Soylent Green - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Soylent Green Reviews

Page 1 of 94
October 16, 2016
Saw this on 15/10/16
Richard Fleischer's Soylent green is a sensible sci-fi film considering the time of its release. Edward G Robinson and Charles Heston do justice to their roles. The film manages to hold some twists in its bargain and still seem thought provoking.
½ October 16, 2016
Every sci-fi nerd on the planet probably knows the punchline to this one, whether they've seen it or not, but even going in knowing that, it provides a pretty interesting cli-fi noir that was clearly rather ahead of its time in terms of ideas... which is horrifying. Sure it's outdated and a bit muddy and flat, but interesting nonetheless.
Super Reviewer
½ August 1, 2016
The greenish cinematography and '70s visuals for a futurist dystopia look terribly dated today, and even if the film has an interesting idea and a beautiful death scene, Fleischer's direction (more focused on the procedural and the action) makes it look silly and unimaginative.
June 23, 2016
Ostensibly a documentary about Monsanto!
June 15, 2016
2022 and Earth is in dire condition. Natural resources have been exhausted and food is largely provided by Soylent, a company that makes packaged meals from plankton. Against this backdrop we meet Detective Thorn (Charlton Heston), a police homicide detective. His latest case is the murder of William R Simonson, an executive at Soylent.

Original, clever, ahead-of-its-time thriller. Great plot, well directed. Charlton Heston rises above his usual wooden acting to put in a good performance. Best performance on show, however, is from Edward G Robinson, as Sol.

It is amazing the environmental picture this movie paints, as it was made in 1973, before anyone worried about global warming etc. It is starting to look fairly accurate, unfortunately.
May 20, 2016
Forty plus years later, and we're still very close to something like this happening.
½ May 4, 2016
Think what Stanley Kubrick could have concocted from the same raw material. Richard Fleischer only occasionally produces fireworks here, lumbered (sic) as he is by another stiff performance from a miscast Charlton Heston. The themes: overpopulation, climate change, fast food, recycling - are even more urgent today and it's only the wonderful Edward G. Robinson who gets close to articulating them.
½ April 28, 2016
Surprisingly enough, i loved this film. It's by no means flawless, or a masterpiece, but i thought it was a revolutionary look into the future (watching it from a 70's standpoint), with some very interesting ideas, and a bit of social commentary.
'Soylent Green' portrays a dystopic future for mankind where overpopulation has created shortages of food and other commodities. In this bleak future we follow the lives of two unlikely roommates: of the young and ambitious Detective Thorn (Charlton Heston) who wants to solve a homicide and of the aged and intellectual Sol Roth (Edward G. Robinson) who is spending time in the libraries trying to decipher long-gone knowledge and practices that have become obsolete in the new conditions.
It turns out that both men discover the same truth, truth that nobody suspects and is well concealed under a totalitarian-like regime where people's protests are violently suppressed and the 'rich' or the 'people of power' live in the upper-floor luxurious high-rise apartments.
Despite being a bit simplistic in its depiction of the society, 'Soylent Green' possesses a powerful imagery that stays with you. It also works well as a conventional adventure film.
April 27, 2016
Awesome flick. Predictive of global warming, with a potential solution.
April 14, 2016
A product of its time with solid performances, especially by the late Edward G. Robinson.
April 10, 2016
Overpopulated, overpolluted, a visionary 1973 film of what is happening nowadays.
½ March 24, 2016
Malthusian futuristic film where greenhouse effect and overpopulation has ravaged society and the food supply. Has Chuck Heston and all the bells and whistles of a big studio effort but still lacking with too many elements that feel dated.
March 1, 2016
Although there is a clever world created in Soylent Green and a smart story with a successfully developed sinister, dark and creepy veil, all with spot on cinematography and sets; the film I watched isn?t particularly enjoyable or exciting. Yes, Heston does a good job as Detective Thorn, who is an apt vehicle for the narrative, but many other performances are overblown, and some characters simply don?t add anything to the film, other than small developments of the sinister feeling, which is one of the few things this film got totally right. It?s too slow moving, and there is not enough action, or a good use of music or sounds, which the film would have benefited from. Also, though there is a smart story at the heart of it, it is not used to its full potential and is regrettably a little predictable.

It?s a decent film, but not one I?ll likely watch again.
½ January 5, 2016
"Soylent Green" is more of a pre-apocalyptic film than a post-apocalyptic film. In the year 2020, New York City has a population larger than present day California. With overcrowding comes for, water and other shortages. Charlton Heston plays a police detective investigating the murder of the CEO of the world's main food supply. The mystery really isn't that good of a mystery and can be surmised by the audience pretty early on, which is a problem when it takes Heston until the end to figure out and makes his loud and iconic pronouncement. However, despite the film's lapses in story, the film more than makes up for it with a terrifically depressing and desperate atmosphere and setting, showing a great depiction of a city and world on the brink of collapse. Directed by Richard Fleischer, who was an old Hollywood director who reliably turned out smart entertainment (he even make some enjoyable films in disreputable genres later in his career with "Red Sonja" and "Amityville 3-D"). With director Fleischer, I've always thought he fell somewhere in-between journeyman and auteur. But the best part of the film is Edward G. Robinson in his final film role, giving a very warm and naturalistic performance, which is a nice contrast to Heston's usual stoic demeanor. (SPOILER ALTERT) In what is probably the best scene in the film, Robinson goes to a euthanasia facility to end his life. It's an incredibly moving performance that's made all the more moving by the fact Robinson has been diagnosed with terminal cancer and knew he was dying. This scene was the final scene he shot for the film and Robinson died two weeks later. So although this is very much a flawed film, it is made worth watching by virtue of the rich setting and Robinson's final film performance.
December 26, 2015
The "future tech" in this old classic film is not the greatest, but the ideas put worth in the plot make up for that.
October 14, 2015
Topically...a great film that looks far into the future...
September 29, 2015
What bad acting, it was so bad it was almost a comedy! Heston and Connors must've been paid a lot to star in it!
September 21, 2015
Gotta give it to Sol: they knew how to make a good movie when he was young
½ August 29, 2015
I have to be honest, this was not quite what I expected... I saw this movie on the list of the most shocking plot twists, and the storyline intrigued me so I went ahead and saw the movie. I was dissapointed. The movie's story is interesting, yes, but you can see the ending coming from the very beginning! It has no surprises. The acting is pretty good, though the characters didn't interest me that much. Also, some of the characters look very similiar and I had a hard time figuring out who was who. Some of the characters are likeable, and my favourite character was Sol. There is a very emotional scene near the end, which I won't spoil. The world that is portrayed in this movie is very fascinating! It's over-populated, there aren't any animals or plants so the people are forced to eat soylent food. There isn't much else to say about this film. It's a good sci-fi movie with an interesting, but highly predictable plot, an interesting world and good acting. I wouldn't really recommend seeing this movie, but you decide for yourself.
½ August 16, 2015
Interesting take on the dystopian genre, it is important to remember this movie as a precursor to the genre and judge it accordingly as a movie that takes risks despite the ending being easy to figure out. Solid, almost timeless classic for anybody tired of movies based on CGI of flying space ship battles.
Page 1 of 94