This Is Us: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 5, 2019
This Is Us smashes barriers in its exploration of mental health and addiction.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 25, 2019
Where This is Us truly shines, though, is in the story of Randall. In his childhood flashbacks, an awareness of his race - and of the larger implications of being Black in America - brings with it stories of gradually coming-into-Blackness.
November 6, 2018
It's a fine start to the season on a show that's never been shy of big emotions.
July 9, 2018
Please take this as a warning. One moment you could be chuckling with joyful abandon. The next sucker punched in the left ventricle with some heart-wrenching scene. And it bloody hurts.
July 5, 2018
The strong performances across the board, and the sense of quiet intrigue provided by a tragedy looming in the distance, renders it a family affair worth sticking with.
March 14, 2018
This Is Us isn't a particularly good television show, but it's an excellent pressure release valve. And couldn't you use a pressure release valve?
March 7, 2018
The plot thickens.
February 21, 2018
When you add butter, food tastes good. This Is Us makes people cry, even me, and, as far as I'm concerned, that's serving a public purpose.
February 14, 2018
This Is Us has, in its short lifespan, morphed from a likeable, interesting drama into a treacly mess of trumped-up angst underscored by the requisite sad acoustic-guitar-strings soundtrack reserved for "heartwarming" family dramas. Enough already.
January 31, 2018
This Is Us is really about consequences, cause and effect and how one seemingly small moment can make a lifetime of an impact. The fact that it's so popular, emotional or relatable will turn some people off, but I say take the show for what it is.
November 28, 2017
This trilogy of episodes are artfully done. They overlap neatly and effectively convey the writers' overarching message that, at any given moment, each member of a family is going through his or her own mess, oblivious to the other person's mess.
November 1, 2017
The show is not afraid to explore the unique experience of plus-sized people, but with Kate, they haven't built a character made up of stereotypes and tropes, either.
October 3, 2017
Overall, the season premiere didn't leave me crying (sorry, tissues). However, the ending was jaw-dropping and dramatic that I now have so many questions as to what happened to Jack and what caused his death.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 3, 2017
It's noble. It's sappy. It's irresistible.
September 28, 2017
Surrounded by a sea of extraordinary characters on cable, This Is Us presents us with regular - in fact, almost aggressively regular - people.
September 28, 2017
This Is Us works on different levels because of the writing, acting, and directing. Race, gender roles, and body image issues are interwoven into the storyline.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 27, 2017
Sure, we wanted to know how Jack died... but we didn't want to find out like this.
September 27, 2017
It's happening -- the night of Jack's death. For those who thought seeing a glimpse of his funeral was bad, this was tenfold.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 27, 2017
We've reached a point where this one puzzle has now started to overwhelm the many things This Is Us is good (and, at times, great) at, and to turn into the exact kind of Reddit bait that Fogelman said he doesn't want it to be.
September 27, 2017
I highly recommend This is Us to those who like their romance stories a bit darker and less optimistic than the usual fluff.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 1 of 2