The Informers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Informers Reviews

Page 1 of 45
October 21, 2016
Aimless and lifeless. Although, not AS bad as I expected.
October 3, 2016
not bad but fairly aimless
August 14, 2016
This movie might have been called "The Pathetic Lives of Hollywood's Rich and Famous." An incredibly dull film that takes place in the 1980s about a group of wealthy young kids and their estranged parents living very shallow lives. The movie doesn't seem to go anywhere. I can't quite figure out what's it about. There's also a side story about the doorman of the building where these people live which doesn't seem to have any relation to what's going on.
Super Reviewer
½ May 20, 2016
Criminally underrated.
February 4, 2016
want to see it for Brad Renfro last film!
Super Reviewer
½ November 11, 2015
Great performances in a desolate story by Bret Easton Ellis about moral decay amidst society glamour in the Los Angeles of 1983, showing rich people living of sex, drugs, power, wealth and fame, and the misery of their lives.
½ September 13, 2015
Complete waste of time.
May 7, 2015
May 12th 2010
May 6th 2015
March 1, 2015
Sex drugs infidelity. This is the trashy side of Los Angeles circa the 1980's. Married couples cheating on each other. A young woman have threesomes and doing drugs. An actress losing her way in life. A drug dealer in his early twenties trying to make sense of his life.

If you want to see naked girl played by Johnny depp's new wife the sexy Amber heard dancing naked for two guys. Or see young people dancing and snorting cocaine. Or maybe stunned that actors like Winona Ryder, Kevin bacon, billy bob Thornton, Kim basinger, Mickey rourke, singer Chris isaak, British actor Rhys Ifans and late brad rendfro doing in such a bad movie astonishes me.

Based on the book by Brett Easton Ellis whose books were made into films like American Psycho and less than zero.

An utter waste if talent
January 26, 2015
Although it eliminates the vampire subplot from the novel, The Informers is still just as idiotic while displaying the same tired tropes of Bret Easton Ellis past works.
January 9, 2015
only thing i liked about this movie were Amber Heard's amazing breasts :)
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 1, 2015
This is one of the worst drama movies i have seen this year. The storyline is the biggest issue which felt quite pointless to be honest. I almost turned it off after the first half but i gave it a fair chance and watched the whole flick but i was very disappointed. The story follows a few people in their life with different kinds of problems/stories but none of them are interesting and the main thread seems quite lost. The cast is quite good with Mickey Rourke , Kim Basinger and Billy Bob Thornton so its a pity to see them in this terrible movie. Better to spend your time on something else because this is not worth it !
½ September 28, 2014
No tiene nada bueno, ni la música, ni la historia. Es como ver un capítulo largo de Melrose Place, con muy mala fotografía, actuaciones pésimas y con una historia que no tiene sentido ni emoción.
½ September 26, 2014
starts promisingly, And then... well, maybe it IS an accurate portrait of Reagan era 80s. but it flails about in its second act, and the director see saws too much between soap opera and actual penetrating drama. pick one and stick with it guy! Oh, and what seems to be an ending that kinda sorta comes totally out of nowhere. did we really care about Amber Heard that much?
July 31, 2014
Morally defective, high society snobs are of no interest to me.
June 24, 2014
Como directa adaptacion de un libro de Brett Easton Ellis, esta historia esta ubicado en los 80s, la era de las Reaganomics, especificamente la de 1983, la era en la que DEMASIADO nunca fue suficiente.
y aqui tenemos todo lo que hay en anteriores adaptaciones de libros de BEE, personajes de polos opuestos, lo mas alto de la sociedad representado por gente blanca, rubia y bonita que no los vemos hacer nada mas que dormir, tirar bola, e ir de fiesta por las nooches con todo tipo de excesos (sexo, drogas y lo demas) y el punto bajo, los criminales y exconvictos sin moral.


La musica a lo largo de la pelicula es muy buena al oido y rodeando la atmosfera entera de la pelicula filmada con una estetica algo burda e interesante! totalmente 80s! lastima que eso no sea suficiente pues la historia aunque tenga muchos personajes jamas llega al fondo de ellos y solo los muestra sueprficialmente como lo haria un novele ochentera.

Espero que cuando salga el DVD tenga un version del Director o algo que le agrege profundidad a la moovie porque para sus 93 minutos se queda muuy muy corta!
½ April 30, 2014
Taking into account this L.A. set multi-stranded ensemble piece was a complete flop in America and only got a very limited cinematic release here in the UK (strange considering it arguably has the best cast of any film in 2009), it's not bad at all, the 80's feel is very much like the book and the soundtrack is terrific. The segments range from interesting to pointless; I enjoyed the stuff with Jon Foster, Austin Nichols and Amber Heard (who looks absolutely stunning by the way). The story with Mickey Rourke and the late Brad Renfro is good too but perhaps the most interesting is the one with Lou Taylor Pucci as Tim who struggles to bond with his dad (Chris Isaak) in their trip to Hawaii. The performances between the two are great and this part is very faithful to the book. As for the pointless ones; Billy Bob Thornton, Kim Basinger and Winona Ryder just turn up for their pay cheques while Rhys Ifans is in the film for about 10 seconds. I was disappointed they cancelled the vampire scenes (really clever chapter in the book where a guy fantasizes about being a vampire, with American Psycho-esque humour), it would've been great to see the originally attached Brandon Routh (Superman Returns) play him. I seen an interview with Jon Foster (who plays Graham) and even he was confused to why they dropped the story, the producers must've bottled it. I'm still trying to understand why this film has had such a quiet release and why barely anyone has heard of it. I just think the producers never spent enough on promoting the film after they interfered too much and totally soured writers Nicholas Jarecki and Bret Easton Ellis' vision (who left the project after it drifted too far away from his novel). However, apparently there was a 160 minute cut of the film he was pretty happy with and hopefully we'll see it someday. Despite all the production problems and the general critical mauling I think The Informers is a decent character piece that's worth checking out, especially for the standout performances by Jon Foster and Lou Taylor Pucci. The downbeat ending is also pretty effective and along with many moments in the film, stays with you for a few days.
March 31, 2014
A compendium of stories which is more Southland Tales than Short Cuts.
I'm surprised I could stay awake through it to be honest.
½ January 17, 2014
Movies about miserable people in Los Angeles can be great (Robert Altman's "Short Cuts"). This film, adapted from a series of short stories by Bret Easton Ellis ("American Psycho"), is a slog to get through. There's a lot of young pretty things having sex, and some very good actors (Billy Bob Thornton, Rhys Ifans) looking bored. Aside from a few moments at the end, it's a giant bore.
January 3, 2014
This melancholic tale about ill fated characters living as a lost generation has its good moments. It's a good film, it never leaves you uninterested or bored or angry. It's main difficulty is a script that doesn't dig a little deeper and rarely gives some powerful insights about how troubled was the 1980's even with everything going in your favor like the characters presented here, all rich and beautiful but miserably sad. 
Page 1 of 45