All About Eve - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

All About Eve Reviews

Page 1 of 140
March 18, 2018
Davanti a film così vecchi risulta difficile dare un giudizio sia soggettivo che oggettivo. Un film è radicato nel periodo storico in cui è uscito, e solo il pubblico di allora conosce l'impatto che ha avuto nella società dell'epoca. A questo punto l'unica cosa che si potrebbe fare è immedesimarsi nel pubblico di allora, o cercare i motivi per cui è stato così apprezzato tanto da diventare un classico, e probabilmente uno dei film più importanti della storia. Sicuramente è un film che si basa sui personaggi, sulla sceneggiatura e su tutti i dialoghi in generale. Questi ultimi fanno parte di lunghe sequenze che rispettano i canoni convenzionali dell'epoca. Ancora adesso il film non annoia ed intrattiene senza problemi, un aspetto che non sempre è scontato per una pellicola così datata. Si riesce ad intuire lo stile classico e tradizionale dell'epoca, uno stile a cui si ispireranno registi e sceneggiatori del futuro, scegliendo film del genere come esempi da seguire.
½ March 8, 2018
In the 21st century, this classic about an aging actress is still relevant.
½ February 10, 2018
Melodrama at its best. 1001 movies to see before you die.
January 24, 2018
A classic. The pace and wit of the dialogue unmatched in most modern films.
January 13, 2018
Bette Davis is at the top of er game as successful actress Margo Channing in this brilliant, all time classic movie. All About Eve is an early example of what we'd probably call a "stalker" movie these days but it is done with such skill and care that the real creepy, horrific element of what is actually going on is easy to miss. Anne Baxter plays superman Eve who stalks and studies her idol, Margot, with the cunning and guile of a rattlesnake, only to find herself trapped by her own machinations. Joseph L. Mankiewicz's directs his stellar cast with enormous skill and the result is a movie that has become legend.
½ January 6, 2018
Magnetic. Deserving of its status as a classic.
½ January 1, 2018
This is one of the worst films I have ever seen. Normally I would switch off if I wasn't enjoying a film but this one was so egregiously bad I was compelled to keep watching, as if mesmerised by its awfulness - the hamminess of the acting, the direness of the dialogue, the one-dimensional characters. And to think that this is widely considered to be one of the best films of all time. Words fail me.
December 20, 2017
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Worth watching.
½ October 28, 2017
Perfect camera work and great use of character interaction. A balance of mystery, comedy and drama that maintains suspense at a steady yet attractive pace.
½ October 4, 2017
This is a brilliantly acted film from a tight script. It's a tale about greed, and dreams set in the theatre. And it only seems to get better with age.
September 21, 2017
We certainly would not be talking great cinema without it!
September 17, 2017
A great film with excellent performances across the board.
August 22, 2017
Bette Davis blew me away in this. Love this film!!!
August 21, 2017
This drama contains strong performances, especially from its female actors. Davis' performance in particular is outstanding. It contains a clever and witty script, which makes the film an entertaining view. Considered to be one of the best movies of all time. AAN 1001
August 3, 2017
A great film about an up and coming actress that achieved greatness while using no so great means to get there.
July 31, 2017
The highlight of All About Eve is the amazing cast and it's always brilliant star Bette Davis. Let's not forget this legendary script with witty and humorous situations and complex characters and twist. It's a must watch classic.
July 29, 2017
It's a gem. A gem of elegance and intelligence so superbly directed that it looks symmetric, the end joining the beginning, Eve becoming Margo. Mankiewicz's Hollywood classic is a brilliant tale of ambition and backstabbing within the showbiz, stunningly remarkable for its memorable performances, especially from a magnetic Bette Davis who portrays a fading but magnificent stage star, Margo Channing, overtaken by Eve (Anne Baxter). And the dialogues thoroughly sharpen 'All About Eve', making it delightfully fun and witty.
July 24, 2017
Si existe algo así como una película perfecta, tal vez "All About Eve" es una de ellas.

Eve Harrington, una joven actriz (Anne Baxter), intenta tomar el lugar de Margo Channing, una actriz en el ocaso de su carrera (Bette Davis), tanto en el escenario como en su vida privada y el enfrentamiento entre estas dos mujeres es llevado a cabo con un gran arsenal de comentarios mordaces.

"All About Eve" es una lección magistral sobre guión y dirección (ambos oficios a cargo de Joseph L. Mankiewicz). Cada diálogo es exquisito en forma y contenido, lo que hace pensar que junto con "Enfants Du Paradis" de Marcel Carné y Marcel Prevert, esta es tal vez la película mejor escrita de la historia.

Ni hablar de los actores: Bette Davis nos entrega la mejor actuación de su carrera (y eso ya es mucho decir), interpretando a una actriz banal, paranoica y de emociones extremas, Anne Baxter también hace su papel definitivo como una criatura tan superficial como despiadada y George Sanders es el cinismo encarnado interpretando al crítico Addison De Witt.

Nominada a 14 premios Oscar (obtuvo el merecido Premio a Mejor Película), esta cinta acerca del viperino ambiente del teatro de Nueva York, además de esos estupendos e inmortales diálogos, también posee una fotografía en blanco y negro de ensueño y una dirección de una gran precisión.

P.d. No se pierda la breve aparición de una joven Marilyn Monroe como una "graduada de la Escuela de Arte Dramático de Copacabana".
July 11, 2017
All About Eve is a classic about the endless cycles vanity and vicious ambition.
July 5, 2017
6-19-2017. Original rating (9-7-2011)
Page 1 of 140