Time: Season 1 Reviews

Aug 19, 2021
Bean is so good as Mark, walking around with a countenance that's equal parts "how did I get here?" and "I need to atone for my sins," it makes the story fascinating to watch.
Aug 13, 2021
Absolutely breathtaking.
Jul 29, 2021
The type of mini-series the BBC excel at.
Jul 19, 2021
McGovern can sometimes wear his big old Scouse heart a little too bleedingly on his sleeve. Here, however, he's pretty much at his best: packing genuine emotional punch.
Jul 9, 2021
Under Arnold's documentary-style direction, intensely realistic, Time is relentless, unnerving and urgent storytelling, TV drama that matters.
Jul 7, 2021
Bean's and Graham's performances are as brilliantly contained and captivating as you'd expect, and there's great casting across the board as a small host of supporting players flesh out the milieu and the issues McGovern wants to get to.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Jun 28, 2021
This was a triumph, if at times an appallingly hard watch. The casting didn't hurt.
Jun 14, 2021
I persisted, even if I was watching through my fingers. And now I've seen all three episodes, I am entirely satisfied that this was the right decision, a good decision, and the only decision.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jun 12, 2021
A brilliantly executed look at two men on either side of the cell door of the prison system.
Jun 11, 2021
Besides being a riveting drama, Time raises the question of what prison is for, or should be for.
Jun 9, 2021
In this drama, McGovern labours a somewhat basic point, which is that prison mostly doesn't work (or not in this country). But my God, the way he does it. Very little happens and yet, everything does
Jun 9, 2021
Director Lewis Arnold piles on the claustrophobic menace, crowding the frame until it feels as if the violence could spill out of the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jun 7, 2021
If the government is looking for an advert to convince people to avoid prison at all costs, it has found it. It is also compelling television, though, with a premium cast and written like a punch to the face. In a good way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jun 7, 2021
Time is worth watching for their performances alone, but you'll find it impossible not to also have some moral and ethical takeaways too. All-in-all, it's a frustrating watch - but that seems to be entirely the point.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jun 7, 2021
It's not going to end well, is it? But at least we get to watch two actors at the very top of their game.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jun 7, 2021
The distractions of casting aside, Time is a visceral and violently scary drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jun 7, 2021
Under the gaze of director Lewis Arnold (Des), every line, every flicker of emotion on those two famous faces is pushed to the fore.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jun 7, 2021
The performances of Bean and Graham are, even though we have come to expect brilliance from them both, astonishing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jun 7, 2021
Here, [creator Jimmy McGovern's] expertise at knitting together character and action so that each is constantly driving the other forward is an object lesson that many a TV writer would do well to study.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jun 7, 2021
Time is solid, sturdy and just a little slow.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5