The ABCs of Death - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The ABCs of Death Reviews

Page 1 of 31
Super Reviewer
½ April 15, 2019
It is uneven like most anthologies, with segments ranging from scary to funny to clever and silly - and as such, some of them are quite efficient while many are far from that, like "M Is for Miscarriage" and "Z is for Zetsumetsu," both which stand out as particularly awful.
½ December 21, 2018
This was pretty bad. None of the shorts were scary, nor were they suspenseful. The 3 shorts I liked were all comedies (Farts, Klutz, Nuptials). Thats pretty crappy when its supposed to be a horror anthology. Even the big name directors came up lame, which was surprising. I definitely wouldn't recommend this anyone.
½ November 30, 2018
Entertaining if youre a lobotomized gerbil.
½ November 1, 2018
The most hauntingly awful, disgusting, atrocious ideas and imagery that you will never be able to unsee including a man MASTERBATING to CHILD RAPE and stomping-on-kittens porn. I almost wish I'd been born without eyes so i'd never have seen this. Some of the shorts are quite clever and entertaining but not nearly worth suffering thru the rest. It's not "artsy." It's not "controversial." It's fucking garbage.
½ September 1, 2018
While some of these featurettes were original, the majority were poorly written. The gratuitous vulgarity made this film less of a horror anthology, and more of a series of borderline fetish pornography.
½ April 7, 2018
FUCK THIS STUPID SHIT
½ March 19, 2018
This is an exercise in tolerance for nonsense and gore. Kudos if you can stomach it, though for me it simply made me gradually become more and more numb. There were two letters (D and J) or stories that were decent, in that they weren't simply mindless and/or indulging in violence, though it's not worth watching.
August 20, 2017
So this review is going to be a little different, I am going to give my rating for each of the 26 skits below and my rating for the movie up top Ok here we go!
A is for Apocalypse 5/10
B is for Bigfoot 3/10
C is for Cycle 6/10
D is for Dogfight 7/10
E is for Exterminate 2/10
F is for Fart 6/10
G is for Gravity 2/10
H is for Hydro-Electric Diffusion 8/10
I is for Ingrown 4/10
J is for JIDAI-GEKI 5/10
K is for Klutz 4/10
L is for libido 6/10
M is for Miscarriage 2/10
N is for Nuptials 6/10
O is for Orgasm 6/10
P is for Pressure 3/10
Q is for Quack 8/10
R is for Removed 4/10
S is for Speed 3/10
T is for Toilet 6/10
U is for Unearthed 2/10
V is for Vagitus 4/10
W is for Wtf 7/10
X is for XXL 6/10
Y is for Youngbuck 5/10
Z is for Zetsumetsu 3/10

So yeah most them were bad, some were Ok, and some were really good or even great, anything 6 or above I would recommend, besides those skip it.
July 12, 2017
An enjoyable, uneven horror romp that's got it's fair share of good, muddied by a sea of, just, sorta ok. It's well worth those moment as, for the most part, this is a breezy ride from start to finish. Don't like one short? Just wait two or three minutes for the next one.
April 7, 2017
The ABCs of Death is a hilariously terrifying romp through the alphabet, it gives a peek inside twenty six amazing directors' minds. From A to Z this film has highs of terror such as a naughty couples' nightmare coming true (bigfoot) and then delves into humor with characters like furry nazi strippers (hydrogen electrocution) and two film directors stuck with the dubious honor of the letter Q (Quack!). Each director is radically different, through the filmography that is used, cartoons that were drawn, even to the very language, the directors were pooled from all over the world and it shows in the styles that are each used.

spoiler warning! One of the episodes shows a kittie having its head smashed by a hooker in heels doing a photo shoot for her john.
March 31, 2017
A helluva lot more misses than hits.
½ March 17, 2017
Relies soley on shock and disturbing images. No horror involved. Some shorts are just pointless, ridiculous and an insult to viewer's intelligence. The worst horror film ever. Total abortion.
March 16, 2017
Q is excellent, but some of the others are just about unwatchable.
January 28, 2017
There are some good ideas, but they're lost in a sea of other works that range from mediocre to downright terrible. [C-]
½ December 5, 2016
Most of the entries contain poop and/or butts, toilets or boobs. Had a good laugh at the segment about a guy boxing a dog, though. Almost all of the entries had nothing to do with the chosen word, with the exception of Dog Fight and Libido. In fact, two separate entries both involved a couple of idiots saying they weren't creative enough to come up with an entry based on their letter, so they just threw their hands up and said "whatever". So those two didn't even really count. I think maybe three entries contained some form of pedophilia and one was used purely for fat-shaming.

In its entirety, it's probably one of the worst things I've ever watched, and seemed more dedicated to describing the directors' secret fetishes than actually saying anything worthwhile.
½ September 28, 2016
I like some Surreal and Animated parts but the whole movie is the most F%$@ Up movie I have ever seen
September 7, 2016
-10/10. Worst movie ever
August 1, 2016
Really creative, enjoyed this as a horror fan.
July 30, 2016
I'm a big fan of horror anthology films, but this one is just a little too much "anthology." The segments vary wildly. Some run on too long, some too short, some just happen all of a sudden and then end just as suddenly, without bothering to inform the viewer about what you just saw. Some are so nonsensical that they are neither funny nor scary, just really, REALLY repulsive and brain damaging ("W" and "Z" especially. I have no idea what in God's name that was about but I don't plan to ever see either again.) The highlight for me...in fact, the only segment that I not only enjoyed but that works entirely, is "Q." Writer Simon Barrett and director Adam Wingard are two of the finest horrormeisters of our time, and they successfully make a black comedy while pointing out the mind numbing absurdity of the film itself. For that, I give it one star, and I'll fast forward to this segment on Netflix occasionally. I can ignore everything else. (I won't forget it though. Especially "Y." Yeesh...)
½ July 7, 2016
1.5/5.0 stars
A:2.0/B:2.5/C:1.0/D:4.0/E:2.0/F:2.5/G:1.0/H:2.0/I:1.0/J:1.0/K:2.0/L:1.5/M:1.0/N:2.0/O:0.5/P:1.0/Q:3.0/R:2.0/S:2.5/T:1.5/U:0.5/V:1.0/W:2.5/X:1.0/Y:3.5/Z:2.0
46.5 out of possible 130
Page 1 of 31