The Human Centipede II (Full Sequence) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Human Centipede II (Full Sequence) Reviews

Page 1 of 65
August 13, 2016
I love this series, most won't. It's filmed with grace and talent and the director is actually very very good, all subject matter aside. The dude knows what he's doing and it shows.
½ August 13, 2016
This should really be a minus rating as it's just wrong in all ways possible. Does it have a story? Yes but it's sick. Does it have gore? Yes, to the extreme degree. Does it have good acting? Can't tell because the majority of lines are just screams of pain or fear! It's basically a continuation of the first film, but everything is bigger and more exaggerated. Instead of a centipede of 3, we're aiming for one consisting of 12 people this time, consisting of randoms who choose to enter a multi storey car park just at the wrong time. I say randoms in the loosest term because the chosen few just happen to consist of hooligans, prostitutes, slappers, drunks, and obese individuals, all of whom are hand picked to make the concept all the more grotesque. We even have cameos from a paedophile doctor, an abusive mother, and the actress who played one of the girls from the first film. There is no reason to explain why this freak who is central to it all is carrying out this experiment, other than to satisfy his obsession with the film, but there really are no holes barred in his performance. Not only is he stapling the old chestnut of anus to mouth, but he's raping women, hammering teeth out, slitting throats and even bashing his mums skull in to a pulp before dining with the dead body. Why am I watching this you ask? I don't know is the answer, other than the curiosity of knowing what depraved scene is next! I can't really say I enjoy viewing this but I do like pushing boundaries and this is a movie that certainly entertains that trait. Even I was sat there with hand over mouth at times, thinking this can't be happening, and I even understand that certain vulgar scenes had been omitted from the version I watched because they are just too morbid! This is very much one of those talked about films that gets recognition for all the wrong reasons. If you want torture porn, it doesn't come any greater than this - just make sure your stomach is settled enough after your last meal before pressing the play button!
½ August 6, 2016
worst than the first one. Such a long build up to come to something that isn't worth watching. Plus I wasn't really digging the black and white theme
½ August 5, 2016
Terrible. And not just in a fun, campy way. There is literally NO redeeming value to this movie at all. Where the first one at least had a good and interesting performance from Dieter Laser, original story, and surprisingly welcome lack of blood and feces, the second has gore and disgust to the point of just being overwhelming and utterly pointless. Any interest generated by the somewhat unique idea of a horror fan becoming an antagonist is quickly decimated by the terribly conceived characters, annoying black and white lighting, and absolutely pointless gore.

As an avid horror fan this movie checked NONE of my boxes and I couldn't even finish it. Unless you're a fan of torture porn, don't waste your time.
½ July 10, 2016
If the first Human Centipede is The Hangover, Human Centipede 2 is most certainly The Hangover Part II. It takes the original film, which was gratuitous in its own way, and simply turns it up full, much to the detriment of story and character. This may not be the worst film I've ever seen, but it's probably the hardest to watch. While the first film had at least hints of subtlety, especially in the first half, HC 2 has no such thing. It's vile, disgusting, bloody, graphic, and is completely unashamed and uninhibited in the way it depicts it. In a demonstration of utter conceit, or possibly sheer egotism, the central character in this film is a devoted fan of the first film, watching it over and over like it's his proverbial 'precious', and has the bright idea of taking its premise and extrapolating it, creating a Centipede of 10 victims rather than just 3. It is literally a re-tread of the previous instalment with all sense of scientific discovery and innovation taken out and replaced with as much brutality and bodily fluids as it can fit into its running time. The end result is boring, repetitive, sadistic, and will leave you with the justified belief that you've wasted and hour and a half of your life, and will make you feel that you've just lost a little more faith in humanity.
June 27, 2016
Too disgusting for fans of the original and painfully-overwhelmingly bad for critics and audiences/mainstream viewers this sequel doesn't do anything good to the series except add more disgusting snuff type material to its movie
½ May 30, 2016
Yuck; triple the gore of the original.
½ May 20, 2016
Most likely the worst movie I've ever seen. Looking back, I'm not even sure how I made it through the whole thing. No point to it other than attempting to shock and disgust more than the original.
½ May 18, 2016
The Human Centipede 2 could just be one of the worst movies ever made! Needlessly excessive with unbelievably graphic violence and disturbing imagery The Human Centipede 2 doesn't really feel like a movie. This film has dreadful acting, direction, writing and technically is very poor and doesn't feel like a proper film, more like a TV one. This film is also extremely boring and all I remember is the violent scenes. This film is incredibly disgusting and violent that it's just sickening to watch. This is just a dreadful film and I never want to have to suffer through watching it again. F
April 25, 2016
Though not particularly fond of The Human Centipede: First Sequence (2009), my desire to find out just how deep the rabbit hole of Tom Six's sadism went gave me the edge to check out the sequel.

Given that The Human Centipede: First Sequence set a high standard for sadistic violence and sickening concepts, The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence has a high standard to live up to. Even though the film wasn't a particularly great one, the sequel still needs to be sickening enough to be a worthy follow-up. The value of The Human Centipede: First Sequence was largely the fact that its idea was so ridiculously grotesque that it cried out for cult audiences, and the surrounding controversy made it impossible to miss. As a whole, the idea behind the film was more sickening than its actual execution while its greatest hook was the performance of Dieter Laser. This time there is an antagonist of far less interest who viewers have to embrace while he wanders through his meaningless existence in silence, never saying a word. Blood and gore is just thrown at the viewer repeatedly without much intense build-up which forsakes any potential for narrative value, even though the story never had much of a chance of that in the first place.
Treading the mistaken ground followed by the first film, The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence ends up with sloppy execution of a potentially sickening concept. Quadrupling the ambitions of the villain Dr Josef Heiter, The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence introduces Martin Lomax. With a far more conventional reason for his insanity, Martin Lomax's edge is driven by the fact that he is a short, mentally challenged, overweight and asthmatic man who was molested by his father and criminalized by his mother. This is Tom Six's idea of characterization, and there's only so long you can tolerate seeing a silent obese man staring at things in a slow-paced black and white film before the once-eerie atmosphere created by the manipulation of silence and colour becomes yet another staple of boredom inducing. Given that the crude gimmick of the first film has been and gone the effect is no longer as innovative, the central hook is gone. And with black and white disguising the practical nature of many scenes, the film is never as brutal as it wants to be which really makes the potential of the experience dull. The film doesn't become much of an exercise in the shock value of blood and gore until close to an hour into the film, and the build-up until then has been far from satisfactory for any real power to come from it. And with The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence failing to offer much in terms of shock value, it fails at the one thing it could have been any good at. Given that the film is in black and white it runs this risk very much from the start, and despite Tom Six's claims that it is meant to create a dark and gritty nature to match the insanity of the protagonist it ultimately restrains the effect of the shock value. It has a very slight touch of visual flair and some good cinematography, but it isn't nearly enough to add any major value.
On top of everything, the film is very much a parody of itself. Due to the meta nature of the narrative and Tom Six's intention on emphasizing the concept of copycat crimes, the ridiculous concept of the first film serves as the motivation for the actions of Martin Lomax. The disgusting extent that the story goes to as a means of mocking viewers with its crude violence is seemingly a humourous insult directed at audiences, and given the way Tom Six depicts Martin's nightmares of his father molesting him with the voice-over line "You're only making daddy's willy harder" there is clearly a humourous edge in the film. Since many critics of the first film took it so seriously it's rather beneficial that jokes are prevalent in The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence. But I can't ascertain how much social satire is supposed to actually be in the film or certify that I did in fact laugh at any point. It seems as if every line of dialogue is satirical because it all subscribes to the most conventional format of dialogue available to horror cinema and none of it can be taken seriously, but while that seems to intentionally detract from some of the more serious elements of the film I most definitely did not find myself laughing, scared or even all that sickened. Frankly, I was just bored in the case of The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence. And when the film comes to a close with an ending that leaves a frustrating ambiguity to the rest of the events in the story, its the final insult.
However, I will certainly admit that I have respect for the leading performance of Laurence R. Harvey. The man has no shame taking on such a sick and twisted character in The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence, and it's a fairly challenging role. The man has to convey ultimate insanity in almost complete silence, and given the lackluster filmmaking around him it would be easy for him to cater to such standards and simply maintain a blank stare the entire time. But with his directionless gaze, his hunched shoulders and his childish grin, the man is able to create an effectively introverted psychopath. Laurence R. Harvey manages to perfectly capture Martin Lomax, approaching the most sick and twisted scenes with such neutrality or sadistic pleasure that he manages to capture both the disturbing elements of the character and his vulnerability too. Laurence R. Harvey says everything about the character without ever having to utter a single word, and in a circuit of mediocre plot lines and stiff direction he has more success capturing the greatest extent of Tom Six's ambition than the director himself. Laurence R. Harvey is an ideal creep to lead The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence.
And though her role is really small, fans of the first film can rejoice at the presence of Ashlynn Yennie returning to be part of another sick medical experiment.

Laurence R. Harvey delivers an effectively creepy lead performance, but The Human Centipede II: Full Sequence lacks the originality of its predecessor which weakens the potential shock power, and with a slow pace, weak plotting and black and white covering the blood and gore, it's ultimately just a boring experience above anything else.
½ April 10, 2016
wow, this sequel crashed hard and fast. there was no scary, just grossly disturbing and not even in a good way
March 9, 2016
Have you shit yourself again?

A huge fan of the movie human centipede researches and takes copious notes on if the events in the movie are possible and he discovers it's true. The fan was sexually abused by his father as a kid, and may be a bit autistic, but he definitely isn't mentally stable. He works in a parking garage at night and uses this profession as a chance to kidnap victims and begin building his own crude human centipede.

"Stop them tears. You're just making daddy's Willie harder."

Tom Six, director of The Human Centipede 1-3, Honeyz, Gay as Amsterdam, and I Love Dries, delivers Human Centipede II. The storyline for this picture is entertaining but a bit of a stretch. The film is shot in an appropriately gritty style that contains a lot of gore and intensity. The acting is solid and fits the feel of the film perfectly.

"Shut your fucking mouth you old cunt."

These films are all gross and fairly intense. They are all on Netflix and I watched the first one about three years ago. I finally got around to watching this sequel and felt it was a worthwhile addition to the horror genre but far from perfect. I recommend seeing this once for fans of the genre who can handle the intensity.

"Your pussy smells gorgeous."

Grade: C+
March 7, 2016
A bigger budget meant more towards film quality & lighting. Unfortunately, it fails on ALL levels, including what looks like a morbidly obese "Waldo" from the Hot For Teacher video as your resident maniac. A "shitty" movie (pun intended)
February 19, 2016
Not the worst idea for a sequel as the plot is inventive enough, but the execution of this just as twisted story isn't as good as the first.
February 5, 2016
And I thought the first one was bad...
½ February 5, 2016
One of the worst films ever made.

Zero Stars
½ January 20, 2016
I'm really not sure whether this is the worst movie ever made or not but it sure as hell comes close. The story is vile, the acting abysmal and the idea of any of it is worse than laughable. Whereas the first was a shocker and was hard to swallow, this looks like it was made to shock but fails miserably on all levels simply thanks to its own incompetence. Each time you think it couldn't get more inane, it manages it with flying colours. How anyone was allowed to make this is difficult to understand. Completely idiotic, terribly constructed, characters you want dead as soon as you meet them and a director so deranged he should be locked away somewhere dark and far from any sort of camera.
If you value your sanity then steer clear of this. If you stomach it for long, you'll wish you hadn't and however many minutes you follow it for, you will never get them back. It really is your loss. The half star is just for managing to focus the camera. While watching this, you'll wonder why they bothered. It really becomes too annoying to stay with. Impossible to recommend and I can't do enough to advise against watching it. Simply awful! Don't bother!
½ January 2, 2016
Tom Six intenta hacer una secuela mucho más horripilante e infernal que la primera parte de su "The Human Centipede"... y lo logra. Las referencias a "Psycho", "Saló: o los 120 dias de Sodoma" y a "Eraserhead" están más que presentes, así como el gore más espantoso que se puedan imaginar, sin importar que la cinta sea a blanco y negro. El actor Laurence R. Harvey es el asco encarnado en una persona, interpretando a Martin, una especie de Igor y "Fanboy" que quiere hacer un cienpiés humano de 12 personas inspirado en la primera película. "The Human Centipede II" es un completo descenso al averno. Quedan advertidos.
½ December 15, 2015
it seems that it has been lost in film making the artistic creativity. Horror movies just go for as fucked up as it can think of and try to make the audience uncomfortable and cue that perverted side in people to see if they will come back for more. there is zero things about this movie that is interesting creative or original so it gets a zero
½ December 8, 2015
Horrible mOvie!! WhO has a sick mind tO cOme up with this??
Page 1 of 65