The Midnight Sky Reviews

Page 1 of 12
January 23, 2021
While not a malicious film, more than anything else, it is unserious.
January 23, 2021
I'm a fan of a tale well done that takes its time. But Midnight Sky, while well done, is simply ponderous.
January 21, 2021
I was rooting for it...
January 21, 2021
Too much of it is too familiar from other places, and what it goes into isn't terribly interesting. It has all the ingredients of a great movie but it somehow does not come together.
January 18, 2021
The Midnight Sky's reach far exceeds its grasp.
January 18, 2021
At worst it seems like a cheeky pastiche between 'Gravity' and the short 'Aningaaq'. [Full review in Spanish]
January 17, 2021
Clooney, as well as the entire Aether crew, make the implausible plausible. That is a credit to their acting.
January 16, 2021
Peril, language in gloomy, character-driven apocalypse tale.
January 15, 2021
The problem with this film is that it is terminally serious.
January 15, 2021
Some directors know how to make adventure movies that seamlessly blend action with feelings of loss and heartbreak - Clooney is not one of them.
January 14, 2021
This slogging post-apocalyptic fiction composed of space inanity and uninspired snow routes, crawls right toward disappointment...
January 13, 2021
It's tough for me to give this film a fair shake when I can't help but be reminded of better work elsewhere.
January 13, 2021
I's an absorbing, contemplative, beautifully-directed piece that asks its audience to stick with it as it builds towards a climax that's both hugely emotional and surprisingly uplifting.
January 12, 2021
The Midnight Sky shines with Clooney's deep and abiding belief in the human condition, in compassion, in ... "redemption" is the wrong word, too Catholic. Rather, in connection, even if it is brief, even if it is seemingly one-sided.
January 12, 2021
The seasoned actor uses his age well, portraying a deeply regretful and broken man who grasps at the chance to do anything to make up for his past mistakes.
January 12, 2021
George Clooney adds another title to his long list of meh movies.
January 11, 2021
Despite its beautiful cinematography and score, The Midnight Sky is a disjointed sci-fi saga that borrows many elements from similar stories. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 9, 2021
The amalgamation of science fiction and whimsical fantasy elements in this story reminds me of some of Ray Bradbury's work (The Martian Chronicles) but the combination of elements doesn't quite hold together as well as Bradbury's stories do.
January 8, 2021
A climactic conversation between Clooney and Felicity Jones... may not be enough to salvage this stale slog of a movie, but it gives us a reason to root for Clooney to succeed the next time he sits in the director's chair.
January 7, 2021
A heavily bearded [George] Clooney is pitch-perfect as the man the audience must relate to because he will be their experienced guide on the journey they are watching.
Page 1 of 12