Everything Sucks!: Season 1 Reviews

October 22, 2021
I really appreciated the relationships Kate and Luke had with their single parents, too. That was really well done and so tender.
October 22, 2021
I always appreciate a good ragamuffin group growing together but I think the last half of the season stalled out a little bit by spending time bonding the other characters.
July 27, 2019
It has some good ideas, but it is diluted in a package that does not do the show justice. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 19, 2018
This comedy is wonderfully-realized and geniunely heartfelt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 10, 2018
Everything Sucks! is a delightful, heartfelt, and nostalgic trip to 1996's.
July 7, 2018
The series is situated in an institute in the 90s and it's adorable. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 1, 2018
Everything Sucks! is a refreshing and positive look at high school life. It's not what the era of Peak TV has been drawn to of late, but it's what we need for our hearts and our minds to survive the day-to-day turmoil of life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 30, 2018
Yes, this is another sentimental coming-of-age comedy-drama but it's one that does become quite involving and affecting, thanks in large part to an achingly vulnerable performance by Canadian youngster Peyton Kennedy.
March 1, 2018
I'm so glad I kept watching, though. Because while much of the show is uneven and a bit of a mess, it eventually stumbles into something wonderful.
March 1, 2018
Often less laugh-out-loud funny than aw-shucks sweet, the show delivers comedy and pathos of a breezy, easygoing sort. It has some blind spots, but its action is layered with life lessons that are resonant.
March 1, 2018
However awkward the constant flood of time-worn memes and outdated lingo may seem in the moment, the faux-nostalgic eventually blurs into a constant undercurrent and highlights poignant moments by its absence.
February 26, 2018
The dream of the 90s is alive in this series in the worst possible way.
February 22, 2018
While "Everything Sucks!" is an ensemble show with a lot of characters and storylines, it's at its best when it focuses on Kate.
February 22, 2018
Kate and Luke's storylines reach a more satisfying end by episode 10, it just takes Everything Sucks! a little too long to figure out what it wants.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 21, 2018
Sweet, sensitive, authentic '90s-set teen drama is a winner.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 20, 2018
There's a touch of Glee with the revelation that the ham-fisted AV society is in bitter rivalry with the goth-tinged drama club.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 20, 2018
What follows is the predictable if amusingly well-executed humor of a nerd suitor trying to punch above his romantic weight ... But there's also a poignant streak.
February 19, 2018
It doesn't have the stickiness, energy and obsession-making bite Stranger Things did. Everything Sucks is just kind of pleasant. It's got the beginnings of something great, which will hopefully emerge down the track if it gets a second season.
February 18, 2018
When the latter half of the season eases up on the '90s nostalgia onslaught to follow a group of misfits banding together to make a sci-fi B movie, it becomes far more focused and fun almost immediately.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 18, 2018
Everything Sucks! definitely doesn't suck, but it's only occasionally pretty good.