Glory - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Glory Reviews

Page 1 of 182
October 5, 2016
Although the performances are fine and the cinematography is great, Glory doesn't add much to the genre.
October 1, 2016
There's a reason this is my favorite movie of all-time. What a story and what a cast! Not only is it historically accurate, but this movie helps capture the spirit of brotherhood, bravery, and sacrifice. The acting by all actors is top notch and makes all viewers feel as if they are right there in the moment with them.

Aside from the acting, there are so many other aspects that make this movie worth watching. The cinematography is excellent and is a major reason for it winning an Academy Award for it. In addition, you will be drawn in and fall in love with the amazing score composed by the late James Horner. It is a score that not only makes each scene in the movie greater, but immerses you in that same moment. The battle scenes are excellent considering the year it was released. Without the aid of CGI that so many movies rely on nowadays, the movie captures the authenticity and brutal nature of the Civil War.

As for the movie and storyline itself, this is where the heart of the movie is. The movie has so many subplots that work extremely well together to help create the overall message and purpose that the main plot holds. Each character has his own little story to help contribute to the plot, but as little as it may be, you care for each little story. It allows the viewer to actually want to know what happens next and is supporting the characters the entire way through.

Whether you are a student in high school learning about the Civil War or just a regular person, it doesn't matter who you are, this is a film that you must see. It will give you great insight into what the war was actually like and the reason behind why so many Americans fought and lost their lives for. Not only is it the best Civil War film, but in my opinion, it is the best war film out there that both captures the action and the moving story behind it all.
½ September 25, 2016
Powerful portrayal, sometimes graphic of the horrors of the American civil war. Better than most of it's genre due to the talent of its actors. Most notably Washington.
September 8, 2016
A civil war based film at it's finest!
August 19, 2016
Beautifully told war-epic with brilliant performances throughout. Denzel Washington steals the show in this movie about courage, heart, and the struggles faced by African-Americans. The cinematography is excellent to say the least and the end result is a civil war movie that will remain classic for a very long time.
August 15, 2016
A glorious, powerful look at the Union Army that I never had an interest in until watching this cinematic masterpiece.
June 29, 2016
Probably the best war movie ever made, and I've seen a lot f them.
June 29, 2016
Still love this movie a lot, been a long while since i had watched again. Movie stars Matthew Broderick, Morgan Freeman, Denzel Washington, and Cary Elwes as well as some other familiar faces. Freeman and Washington represent part of the first formal unit consisting of African Americans fighting for their freedom. The movie deals with the struggle of the commanding officer (Broderick) who has to fight to not only arm and clothe his soldiers properly because of government push back but earning the trust of his troops and pulling the regiment out of what was supposed to be just a "show" regiment to appease President Lincoln and other high officials. Totally superb acting (Denzel kills it) and still gets me emotionally charged. The film was done in 1989 so if you never caught it or watched it i highly recommend it.

June 16, 2016
Among my all-time favorite movies. I cannot understand why anyone wouldn't give it 100% five stars. Both entertaining and emotional at the same time. There are many scenes in the movie that stick with you forever.
May 8, 2016
A powerful Civil War movie with great performances all around.
March 27, 2016
Director Edward Zwick's Glory is the definitive Civil War picture. Though not as epic-in-scope as Gettysburg, it is the more fundamentally and emotionally sound of the two; a picture where the drama defines the story and never becomes lost under the action. A winner of several Oscars though disappointingly failing to earn nominations for Best Picture and Best Score, the film nevertheless remains critical viewing not for its portrayal of the Civil War but rather for its profile in courage as a group of men define themselves not by the color of their skin but rather by their moral code, brotherhood, and steadfastness in defending both their lives and the principals they stand for, no matter the odds or their opponent. Completed by a memorable score courtesy of James Horner, Glory is a lasting tribute to both the power of courage and heroism and fantastic filmmaking.
March 10, 2016
It's one of those "You have to be American to get it" movies.
½ February 8, 2016
Glad to see Thomas finally gets into it. Poor sod really didnt enjoy being a soldier all that much
February 1, 2016
Superb, stirring...and necessary.

The true story of the 54th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, told mostly through the eyes of their commander, Colonel Robert Gould Shaw (played by Matthew Broderick). Formed during the American Cicil War, the 54th Massachusetts was the first African-American unit in the US Army. We see the formation of the regiment, its first volunteers, their training, disputes with administrators, their first operations in South Carolina and, finally, their moment of glory - the attack on Fort Wagner.

Incredibly moving movie. The regiment is historical for its formation, for its attack on Fort Wagner and for how, through their courage, the regiment inspired many other African-Americans to enlist in the Union army, to the extent that about 180,000 African-Americans fought for the Union in the Civil War.

We see the issues they had to go through, facing racial prejudice at every turn. We also get to feel how their existence symbolizes why the war was being fought, and what's at stake if the Union loses.

A quite necessary movie, for the above reason and to show the part African-Americans played in the Civil War. Plus it conveys a strong tolerance and anti-racism message.

Solid performance by Matthew Broderick in the lead role. Denzel Washington gives the stand-out performance, as Private Trip. He got a Best Supporting Actor Oscar for his efforts.

Good support too from Morgan Freeman and Cary Elwes.
½ January 20, 2016
Glory is one of the best war movies I've ever seen with amazing performances by everyone.
½ January 3, 2016
I can't with Matthew Broderick, but props to you if you remain dry-eyed through this one.
December 22, 2015
Wow, just wow, what a breaktaking, fantastic film. This might be my favorite historical drama, as well as my fave Washington (as actor), Freeman (as actor), and Zwick (as director) movie (although Blood Diamond gives it a run for its money as far as Zwick-directed films go).

Both Freeman and Washington give great performances here, the story and characters are fascinating, and even though Broderick isn't a great actor, he manages to do a decent job as the protagonist.

If you love US history, or are a fan of Washington and/or Freeman, you owe it to yourself to watch this masterpiece.
December 22, 2015
Glory is the best type of war film - one that isn't as much preoccupied with the battle with the enemy as it is with the battle with oneself. Boasting solid performances from the entire cast, and a great one from a young Denzel Washington, Glory triumphs in its ability to capture its place and time and its attempt to step back from the myopia that has all too often defined discussions of race in tihis country to tell the tale of white men and black men who are equals in both their desire to fight for something more and their perhaps tragic destiny. Merely men, they achieve as humans as much as they do as soldiers, and you can't help feeling happy when they do. With a script that moves easily from moments of euphoria to those of terror, from those that produce smiles, to those that produce tears, Glory provides one of modern cinema's finest, and most understated, studies of men under arms. The general populace and civil war buffs should be pleased. But perhaps this film's greatest triumph is its ability to keep men at arm's length who deserve our admiration and our sympathy, black and white alike.
December 22, 2015
A memorable war film sporting an excellence performance from Denzel Washington.
½ December 13, 2015
Although the musical score is pretty awful and Matthew Broderick isn't my first choice for this role, Glory still has very powerful moments. It lags in the middle, but the action scenes at the beginning and the end are enthralling and Denzel Washington is deserving of an Oscar with his angry, rebellious role as a former slave. Morgan Freeman is game as usual. Definitely worth watching even if the music and Broderick subtract from it.
Page 1 of 182