Sleepless - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sleepless Reviews

Page 1 of 13
May 23, 2017
Super predictable, but fun to watch nonetheless
½ May 22, 2017
It's a cool low budget film it has potential to be a good film if more money was put in this film
May 20, 2017
**CONTAINS SPOILERS** (Even though it doesn't matter with this frighteningly fecal-like film whose "Twists" should be called "Smooth Flats")

Action...THRILLS....EXCITING GUNFIGHTS....this film doesn't have these things although it will attempt to lure you in that way. If you enjoy a film with massive clichés, boring fight sequences and not-at-all scary bad guys than this is your lucky day! But your time would be better spent cutting your lawn with dull toenail clippers! I wish there were more ways that I could disparage this thing because 90 of the 95 minutes I spent thinking, "Oh yeah, it's about to get good now!!" Yeah, it didn't. Jaime Foxx (Vincent Downs) was stabbed in the ribs and had his son kidnapped very, very early on; we're talking maybe 15 mins in. This happens after he steals the wrong guy's 25 kilos of cocaine. He spends the next 80 plus minutes running at full speed, fighting (and even throwing) multiple people, more running and jumping, then he ran and fought a bit. Meanwhile he's being chased by Michelle Monaghan (Jennifer Bryant) because she now knows he's a dirty cop. But what's this? He's undercover?! The only cop in the precinct dressed like he's G'd up from the feet up is undercover? That almost got passed me. Now he's in a fight between a Vegas hotel owner, an outside gangster and....you know what? Just never mind...it's garbage and I'm done talking about it. Hopefully the podcast "How Did This Get Made?" will feature this film soon! Where's my nail clippers?
½ May 20, 2017
Another craptacular film I wasted my day on.
½ May 20, 2017
A formulaic action thriller with a weak plot, cliché characters and an inconsistent quality in the acting. Some of the action scenes are ok, but the film takes a number of daft turns toward the end. Nothing special or original, but entertaining enough.
½ May 20, 2017
Somewhat simple in story but the thrills are intense.
½ May 20, 2017
One of the stupidest plots of all time. Watched the trailer and thought it looked great. Unfortunately completely ridiculous.
May 19, 2017
Damnnn these CRITICS are DUMB!!!
Better than Bond. Better than Taken. My favorite non-stop adrenaline pumping amazing f**** action movie I've seen since XXX. 5 stars!!!
May 19, 2017
Loved the movie can't believe some of the reviews even from the so called critics did they even watch the whole movie and pay attention while watching?
½ May 19, 2017
it was action packed. it was pretty much taken. but with different actors.
½ May 19, 2017
It was supposed to be an easy grab. But they got T.
½ May 18, 2017
Cliched but never boring. Trashy fun.
May 17, 2017
Sleepless is a better than expected for a redundant crime action movie that has an overused plot, decent acting, and some mediocre action. Definitely not a great movie. But if you need some escapism for some spare the moment action, this film is it. Sure, there are many police crime drama movies that involve corruption, drug deals, and kidnapping. The plot is cliché and boring. There are a couple of twists and turns. But nothing great to even talk about.

The plot follows Las Vegas policeman Vincent (Jamie Foxx) and his partner Sean (T.I.) stealing cocaine from Stanley (Dermot Mulroney) who runs a casino. Stanley is supposed to deliver the drugs to the mob boss's son Rob (Scoot McNairy). Vincent is trying to avoid the internal affairs led by Jennifer (Michelle Monaghan) and her partner Doug (David Harbour) from investigating about the cocaine robbery. While Stanley sends his man to go kidnap Vincent's son and hold for ransom until he can give him his drugs back before the mob boss son arrives.

The plot was all over the place using the same predictable ideas with characters being undercover, some dirty cops that work for the mob boss, a shady casino owner, and a father who is struggling on a healthy relationship with his family. As the teen son is distant and his ex wife who is supposedly engaged to another. The movie is kept into fast paced gear when Vincent's son is kidnapped and he is running around the casino fighting Stanley's goons and running away. All this can be repetitive which makes the movie kind of dumb. Vincent and his son trying to escape, but gets caught up with fighting a guy in the kitchen. Escapes again, and trying to hide in the crowd at the club. Bad guy captures son again and it goes for a repeat. Its nevertheless boring. It has some decent fight sequences and an okay underground garage shootout.

The editing and directing could have been better. Editing the scenes with the fight sequences were quick cuts. The script was cliché with a predictable plot. Easily pointing out whom the dirty cop is when they show up on screen and they are not revealed until the last act of the movie.

Jamie Foxx gave a flat tedious performance. Can't say he is a great actor either. Must be an easy cash grab for this movie. Michelle Monaghan was decent at least. Dermot Mulroney was dull as the shady casino owner. David Harbour did not have much to work with in the script. T.I. had a minimum amount of screen time but was also a flat performance. Same with Gabrielle Union and her stale performance. Scoot McNairy was at least at his best, playing an entrepreneur for his father's organization and at times menacing.

Overall, Sleepless is a fair action crime film that has some cheap poorly edited action in a dull plot and boring performances. I ll recommend the film as a rental, if your looking for some cheap action movie.
½ May 17, 2017
Passable enough for a B action movie.
½ May 17, 2017
These actors should know better than this. This is about a police officer (Jamie Foxx). If he is dirty or just undercover remains a mystery, but he must do whatever it takes to recover his kidnapped son (Octavius J. Johnson) from some unsavory types trying to recoup their narcotics, all while he is being investigated by internal affairs. Apparently this is based off a French movie that I've never seen, which means this might have had a chance... but this was one of the very first releases of the year 2017. That is almost always not a good sign, and I'm just going to cut to the chase: while there are some somewhat big name actors in Sleepless, this is on par with movies that should have been swept straight to video without a theatrical release. Now I actually do like the majority of the actors here, although T.I. looks way too excited to be featured in a Jamie Foxx movie. I have always had a soft spot for Michelle Monaghan, even though her career never launched the way that it should have. Scoot McNairy is an underrated actor with chops, and I thought he was exactly what the premier of the third season of Fargo needed. I loved David Harbour on Stranger Things, and both Gabrielle Union and Jamie Foxx have proven themselves in prior projects. The problem is that they are all only given one thing to do, and none of them are written to have an ounce of personality. I know actors can breathe leave life into a lesser project, but sometimes there is only so much you can do. I am fairly confident everybody involved in this knew that they were just collecting a paycheck with Sleepless. This really is action movie template number 3, and there is nothing about this that anybody is going to remember a week after watching. In a word, it's generic, and it is not worthy of your time. It didn't make me angry, but I do have to deduct additional points for them having the gall to leave the door open for a potential sequel. I think everybody in this was well aware that this was a turkey, and cutting that tacked on ending could have just shaved 3 minutes off the runtime.
May 17, 2017
Jamie Foxx stars in this predictable Die Hard/Taken/Snake Eyes hybrid
May 15, 2017
Could've would've should've been darker instead of aiming for mass market audience.
May 12, 2017
Better then I expected, but not a blockbuster, would watch the sequel
May 10, 2017
not bad . lots of action, twists, turns and drama. quite predictable but good nonetheless.
Page 1 of 13