Wolf Creek - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wolf Creek Reviews

Page 1 of 261
September 19, 2016
Over the years, I've tried watching this movie twice. When I was a lot younger I managed through all of it and thought it was awful. So years later I wanted to see if my opinion had changed any, it hadn't. And yet, I still can't exactly pinpoint why I dislike it so much. It's not too different from the other horror slasher movies I love, and the acting is actually really good throughout most of it. So why do I dislike it so?

I still don't have a definitive answer, but I have a theory. The film seems to fail to build any kind of real tension. The violence isn't an issue and the plot, which is based on a true story, is a good one to make this kind of a movie off of it. Yet nothing about it is endearing enough to make me ever care to see it in full again.

Go figure.
½ September 10, 2016
Gore-fest in the style of Hostel. Liked the sequel better.
September 3, 2016
Wolf Creek is intelligent , gory and brilliantly structured. This relentless thrill ride leaves you hanging on the edge of your seat. It's mise en scene and cinematography compares with that of the Teaxas Chainsaw Massacre and at time exceeds it. The suspense is timed to perfection. A technique that is often lost in modern horror. A must see for any true Horror fanatic.
½ August 22, 2016
Wolf Creek is one of those creepy film that stays memorable.Great performance, effective horror, but the film drags a bit, and it was too long, for its own good. Although it has a few flaws, but this film will make you think twice going on a road trip in Australia
August 9, 2016
Wolf Creek provides the savage, balls to the walls thrills you expect from an Aussie slasher. It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it does cut it to shreds and bury it in a shallow grave.
½ May 19, 2016
Disturbing and unsettling, moves you as film should. A slap in the face to the sophomoric world view of youthful exuberance and malapert acceptance.
½ May 17, 2016
Wolf Crick started out really well, with great character development, and a nice little romance buildup, but takes a sharp nosedive after the halfway mark. The choices made by these poor, brainless victims, will make you cringe with embarrassment towards mankind's basic natural instincts. However, the Aussie that played the villain was absolutely electric in his performance; very refreshing. Unfortunately, this movie just turned into another "torture-porn" yawner. I want to feel scared when I watch a horror movie, not grossed out.
½ April 13, 2016
don't understand what all the hype was about...thought it was pretty average at best!
April 12, 2016
One of the most frightening films I have ever watch!
This film really scared me.
So, I really loved being scared.
½ March 15, 2016
Wolf Creek is not really an enjoyable movie as it is telling more of the teenage lives. I mean I wanted to watch a good movie, but that didn't exist in this movie. Despite boring story line, I enjoyed the performance put on by John Jarratt, he owned the part. It was like he as if he was the real Mick Taylor.
March 8, 2016
Not breaking new ground (in fact I think this general premise has been used in many, many horror films), but it's quite well done and it's foreign (Australia), so it'll make you feel all fancy watching a foreign film. Plus it's supposedly based on real events. I'm a little surprised at some of the statistics, though.
½ January 12, 2016
Nicely directed and acted, Wolf Creek makes you feel sorry for all the people who actually fell into this horrific nightmare.
January 10, 2016
Definitely a creepy one
January 6, 2016
Felt The Whole Idea Was To Take A True Story & Completely Up The Ante On Gruesome Horror & Gore. I Don't Like These Sorts Of Films & Found It Not Scary At All But Rather Laughable. Well Done Film AustraliaĆ¢?? Braaaaavo....Not!
½ December 8, 2015
After the unexpected popularity of SAW in 2004, there was a rush from film companies to pump out the most twisted and gruesome horror movies they could possibly put out in theatres. This was one of them. Just poor all the way around.
October 31, 2015
Crocodile Dundee meets the Texas Chainsaw Massacre
October 29, 2015
Right from the shot of Lizzie plunging herself onto the sea waves, I can sense the underlying theme of individual existence. And it's true. What the film presents was that, despite love and friendship, our sufferings, our struggles for survival are essentially individual. That the film's characters are perfectly well-mannered and considerate only adds terror to this chilling message. Of course, there is always someone surviving, and I am wondering whether the identity of the survivor is meant to represent something political.
October 25, 2015
An excellent low budget Australian thriller that has put the industry on the map in years and also for it's budget, very impressive.
½ October 25, 2015
Wolf Creek is a cheap exercise in gratuitous violence and sadism.
October 14, 2015
Another new classic! Great film! Good story. A great killer! Mean and scary.
Page 1 of 261