The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 Episode 9 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 Episode 9 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Fiona Flynn
entertainment.ie
January 7, 2020

The best and most uplifting part of the entire episode, nay, series to date, was when Nick delivered the news to June that Luke loved her, that he would never give up, and oh yeah, that Moira escaped and is alive and well.

Julia Raeside
Guardian
Top Critic
July 16, 2018

The koshing of Janine was callous, but the spewing rage aimed at the Waterfords went some way to diluting the usual grimness. What would have been a 4 rises to a 6, thanks to Isaac's casual brutality.

Jennifer Lind-Westbrook
Tell-Tale TV
June 19, 2018

The Handmaid's Tale continues to entangle several key characters in unlikely alliances.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Andrea Thompson
The Young Folks
June 15, 2018

The Handmaid's Tale achieved a milestone in that it finally got me to sympathize with Serena, "Smart Power" does something far more essential. It holds her accountable.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Alonso Duralde
What the Flick?!
Top Critic
June 15, 2018

This show gives you the chance of revolution...No matter how dire the circumstances are, there are people who are going to fight it and maybe topple it.

Kimberly Roots
TV Line
June 14, 2018

[Fred] is so smug about the whole thing that I want to take the sign Luke is holding and stick it where the Good Shepherd's countenance will never shine upon it.

Hillary Kelly
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
June 14, 2018

There really is no rational reason that Canada would invite the Waterfords at all. But Handmaid's Tale had to kick-start what I'm assuming will be further escalating tensions with our no-longer-friendly neighbors to the north.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Hannah Sole
Pajiba
June 14, 2018

We finally have some movement, and God knows, we needed it. As much as I love this show, it has been frustrating that nothing ever goes anywhere.

Judy Berman
New York Times
Top Critic
June 14, 2018

In this season of "The Handmaid's Tale," Serena's catastrophic lack of foresight about Gilead has made her the show's most fascinating character.

David Canfield
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
June 14, 2018

Handmaid's works best at its most humane and this meditative, quietly devastating episode is, accordingly, one of the season's very best.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Allison Shoemaker
AV Club
Top Critic
June 14, 2018

"Smart Power," a tense hour of The Handmaid's Tale, is a carefully wrought piece of television that mostly sets the stage for what's to come, and yet there's something about it that lingers.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Christopher Hooton
Independent (UK)
Top Critic
June 14, 2018

I can't praise the creators, cast and crew behind The Handmaid's Tale enough, the show is soaring in its post-source material era, perhaps even topping the novel-based first season.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
June 13, 2018

I hate love triangles, but this one fell into place in a way that couldn't be helped. I love them all, and with the honesty that's currently at play, it's impossible to choose a happy ending for June, but I sure hope she gets one.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Amy Glynn
Paste Magazine
June 13, 2018

Whoa.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
Constance Grady
Vox
Top Critic
June 13, 2018

The Canadian plot line also created enough distance from Gilead that it really hit me, for the first time in a while, just how vile the Commander is.

Cheryl Eddy
io9.com
June 13, 2018

While "Smart Power" does contain a few awful moments, taken as a whole it's the most triumphant hour season two has delivered so far.

Page 1 of 1