When We Rise: Miniseries Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 31, 2019
In these adventurous moments, this often feel-good series hits its dramatic peaks.
March 6, 2017
This four-night drama about the gay and lesbian rights movement in the United States is packed with wonderfully nuanced performances and splendidly resonant moments.
March 2, 2017
When We Rise admirably illustrates the virtue and necessity of activism, but it doesn't have enough muscle. There's a piousness, a politeness at root in the series that withers in the harsh glare of our political moment.
March 1, 2017
When We Rise suggests that even in the most stubbornly dark of times, it's still possible to start digging tunnels and, eventually, generate light at the end of them.
February 28, 2017
While the excellent acting and compelling storyline in this series will likely draw viewers attention, the often stilted messaging can dull the drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 28, 2017
When We Rise is a history lesson that would have benefited from some editing, but that's the conundrum: There's no era or development that could really be cut without it seeming dismissive.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 27, 2017
When We Rise is a high minded and generally recommended history of the gay rights movement, a sincere effort by Dustin Lance Black, screenwriter of Milk to provide history and hope in an eight-hour project.
February 27, 2017
As a television drama, it often plays like a high-minded, dutiful educational video. But at its best moments, it's also a timely statement that identity is not just an abstraction but a matter of family, livelihood, life and death.
February 27, 2017
When We Rise's timid and narrow idea of what counts as progress doesn't do justice to all the bravery, imagination, and hard work that went into making that progress a reality.
February 27, 2017
As a broadcast with a message so urgent that it discards the adornments of sophisticated TV, When We Rise succeeds.
February 27, 2017
When We Rise is the most impactful LGBT-centric series since HBO's "Angels in America" more than a decade ago. Sure, it's a small playing field, but a notable one given the challenges of today.
February 27, 2017
When We Rise... isn't TV kale or spinach. It's as lively as it is poignant, and at its best when it's demonstrating how the personal and the political can overlap, and how they can come into conflict.
February 27, 2017
Even if ABC's eight-hour, four-night miniseries isn't quite a knockout, its victory is in its very existence if not its execution.
February 27, 2017
Arriving at a time when so much of the country is primed for its own organized protests, When We Rise offers valuable models for resistance in the present day.
February 27, 2017
The miniseries is meant to be a Roots for the LGBT community. Unfortunately, much of it is about as enjoyable as civics class on a Saturday afternoon.
February 27, 2017
Important television, but also wildly, maddeningly uneven TV, too.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 27, 2017
For those under a certain age it's likely to be a well-dramatized history lesson; for those over that age it's a flashback look at modern times.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 27, 2017
What you're really getting from the American Broadcasting Company is the American view of civil rights: The belief that none of us is secure in our rights until we all are.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 27, 2017
When We Rise is an enriching, bonafide TV event of the first order and also powerful enough to change more than a few entrenched minds. Bravo to ABC, for unflinchingly standing behind it. You don't have to watch. But really, you should.
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 27, 2017
The sweeping social history contained within the grueling and inspiring four-night sprawl of [Rise] can feel like a Cliff's Notes approach... yet it makes sense for the storytelling to be as messy and at times unfocused as the very act of revolution.
Page 1 of 2