Star Trek: Discovery: Season 2 Episode 7 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Trek: Discovery: Season 2 Episode 7 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Lauren O'Callaghan
SFX Magazine
March 1, 2019

Star Trek Discovery slows down for an episode which deals with family drama and sets up some interesting plot points for next week.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Gavia Baker-Whitelaw
The Daily Dot
March 1, 2019

We also learn some key details about Spock and Michael's backstories, but in a way that feels more like an informative update than organic storytelling.

Swapna Krishna
Syfy Wire
March 1, 2019

One of my big hopes for Discovery's second season was that we'd learn more about the secondary bridge crew. The show has been doing exactly that, giving these "background" characters their opportunities to shine.

Sopan Deb
New York Times
Top Critic
March 1, 2019

It's no coincidence that the strongest parts of the episode involve [Spock] and the Red Angel mystery.

Devon Maloney
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 1, 2019

Especially after the streak of excellent installments we've seen here on Star Trek: Discovery, "Light and Shadows" was, to put it as kindly as I know how, a clusterfrick.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
James Whitbrook
io9.com
March 1, 2019

Ultimately, neither storyline actually gets to do much than prep the audience for far more interesting stories to come.

Scott Collura
IGN Movies
March 1, 2019

Light and Shadows provides plenty to dig into and a bunch of fun scenarios

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Darren Franich
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 1, 2019

Any Disco episode with a Michelle Yeoh fight scene earns some grade inflation.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Kayti Burt
Den of Geek
March 1, 2019

This is the first time, for me, that they have felt like a real family on Discovery. I hope this trend continues once Spock is, you know, present.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Andrew Todd
Birth.Movies.Death.
March 1, 2019

We'd always known Spock was ostracised for his mixed heritage, but making him a cross-species equivalent of dyslexic is an entirely new wrinkle. Personally, I love it.

Zack Handlen
AV Club
Top Critic
March 1, 2019

There aren't many decisions here with the scope of last week's stupidity, and that's a relief.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 1