Game of Thrones: Season 5 Episode 6 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 5 Episode 6 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Randy Dankievitch
TV Over Mind
March 4, 2020

"Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken" is an episode that explores that quest for inner truth; unfortunately, it does so by leaving the audience with another troublesome and particularly unnecessary depiction of sexual violence.

Angela L. Harmon
The NitPic
December 11, 2019

Fortunately, this episode did provide us with some clues into what goes on in this really dimly lit building.

Richard Rushfield
Uproxx
April 12, 2019

In five seasons, this was the first episode I would call "unpleasant:": from the opening sequence to the very final note.

Chris Mandle
The Week
April 4, 2019

This is a painful and complicated scene. It feels needlessly explicit - especially after the highly criticized incident last year between Jaime and Cersei.

Charlie Jane Anders
io9.com
April 4, 2019

The show rushed through that plot point a few episodes ago, and this storyline is harder to watch as a result.

Myles McNutt
AV Club
Top Critic
April 4, 2019

As much as I want to know what happens next and follow this story forward, it's hard not to leave the episode feeling a bit uneasy about the path ahead given the way things end here.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
David Malitz
Washington Post
Top Critic
April 4, 2019

Tonight's closing scene with Ramsay Bolton and Sansa was just flat-out disgusting.

Alyssa Rosenberg
Washington Post
Top Critic
April 4, 2019

If this scene had to exist, the show's version of it... managed to maintain a fine balance, employing a dignity and care for the experiences of victims that "Game of Thrones" has not always demonstrated.

Siena Yates
Stuff.co.nz
April 4, 2019

This show is terrible to Sansa, and never more so than in this latest episode.

Dave Trumbore
Collider
April 4, 2019

This horrible act is handled differently in the book and I can't quite decide which is worse,.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Michael Rougeau
Mashable
April 4, 2019

I would have rather watched an entire episode of Meereen than witness the ongoing butchery of the Dornish plotline, which wasn't even very strong in the books and in the show, it is totally hopeless.

Bridie Roman
SFX Magazine
April 4, 2019

The end, however, pushes the show's edginess a little too far, far enough that it feels wrong to rate it out of five. So for the excellence of the rest of the story episode six is worth of 4.5/5. But for the end? No stars.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
David Crow
Den of Geek
April 4, 2019

Remarkably Game of Thrones reserved some modicum of restraint by not going so far as "A Song of Ice and Fire" did, but the scene is no less horrifying and damnable on Reek's behalf.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Erik Kain
Forbes
April 4, 2019

I thought this was a very strong episode of a season that I've enjoyed quite a lot so far. Yes, it's going too quickly for my liking---and too slowly for many non-readers.

Sarah Marrs
Lainey Gossip
April 4, 2019

It's incredibly effective storytelling, and it stands in sharp counterpoint to Daenerys's similarly troubling wedding consummation, which was done in-camera.

Aaron Riccio
Slant Magazine
April 4, 2019

We may not be able to control the narrative of what happens to us, but we can at least manage how we react to these things, forcing a genuine smile on a false face while secretly plotting revenge and murder behind it.

Jill Pantozzi
The Mary Sue
April 4, 2019

I honestly didn't think we'd find ourselves here again, and the fact that we have fills me with utter disappointment.

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
April 4, 2019

As grim a turning point as this was, there wasn't really much doubt that Sansa could endure it and remain, as last night's title appropriately put it, unbowed, unbent and unbroken.

Alex Mullane
Digital Spy
April 4, 2019

It's a backwards step in storytelling for one of the characters with the most clearly defined forward growth

William Evans
Black Nerd Problems
June 22, 2018

Now you finally see the burden of womanhood and how it pertains to legacy.

Page 1 of 3