Intimacy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Intimacy Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Super Reviewer
July 9, 2017
Dark, but good.
I had read the book which shares the name, but it seems they have mixed a few stories together as I am sure that one was just about a rat husband abandoning his wife and kids. He wasn't all that likeable in the book, though it was well written. Again, he's not overly likeable, but the movie gives him a little more depth and interest. Not that his actions are explained here either.
Clare was more relatable and sympathetic. Still not exactly a nice person, but you could see she was going through something. As is the male lead, I guess. As with the book, I felt the underlying theme is awareness of mortality and fear of missing out. It's not overt, but that's what I got the sense of with these two characters. Both made poor choices with spouses (not that there seems to be anything badly wrong with either, but they were just not a good fit for this pair). Both felt depressed and trapped. Both made yet another poor choice searching for something elusive in their lives. Honestly I think being middle aged helps you to "get" these characters. I'm sure in my 20's I'd have watched this and thought the pair of them were horrible. I still can't condone their behavior, but I find I can see where it stems from and as such this was a decent watch for me. I wouldn't recommend it for all.
January 29, 2017
it seems to rely too much on nudity before it establishes its footing elsewhere
August 5, 2016
Chereau's direction allows us to not only see bodies colliding, but the psychology that takes place in the bedroom, and how the chracter's actions affect their lives beyond closed doors. Fox and Rylance give it their all -- they are completely, and equally naked, both physically and emotionally. This, like many other films that flirt with the pornographic, ends up being a flat, tedious chore to sit through.
January 15, 2015
Sounds fascinating. One of those movies I must watch when my babies are sleeping. lol.
August 6, 2014
A film that promises much more than it delivers, and the "real" sex seems to have no effect on the vacuous lives depicted just rather vacuously.A film where somebody playing a Clash CD is a sign of some kind of authenticity.
April 17, 2014
Poorly handled and at times feels a 3 hour film, with not enough of a story to begin with.
½ December 28, 2013
So-so. Starts well enough. Had a fair amount of intrigue, but just when you think the movie is going to kick up a notch, it goes in a dull, pointless direction. From then on it drifts and ultimately goes nowhere.

Good performance by Kerry Fox. Mark Rylance is irritating, however.
July 11, 2013
This movie is quite good and interesting, you need to watch it
June 15, 2013
paixão e desejo, o casamento e a solidão, ressoam com força inconfundível.
½ May 5, 2012
pretty mediocre considering how genious Mark Rylance typically is...I didn't feel the need to even finish it even...I'll stick to Mark Rylance doing Shakespeare.
Super Reviewer
March 14, 2012
A somewhat difficult film to watch, as relationships and motivations were not always apparent. The sex was desperate and almost brutal and belied the title, as intimacy seemed to be the one thing missing from the affair. The lead Actress, Kerry Fox, while not a classic beauty, still managed to command the screen. Mark Rylance brought a simmering rage to his character, as Jay, the obsessed lover. And Timothy Spall was quietly understated as the cuckolded husband who evoked pity more than empathy. It was good to see Marianne Faithful as the ditzy friend, Betty, who nevertheless causes Claire to face her dilemma with honesty.
flixsterman
Super Reviewer
½ March 11, 2012
Lust leads to intimacy. Intimacy leads to love. Love leads to turmoil. The sex scenes may be explicit and controversial but there is a lot more to this film than Mark Rylance's boudoir and Kerry Fox's booty.
½ January 27, 2012
Extreme use of raw sexuality, but movie isn't that gud.
September 19, 2011
I think that I can safely pass on this one.
August 13, 2011
Diverting, intense and provocative psycho-sexual drama fueled by its explicit love scenes, true-to-life portrayals and exceptional performances.
½ July 7, 2011
This film is really really really really crappy. The sex scenes do NOTHING for the film. The concept is pretty good, and real, frankly, which I have no problem with, but so many of the characters were long winded and on a soap box. It was so stupid. I lost interest. Some of the characters made no sense to be a part of the film, either.
Critique Threatt
Super Reviewer
June 4, 2011
"Intimacy" is a pretty depressing picture. A guy named Jay is having an affair (well more like a Last Tango In Paris affair) with this mature woman named Claire. The meet, have small talk, and then have quick sex. How these two meet in the first place? and wouldn't Claire have anything to say Jay since they keep meeting every Wednesday afternoon? Later on Jay stalks and finds a bit about Claire's personal life (an amtaure theater actress) and meets even Claire's husband played by Timothy Spall.

I knew a bit about Jay's personal life in this film. Two kids and an ex-wife, works as a head bartender, befriends a gay man who gives honest suggestions about Jay's personal affair, another friend who keeps crashing by his place, and Jay's frustration dealing with loneliness. This film wouldn't be so bad if their was some sort of connection between the main character Jay and Claire but there isn't really and left me with the feeling of hollowness. The raw sex becomes reptitive and dull since it's clear there is no real intimacy between the two lonely souls. Sad.
April 23, 2011
something about brit actors that makes them seem to be more honest with their (acting) emotion...
½ April 6, 2011
Oldukça cà 1/4retkar...
February 18, 2011
So , do u know why french movies shud be watched .... this movie is the reason .... I dont care what the critics have to say , I have an alltogether different review for the film ..... Something that would make u have a relatonship status as "Single and wanna enjoy every night in bed with _____" !! :D :D .... Excellent !
Page 1 of 6