Soylent Green - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Soylent Green Reviews

Page 1 of 94
August 13, 2017
For its period this was a well put together film. The shots are strong the story is well portrayed. I loved it from the moment I saw it. If you are an old sci-fi buff you can not help but love this.
July 22, 2017
Interesting prediction of the future, decent '70s sci-fi but now seems outdated and weak.
July 15, 2017
Not bad dystopian 70's B movie. I mean besides the bad acting, cheese, and low budget. It was kind of boring. It wasn't too inconceivable, but it certainly had its problems. Meh.
½ June 28, 2017
3.7/5

Even though I went into the movie knowing many of the things that were about to unfold, the characters and the great dialogue made for quite the different dystopian experience, as even decades later not a lof of films seem to balance its themes so blissfully.
June 11, 2017
At first it begins like a Captain Planet episode where it dumps the whole 'we are stupid, the earth sucks now' PSAs.
However this message, while still a backbone of the entire story, is slowly absorbed into the audience by SHOWING what's going on.
And I don't mean 'poverty is an issue' but 'poverty is a way of life, corruption, theift, overpopulation is the norm'.
The fact that these dystopian issues are so permanent and socially tolerated is what shocked me the most.
While some of these predictions sound silly, that's only in magnitude. I am seeing these issues in my own life and I also relate to that message of 'this is the norm NOW.'
I would recommend this film as a film but also as a study of modern politics; again, some things sound silly but most of what is showed feels plausible 50 years from now.
Super Reviewer
May 5, 2017
Chuck Heston as a very nearly corrupt cop in a messed up future New York peeling back one helluva ugly scab on societal expediencies. Still vibrant, still timely, still effectively told and loaded with a top notch cast. Yet it gets no respect. So wrong!
April 26, 2017
Soylent green is people!!!!!!
½ April 8, 2017
Pretty intelligent sci-fi flick from 1973. New York - and probably the rest of the world, is overpopulated. A big company guy dies and our man a detective is trying to solve the case.

It's a pretty different film. Sat in 2022 but not overdone when it comes to futuristic prophecies. It looks old today, and I'm guessing it never tried to be very 2022-ish. The result is quite timeless and it works fine even today. The classic face of Charlton Heston is doing a solid figure here. Not easy to like, but he grinds on you - he is the hero here after all. The fact that the film takes steps away from the horror genre (as it actually is labled by) and rather focusing on the wide open mystery of the murder is the film's weakest and most solid part at the same time. It's not especially interesting or entertaining. Not scary either. Still, it's a smart grinder with a thought trough - though easy to spot twist, with the food production of the green stuff everyone is eating. Regular food seem hard to find these days.

The suicide scene with cancer victim Edward G. Robinson is really strong as few knew he was actually dying of cancer during filming. He died few days after the film was wrapped, but first he did a very, very strong death scene that actually made the lead of the film cry real tears. That's some trivia!

Thought-provoking film with a message but not the most entertaining piece.

5.5 out of 10 people mower trucks.
½ March 10, 2017
Soylent Green, being disgusting dystopian science fiction, is one of the rare movies where you agree that it doesn't really matter if you like it or not, as long as you agree that you don't want the future ending up like in the movie.
½ January 4, 2017
Interesting ideas, good style at points, hilariously bad at points.
November 13, 2016
the third in charlton heston's sci-fi trilogy (the others r 'planet of the apes' & 'the omega man') also the gr8 edward g robinson's last film.
October 16, 2016
84%
Saw this on 15/10/16
Richard Fleischer's Soylent green is a sensible sci-fi film considering the time of its release. Edward G Robinson and Charles Heston do justice to their roles. The film manages to hold some twists in its bargain and still seem thought provoking.
½ October 16, 2016
Every sci-fi nerd on the planet probably knows the punchline to this one, whether they've seen it or not, but even going in knowing that, it provides a pretty interesting cli-fi noir that was clearly rather ahead of its time in terms of ideas... which is horrifying. Sure it's outdated and a bit muddy and flat, but interesting nonetheless.
Super Reviewer
½ August 1, 2016
The greenish cinematography and '70s visuals for a futurist dystopia look terribly dated today, and even if the film has an interesting idea and a beautiful death scene, Fleischer's direction (more focused on the procedural and the action) makes it look silly and unimaginative.
June 23, 2016
Ostensibly a documentary about Monsanto!
June 15, 2016
2022 and Earth is in dire condition. Natural resources have been exhausted and food is largely provided by Soylent, a company that makes packaged meals from plankton. Against this backdrop we meet Detective Thorn (Charlton Heston), a police homicide detective. His latest case is the murder of William R Simonson, an executive at Soylent.

Original, clever, ahead-of-its-time thriller. Great plot, well directed. Charlton Heston rises above his usual wooden acting to put in a good performance. Best performance on show, however, is from Edward G Robinson, as Sol.

It is amazing the environmental picture this movie paints, as it was made in 1973, before anyone worried about global warming etc. It is starting to look fairly accurate, unfortunately.
May 20, 2016
Forty plus years later, and we're still very close to something like this happening.
½ May 4, 2016
Think what Stanley Kubrick could have concocted from the same raw material. Richard Fleischer only occasionally produces fireworks here, lumbered (sic) as he is by another stiff performance from a miscast Charlton Heston. The themes: overpopulation, climate change, fast food, recycling - are even more urgent today and it's only the wonderful Edward G. Robinson who gets close to articulating them.
½ April 28, 2016
Surprisingly enough, i loved this film. It's by no means flawless, or a masterpiece, but i thought it was a revolutionary look into the future (watching it from a 70's standpoint), with some very interesting ideas, and a bit of social commentary.
'Soylent Green' portrays a dystopic future for mankind where overpopulation has created shortages of food and other commodities. In this bleak future we follow the lives of two unlikely roommates: of the young and ambitious Detective Thorn (Charlton Heston) who wants to solve a homicide and of the aged and intellectual Sol Roth (Edward G. Robinson) who is spending time in the libraries trying to decipher long-gone knowledge and practices that have become obsolete in the new conditions.
It turns out that both men discover the same truth, truth that nobody suspects and is well concealed under a totalitarian-like regime where people's protests are violently suppressed and the 'rich' or the 'people of power' live in the upper-floor luxurious high-rise apartments.
Despite being a bit simplistic in its depiction of the society, 'Soylent Green' possesses a powerful imagery that stays with you. It also works well as a conventional adventure film.
April 27, 2016
Awesome flick. Predictive of global warming, with a potential solution.
Page 1 of 94