The White Ribbon (Das weisse Band) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The White Ribbon (Das weisse Band) Reviews

Page 1 of 102
½ July 9, 2017
Now this is a piece of cinema to contemplate about. Germany, the year 1913, pre-WW1, typical village, Baron, tenant-farmers, strict religious rules, oppressed children. It all sounds familiar yet it's very interesting to see the more objective point of view of a German-born director than to see another prejudiced non-German work about the Germans, who thinks he\she knows better.
½ June 7, 2017
Black and white photography, slow pace, frames, every aspect of this film gives you the feeling of a loveless, sterile society, in which violence rules, even if it does so in an imperceptible way most of the time.
April 14, 2017
4/5

The White Ribbon feels like a masterful novel brought to life through the powerful images of the tale it holds, as timeless and peculiar as it should be.
½ April 5, 2017
It's well worth watching, and has an ambiguous narrative that would reward re-watching. It's a bit of a hybrid beast, being some part period piece and almost some part horror or sci-fi. It sits in a strange world.
March 14, 2017
I'm dumbfounded.

Seriously, this took a long time to fully appreciate. Not like a day or so, but almost two weeks. I guess I got so wrapped up in it's mystery that I couldn't get a word out. A film that explores depression, cruelty, and life's biggest mysteries. What we see is a mixture of the truth, lies or rumors. It ends on a cold note with nothing ever answered, and these nothing quite like it.

"The White Ribbon" is another masterpiece from the brilliant Michael Haneke. The grim atmosphere and the re-creation of the time period is it's own achievement. Haneke is the best living film making of this decade. He's one of the few filmmakers right now that creates such compelling stories and questions with no answers, but questions that many will be thinking long after it's over.

The performances from the children was both fantastic and natural. The childlike behavior and the little innocence felt real. And for someone who's a sucker for amazing cinematography, this movie has it. Every singe shot is framed so perfectly that you could easily take any shot from the film and make it as the poster.

This is one of those movies that you can find something new with repeat viewings. With such a powerful narrative that excels all my expectations.
½ February 12, 2017
Il film vorrebbe raccontare la Germania prima della guerra, mostrandoci come il popolo tedesco fosse culturalmente "propenso" ad abbracciare il nazismo (che doveva ancora nascere). Da un film con questa ambizione mi aspetto che sia molto realistico, invece mi pare che il film si prenda molte libertÓ in modo da poter associare alcuni aspetti proprio al nazismo (segnalare i riottosi con un nastro bianco, che dovrebbe simboleggiare la stella di David che veniva indossata dagli ebrei in epoca nazista). Inoltre mi pare che spesso si voglia far ricondurre la propensione al diventare nazisti alla sola voglia vendicativa e burbera dei paesani (spesso usano punizioni corporali sui bambini per educarli), il che mi pare un po' semplicistico. Infine Ŕ un film un po' noioso, e questo fa si che sia insufficiente.
½ December 20, 2016
Amazing cadres, very picturesque; but it's boring as hell!

After reading some discussions about the movie, i understood what "the white ribbon" is.. or should i say who the white ribbon is?
½ November 17, 2016
The White Ribbon is a disappointing film. Its story is important and tragic, the characters are well developed, some scenes are heartbreaking and the movie is well shot, but it is so frustratingly directed by Michael Haneke featuring such off-putting glacial pacing that it ended up being an overlong, tedious experience.
½ February 17, 2016
Grade: A (92%)
Rating: 9/10 - Excellent
February 9, 2016
An immersive and starkly harrowing film, rich with mystery. Superb performances, masterfully shot. All-time great.
½ January 26, 2016
Beautiful and haunting
December 12, 2015
It starts with Nietzsche, then they tied you to a bed. Next, you schedule a Holocaust. Don't give anyone an opportunity to be raised like this. Ever.
December 2, 2015
Interesting story and characters, but the pace is super slow.
October 30, 2015
No question will be asked about Haneke's direction and the overall handling of the project. But, has any one found a clue on what this story trying to tell ? An iota of thing that lead to Nazism lately on Germany ? Somewhere something is wrong !
Robert B.
Super Reviewer
October 8, 2015
The White Ribbon immediately draws comparison with films by Ingmar Bergman and Lars Von Trier. Unlike in Bergman's films, here the black-and-white often feels desaturated or washed out. Unlike in von Trier's films (which I sometimes like even while disliking them), the darkness is unpoetical. -- I must admit I turned off the film at about the 90 minute mark, not because the abuse featured was fantastically horrorific but rather continually degrading. There was not much of a plot and no sense of mystery as to what was going on. There was no compelling reason to continue watching.
½ September 25, 2015
Everything is perfectly organized in the village, everybody has a role, and stiks to it, and everybody seems to be happy. Things are working.
However, something happens ... all these "normal" people unveil their deep self, and some of them are so mean, so evil, to be disturbing.
The film is, actualy, a crime story. A thriller. But ...
September 13, 2015
If you like interesting cinema, fresh approach, and good story-telling, this is the film for you.
August 17, 2015
Michael Haneke's The White Ribbon purports to center around a series of violent crimes in a small German town, a rigid and bleak bastion of oppressive religious moralizing, toxic masculinity, and strict social constructs that reduce its inhabitants to faceless drones. This is ultimately the point Haneke is getting at, using the violent acts as a means of revealing what human beings are capable of carrying out and putting up with in their every day lives when put into positions power, exposing the root of what ultimately breeds the evil that permeates society. Deliberately paced and gorgeously photographed, The White Ribbon is both a flawless work of social commentary and a compelling piece of human drama, amounting to one of the greatest films of the decade.
Super Reviewer
August 1, 2015
On the surface it's a story about life in a small town in Germany, but it's what's simmering beneath that is the real story.
June 2, 2015
Had a better impression after watching it a second time; this time awake! Starke and not as simple as it seems as it deals with evil and its effects on the community whether manmade or naturally caused.
Page 1 of 102