the script fails to breathe any innovative life into the efforts of the cast.
And ultimately, She-Devil ends on a note where little has happened. Because the story spends so much time building up a revenge scheme, it ultimately has a very simplistic ending. Without developing the story pretty much anywhere, it ends just short of what is usually the midpoint of a sensible narrative. In that sense, She-Devil ultimately feels like an extended trailer for a movie that never happened. This left the experience rather pointless, and the fact that I didn't find myself laughing along the way meant that She-Devil failed to appeal to me either as a comedy or a genuine narrative piece. In that regard, the film just failed as a whole.
But I will admit that the novelty of the cast members had some slight gimmicks to it.
Having long been a fan of Rosanne Barr for her work on the sitcom Roseanne, the idea of seeing her on the cinematic screen certainly appealed to me. Unfortunately, the material is clearly not up to her standard. The film attempts to find more humour in its ridiculous plot than in the genuine antics of Rosanne Barr which just goes to show that the feature is a wasted opportunity. Although the woman's natural persona has a certain level of appeal to me as a fan, I just found that I was never laughing about anything she did in this movie.
Meryl Streep doesn't necessarily offer innovation either. As Rosanne Barr is the star of She-Devil, Meryl Streep is reduced to playing second fiddle to a comedian this time, even though she is given the arguably funnier character. The presence of Meryl Streep elevates She-Devil beyond being an overly simplistic comedy feature simply because her presence is a novelty. Meryl Streep approaches her role like she's on a soap opera, combining over the top physical actions with a tone of voice which never breaks past its one-dimensional nature. Because of that, her restrained attitude adds a sense of intentional artificiality to the character and embodies the stereotype of a hollow novelist for an esoteric and libido-driven audience. She has some ridiculously over the top moments which are a nice contrast to the more subtle persona as well, so there are certainly some spirited charms about her.
Ed Begley Jr. is convincing in his part, but he is stuck with a repetitive and unlikable character which provides no boost to his credibility in the end.

So She-Devil does have a talented duo of lead actresses as its gimmick, but the underdeveloped story is as weak as the TV movie production values which ultimately leads to a comedy film short on both laughs and intelligent thought, failing to utilize two incredibly acclaimed actresses.
April 18, 2015
This had to be the movie Roseann was meant to play......wicked enough for a one time watch.
½ March 22, 2015
Hell Have No Fury Like The Woman Scorned. Roseanne Definitely Fits This Role Well, Great Scowl & Aloof Sarcasm Works Perfectly. Howard Shore Gives A Dull Script Enough Energy To Keep It Reasonably Entertaining.
January 24, 2015
Film hecho para el lucimiento de Roseanne Barr, igual es opacada por la Streep.
½ January 19, 2015
Lightweight, only sporadically funny, and lacking the vital feminist satire of its source material, "She-Devil" is largely forgettable aside from Streep's campy performance.
½ January 11, 2015
An engaging and entertaining dark comedy about the joys of revenge with Roseanne Barr, in her feature film debut, and Edgar Begley, Jr. relishing their respective roles. It is, however, Meryl Streep who's a sheer delight here, demonstrating that the film's success rests on its performers more so than the screenplay and adequate direction.

Based on Fay Weldon's novel 'The Life and Loves of a She-Devil', which had previously been made into a British mini-series in 1983.
½ November 11, 2014
streep vs. barr= funny hijinx
August 16, 2014
(First and only viewing - In my early twenties)
April 30, 2014
Its dumb but its witty enough to keep you slightly entertained.
January 1, 2014
Weird movie. Nice quirky soundtrack doh.
½ September 14, 2013
one of those guilty pleasure movies. so funny and like how fiesty roseanne is. first time i ever watched this i thought seemed like an odd fit for meryl streep b/c she does such serious roles but somehow it works with her as an uptight pretentious rich socialite that you cant stand haha. if you are looking for a breezy comedy then definitely recommend it.
August 30, 2013
So bad it's good! Has some pretty cheap special effects. You get to see Roseanne go from mole to no mole. Meryl Streep use her middle finger to push up her glasses in order to flip off! This movie is pure entertainment in a bad way!
August 27, 2013
It's Meryl Streep and Roseanne fighting over Ed Begley Jr.
June 1, 2013
Funny movie. Shows you never mess with a Woman and her family Lol
Page 1 of 25