Game of Thrones: Season 4 Episode 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 4 Episode 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 8, 2019

It was a solid episode that re-introduced us to our favorite - and not-so-favorite - characters, as well as brought us up to speed on a few new ones.

Bridie Roman
Total Film
April 8, 2019

It's funny and almost light compared to past seasons with occasional moments of melancholy to remind us of the heartbreak that came before.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Mike Hogan
Vanity Fair
April 8, 2019

I feel great about what we just saw.

Tim Liew
Metro
April 8, 2019

This is one of those quieter Game of Thrones episodes where very little seems to happen, and yet a lot does.

Yasmin Kleinbart
The Young Folks
April 8, 2019

Two Swords, was a great start to the series with some bad-ass action from a brand new character, and, of course, Arya.

Charles Poladian
International Business Times
April 8, 2019

GoT season 4 premiere never feels burdened by what it has to do, laying out the plot points of the season, due in part to all the small, character-driven moments that the show finds time to explore.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
April 8, 2019

Two Swords, though," gives the Lannisters a long, luxurious, period of celebration, and it is both wonderful and extremely unsettling.

Alex Mullane
Digital Spy
April 8, 2019

Four seasons in, it's still brilliant.

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
April 5, 2019

The overall effect was one of increased solidity; remembering what's happened in a TV show is often a matter of relation and reference.

Allison Keene
Collider
March 28, 2019

To say there is a lot happening is a gross understatement, especially since almost half of the characters weren't even featured.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Erik Kain
Forbes
March 28, 2019

The episode managed to re-introduce a lot of disparate plot threads, reveal some new characters, and remind viewers what happened last season, all without getting lost in sprawl or tripping over itself.

David Crow
Den of Geek
March 28, 2019

Unlike the last two season premieres, this one had a real confidence that viewers are in it for the long haul, as we checked in with nearly every character from seasons past.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Serena Davies
Daily Telegraph (UK)
Top Critic
March 28, 2019

Still, for all the grandeur and Grand Guignol, what GoT is starting to show itself best at is character.

Kristy Puchko
The Mary Sue
March 28, 2019

I love seeing Arya kick ass, but she definitely savored the kill, which is something we don't tend to see the Starks do. She's going down a dark path, and it's hard to guess where it will lead her.

Sam Woolf
We Got This Covered
March 28, 2019

This is pretty much everything a fan of the books or show could ask for, as we're well passed the time for handholding.

William Evans
Black Nerd Problems
June 21, 2018

Again, excellent episode, but if the previews are straight up, the wedding between Joffrey and Margery is next week? Next Effin week? Naw, I'm not ready.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 13, 2018

All on par with the usual Game of Thrones we've come to expect, with a bit of movement on all sides, but nothing particularly standout for a premiere

Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
June 6, 2016

In terms of plot progression, "Two Swords" offered minimal movement. However, the superb execution of this episode demonstrates the confidence and skill that David Benioff and D.B. Weiss have accumulated over the past three seasons.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
January 5, 2015

Indeed, "Two Swords" biggest payoffs are often its least over-the-top moments.

Mark Ellis
Schmoes Know
January 5, 2015

The dragons are bigger, the swords are sharper and the kids are meaner. The stage has been set for the most epic season so far!

Page 1 of 3