Man of Steel - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Man of Steel Reviews

Page 1 of 1369
½ February 17, 2018
Underrated as hell. Man of Steel is a spectacular film on many levels. And manages to add layers of depth to the overrated superhero.
February 15, 2018
While cheesy and generic, Man of Steel has incredible special effects and a surprisingly good story.
February 15, 2018
As much as Superman started the DCEU, this is a amazing DCEU movie. one of the best Blockbusters ive seen... Amazing Cast, Amazing Script, And especially Henry Cavill, Another Amazing Film from DC! Well done DC
February 13, 2018
It is rare to watch a superhero movie that gives you this much entertainment and feelings at the same time. This movie is a masterpiece in every possible way and Henry Cavill's portrayal as Superman will make you believe that a man can fly!
February 13, 2018
I liked this movie and I seen this with my dad and one of his friends so its a 5 star movie for the three of us which make this movie 15 stars for the both of us. One more thing... I DONT CARE WHAT YOU CRITICS THINK THIS MOVIE IS EXCELLENT!
February 8, 2018
The Man of Steel, is actually pretty damn good.
February 6, 2018
Title: Man of Steel
Story/Writing/Message/Plot: 2
Character/Acting: 1
Music/Sound: 1
Cinematography/Editing: 3
Age/Originality: 2
Total: 9/25
February 4, 2018
Far better than the critics make it out to be, Man of Steel provides a worthy start to the DCEU, and remains as its best movie yet (sorry Wonder Woman- you're overrated). Cavill is terrific as the title character and is surrounded by an incredible supporting cast including Amy Adams as Lois Lane, Russell Crowe as Jor-El, and the villain that stole the show, Michael Shannon as General Zod. Throw in an interesting plot, that really tests what it means to be the Man of Steel, and the best music score of any superhero movie yet, and Man of Steel is a fascinating movie and an excellent start to the DCEU.
½ February 4, 2018
if you like a peaceful, fun kid-friendly version of superman then this movie is not for you, if you like a dark, violent superman that is more for adults than this is a keeper
February 4, 2018
I liked the general premise of the movie, however was disappointed by the shakey camera and when, following an extended fight between the two invincible characters, Superman defeats his opponent by snapping his neck.
February 2, 2018
Strengths: We all know Christopher Reeve was the original, but Henry Cavill (Clark Kent) might be the best Superman ever. Not only does he look the part, he's good at nailing some of the key emotions Clark must show. Outside of the Cavill, the cast is ripe with talent. Kevin Costner (Jonathan Kent) and Michael Shannon (General Zod) were the standouts from the supporting cast. Shannon brought a complex character to the forefront and portrayed him with the right blend of sorrow and villainous tendencies. Director Zack Snyder is always great at making sure his action scenes deliver and that was evident here. Almost every scene involving some sort of fight was well done. The same goes for the special effects of the film. It all looks great.

Weaknesses: I've always had an issue with Superman. He's so powerful that it never feels like he's in peril, so I can't get invested in anything involving him. That's not exactly a knock on the filmmakers, just on the character. Snyder's story doesn't break any new ground and falls along the lines of something generic. Storytelling is just not Snyder's strong suit. I was also surprised at the lackluster Amy Adams (Lois Lane) performance. I really like her in most films, but it felt like we weren't getting anywhere near her best effort in this. The same goes for Russell Crowe (Jor-El).

Overall: The DC movie universe got off to a good start. It just never sniffed being great or on the level of most Marvel films. Henry Cavill gives a strong performance and the action sequences are a highlight. The story just lacks to put it over the top.
February 2, 2018
I understand. Superman is a hard comic book character to get it right. Still such a weird foundation for DC to build world on.
February 2, 2018
Great movie!!! Such great choices for each role in the movie.
½ January 27, 2018
Although it does tread on familiar waters this reboot of the Superman franchise really delivers a more serious story with great special effects and amazing action scenes
January 25, 2018
Man Of Steel (ovvero l'uomo dall'espressione d'acciaio - o paresi)

Chiamiamola opinione personale sul film, basta termini giornalistici seri, di serietà ce n'è già troppa, specie in questa dannata pellicola.
Punto Uno: viste le premesse, l'appello ad Henry Cavill "Ma Fatte na risata!" mi sembra più che onesto. Ok, c'ha delle tette fantastiche sto uomo, un fisico veramente titanico. Concediamo pure che somiglia un sacco al vecchio e mitico Superman Christopher Reeves, però cazzo anche se sei figo c'hai un'espressività che manco l'elmo di Iron Man... Va beh.
Potrei mettermi a fare un elenco dettagliato delle cose che mi sono andate a genio o no, proseguire col punto due ecc ecc, ma ammettiamolo: chissenefrega.
L'Uomo d'Acciaio è per metà (la seconda) una sorta di Super-noioso 'BOOOOM BOOOOM' in cui tutto esplode, s'infiamma e si distrugge riprendendo lo stile Avengers con l'aggiunta della spettacolare (va detto) fotografia ed effetti speciali tipici dei film di Snyder, evidenziando quanta sfiga c'hanno sempre gli Stati Uniti nei film. L'altra metà del film, la prima, è invece un bel montaggio di nuove idee sulla storia di Kripton e interpretazioni della possibile vita itinerante di un Clark Kent in cerca di sé stesso, la cui unica nota stonata (opinione fortemente personale visto il mio cinismo) è la morte del padre adottivo di Clark: cioè, per salvare un cane ti fai ammazzare da un tornado?!? Un cane che oltretutto sarà morto di vecchiaia dopo una settimana (e difatti poi si vedrà un altro cane per il resto del film). Vogliamo sciogliere cuori con la tenerezza? E allora vai di un cane in pericolo! Ok, capitolo cane chiuso.
Che c'è di buono in questo Uomo d'Acciaio: innanzitutto ogni scena con Russel Crowe, che oltre a ricordare a tutti come si recita, fa un figurone nella tutina kriptoniana dell'inizio, e nella parte dello stewart (mentre indica a Lois come uscire dall'astronave) è fantastico; poi va citato il costume di Superman, che è davvero davvero figo: d'altronde per la prima volta c'ha le mutande dentro; la fotografia come già detto è superba (c'era da aspettarselo); e poi che altro c'è? Ah, sì! Vedere quanto è ingrassato Lawrence Fishburne e immaginarsi che tenti di contattare l'Oracolo per dirle che sì, l'Eletto esiste e porta un mantello rosso; infine che la Adams è figa anche se le mettono in evidenza le rughe e i vari difetti cutanei con l'IMAX.
Chiudo dicendo che ancora prima di vincere premi e statuette o altri riconoscimenti in tutto il mondo, Man Of Steel vincerà il premio come Innamoramento Più Veloce e Ridicolo Della Storia Del Cinema. Non penso ci sia bisogno d'aggiungere altro: le cose non citate peccano d'insignificanza.
Passo e chiudo.
January 23, 2018
There is a lot to like about this film but also a lot to forget.
The tweak to his backstory and Costner in particular are touching but the overblown ending (s) is what lets it down.
Subtely is certainly not what they were going for here! In the end a missed opportunity.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ January 18, 2018
Easily one of the best Superman films, Zack Snyder Did a fantastic job although we can probably give Christopher Nolan credit too as I bet he had more than a hand in helping the story come together, It's starts on Planet Krypton and Russell Crowe (Kals Dad) preparing for the end of their world by getting Kal off Krypton with their world's kodex, I must say Krypton looked amazing and I would love to see a spinoff taking place there, It's action packed from the word go but it does tell a great and emotional story at times that really worked well, There's no corny scenes, Little humour, It's one of the darkest Comic films around, Henry Cavill is my new favourite Superman, Not only does he act the part well he actually looks how Superman should (Muscles to the max) Where the movie shines most is in its action as it has some of if not the best action scenes and effects ever put on screen, Say what you want about Snyder as a story teller but you can't argue the man knows how's to make your jaw drop when it comes to the action, If you don't believe me just watch 300, Dawn of the Dead and even the action in Sucker punch was brilliant, The 3D wasn't really needed as it added little effect apart from a few scenes but it's not essential, Michael Shannon as Zod was brilliant and you could argue that he's not all bad as his intentions are good for his race but not so good for ours, The strong cast help scenes that were not really important move by at a good pace, It's the start of the DCEU but we didn't really get many Easter eggs apart from a Lex Corp logo and a Wayne Satalite but in a way I'm glad they didn't as this was all about Superman and nothing else, I don't really understand the hate for this film as most of the negative comments focus on one scene at the end that yes it was shocking but come on your entire thoughts on this movie is because of one thing that in my eyes was great and so unexpected and I love a good swerve, It's easily one of the best films of 2013 and one of the best Comic films around and should not be missed.
½ January 16, 2018
uggg...where to start? the dark tone, characters that are not true to their story roots, its too radical a departure from the past, bad script and dialogue, Some of the scene could have come right out of smallville. This film does not utilize its female characters at all, its too full of itself, too full of machismo, albeit the title, This is a horrible flick and a betrayal of the character not a retelling. 1/2 star. .5
½ January 14, 2018
Awesome movie. Loved almost everything about it. Clark Kent/Superman's personality is kind of a dud. I really like Henry Cavill, but it's just the character needs a spark. Great visuals and action scenes. Really good story too.
Page 1 of 1369