Zeroville Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 3, 2019
Vikar is just a weird guy left out to dry on a plotline.
September 28, 2019
Film that doesn't understand what's ridiculous. [Full Review in Spanish]
September 27, 2019
Perhaps if I had read the book, Zeroville the film would have made more sense.
September 27, 2019
Off beat, quirky and confusing. Still it held my interest and made me think about it once I left the theater.
September 26, 2019
Zeroville tries to be Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, but it can't when everything happens in earnest. Purpose is lost beneath its clashing tones and hollow aesthetic.
September 23, 2019
Rewrites not only the history of cinema, but also our relationship with it. [Full review in Spanish]
September 23, 2019
This filth grates all the more because the film is so unbearably smug.
September 23, 2019
A shapeless mess that tires its audience well before the end and is salvaged from oblivion by a few funny, tender or kooky scenes, most lifted straight from the book.
September 23, 2019
Franco's incomprehensible film offers, at best, little more than a dime-store Tarantino knockoff, while at worst it isn't far from the inept self-indulgence of Tommy Wiseau.
September 22, 2019
To say it is for Franco completists only seems just.
September 21, 2019
Franco mined Hollywood and its appeal to outsiders far more successfully in "The Disaster Artist."
September 21, 2019
I can't even figure out how to rate it other than to say that I think it's probably not a very good movie, but that I kind of love it.
September 20, 2019
Zeroville is a very weird beast, caught somewhere between wild comedy, incomprehensible cinephilia and shameless directorial excess. Someday it might be a cult movie, but I think that day may be a long time coming.
September 20, 2019
Though it's something of a miss, it's certainly no zero, though.
September 20, 2019
James Franco taking potshots at Jesus Franco is about as unearned a jab as you'll find outside of the Razzie Awards.
September 20, 2019
Franco embraces the zero in his title, producing a film that starts to feel like a middle finger to both Hollywood and anyone who searches for meaning in it.
September 20, 2019
Yes, Zeroville fulfills its promise to be a weird movie, it's just not all that original.
September 20, 2019
As with many of Franco's projects, it seems to have left the station without a script, with the result that entire segments feel half-baked and semi-improvised.
September 20, 2019
[M]aybe it was too much for the filmmakers. For us, the movie simply is not enough.
September 19, 2019
Franco seems to be aiming for comedy, but there are few laughs to be had.
Page 1 of 2