True Detective : Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 13, 2018
It's that the second season of True Detective feels ordinary while the first felt extraordinary... The ordinariness is a quality that weighs heavily on True Detective because its cop-show genre is all over TV.
June 13, 2018
All of the lead actors dig deeply into their roles, with Farrell playing the wary, weary burnout to perfection, and Vaughn shifting into full-throttle intensity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 29, 2015
True Detective would benefit if everyone lightened up.
June 22, 2015
Is this season just a parody of last season, which already was kind of a parody of itself? Did I just write a line of Pizzolato-logue?
June 22, 2015
Season 2 of True Detective appears to have abandoned abandon; it is careful and controlled in a way that seems highly self-conscious.
June 22, 2015
It is formidably focused on deeply troubled people. It is set in a country that the author sees as depleted, drained of joy. And that is its strength, if you have the grit to concentrate and stay with it.
July 24, 2018
There's no problem with the acting talent or the pungently evocative cinematography, but what we need to know is whether this new series can carve itself a niche distinct from its rather-too-familiar antecedent.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 16, 2018
There are virtues in the second season of 'True Detective' that are forming an intimate and strong coherence between the two deliveries. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 15, 2018
By episode three this year, we're no closer to understanding how any of its leads fit together in their differing dynamics, or which investigation (of several corruption scandals) to follow.
June 13, 2018
Pizzolatto's writing is not without its irritations, particularly his dialogue... Ultimately, the characters are too fascinating to turn loose of.
October 17, 2017
Anyone who tells you the original was an instant hit from the word go is lying. It took at least two, maybe three episodes before viewers became fully attuned to its offbeat rhythms. Season two looks like it could be heading along a similar path.
June 13, 2017
While this is distinctly and unmistakably True Detective, it's also something of a reinvention: with the same sense of menace but less claustrophobic, less of a two-hander and with a broader, richer brief.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 8, 2017
This season seems to be parodying itself. Sometimes, the romance between a show and its viewers ends badly. To paraphrase True Detective 2's tagline: Maybe we get the television we deserve.
March 28, 2017
A lot of what was sometimes disparaged about the first season of True Detective-its southern Gothic noir, its amusing faux philosophy, its virility-will be missed in the much limper second season.
October 3, 2016
What's missing so far is what drove the first show: a sense of evil so palpable you felt like you needed a bath after watching it.
September 26, 2016
Vaughn does not have half [McConaighey's] charisma, however, and Semyon's wordy meditations on his ambition and paranoia do not work nearly as well.
November 18, 2015
I don't want every recap to boil down to "Season one was better", but at the same time I think that the anthology format invites the compare-and-contrast approach. So, fair warning, I'm probably going to be doing a lot more of it in future recaps.
September 17, 2015
It's not bad, but it's repetitive, predictable, boring and vulgar. [Full review in Spanish]
July 8, 2015
This new iteration of True Detective feels less like a Louisiana ghost story, and more like the love child of Chinatown and Mulholland Drive, two films determined to blacken California's otherwise golden finish.
June 29, 2015
All four lead actors bring a sense of determined purpose to their roles, and each delivers an impressive performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 5