The Americans: Season 6 Episode 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Americans: Season 6 Episode 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Sean T. Collins
Decider
Top Critic
June 20, 2018

Director Rhys conveys the imbalance of knowledge and power in this scene with a shot of mother and daughter on a hill, the former above the latter.

Eric Eidelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
June 4, 2018

[Elizabeth is] doing it all without Philip now, she has Paige-a real agent-to consider, and everything is clearly taking its toll.

Brian Grubb
Uproxx
April 5, 2018

There are some things in life you can't unsee, things that burn themselves into your brain and haunt you for the rest of your life. I've got to imagine "your mom's panicked face covered in a man's brains" is one of those things.

Matt Brennan
Paste Magazine
April 5, 2018

This interest in the meaning of work, both its cost and its worth, is the central feature of "Tchaikovsky," elaborated in so many contexts that the episode maintains its focus despite covering an immense amount of narrative terrain.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Ben Travers
indieWire
Top Critic
April 5, 2018

"Tchaikovsky" is a move-the-needle episode with a number of strong moments that pop among the many minor moments.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
Top Critic
April 5, 2018

The lunch is mainly useful for hearing about the unsettled state of the White House... This is a nice callback to season one.

Scott Tobias
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
April 5, 2018

Never forget that The Americans is a show about parenting, and parents always want the younger generation to have it better than they did.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
April 5, 2018

After the opening during the premiere and the music, especially, I expect there is a chance the Jennings' marriage will survive, so I'm holding out hope that the tiny cracks in Elizabeth that are near-impossible to comprehend are good signs.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.1/5
Emily VanDerWerff
Vox
Top Critic
April 5, 2018

I find it rather interesting that at this point in the season, the "character" I'm most worried about is their marriage.

Alec Bojalad
Den of Geek
April 5, 2018

"Tchaikovsky" is probably lacking the narrative oomph to go down in the all-time Americans canon. But it's a welcome entry into a so-far very satisfying final season.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mike Hale
New York Times
Top Critic
April 5, 2018

It was fun to see the unstoppable Elizabeth shutting up, sitting down and picking up a pencil for the immovable Erica.

Erik Adams
AV Club
Top Critic
April 5, 2018

What "Tchaikovsky" gave me with these characters was a renewed sense of how big the world of The Americans is, and how its terrain is littered with loose ends that could trip up Elizabeth, Philip, and Paige.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Anthony Breznican
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
April 5, 2018

All of this seems like foundation for a future story, but there's no payoff in this episode.

Page 1 of 1